We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
Ranked #58 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Checked-in to this place at 1am after realizing the hard way that a vacation rental by owner was in a completely unacceptable state. Asked about a last minute rate since we were checking in so late and they gave us one cheaper than a quick online search showed. Were able to get a quiet room on the top floor of a building. We only once heard noise from the other rooms and it was barely noticeable. Our room was clean and looked newly renovated. Bed was comfy. This place saved our trip! This place is also close the to the light rail and centrally located to see PDX's many neighborhoods.

Breakfast was average but in a foodie town this is just an excuse to go out to eat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripdxlc, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. I am pleased that we were able to help you out on your trip.
I will be sure to pass on your comments to the rest of our staff, and we look forward to serving you again.

Max K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    132
    57
    27
    8
See reviews for
122
74
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We really like this spot for our family visits to Portland. It is great because it has free parking, close to light rail (fun to ride to the Zoo with the kiddos), and best of all the rooms are extremely spacious. It is a renovated condo/apartment complex. So it is perfect for longer stays as there are rooms, grills in courtyards, etc. It is Marriott and high quality, friendly and helpful staff.

There is an excellent breakfast buffet (relative to most). There is a swimming pool and an exercise area (did not use). The location is a bit far from most of the attractions (near the Rose Garden and Lloyd Center), but you have to hop on the Max to go downtown or elsewhere. There are not a lot of restaurants or other good food places in walking distance. If you looking for that stay closer to downtown...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downlow_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripdxlc, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy that you were pleased with our property and services. I will be sure to pass on your kind remarks to our staff, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Portland.

Max K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanAntonio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice people at desk. Very good free breakfast buffet. Room was large and comfortable. Remember the apartments that you lived in your third year in college? This is the place. An old apartment complex renovated to a residence inn. Retro, not in a good way...it is just Portland. But the room was comfortable and clean and the staff was nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1999Spurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripdxlc, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
I appreciate your comments regarding our property, and I am pleased you were happy with the staff. I’m sure you’ll be interested to know that we were not originally an apartment complex, but one of the original designs of Residence Inn. The founder of Residence Inn had a vision to build a hotel that looked and felt just like an apartment – a home away from home.
Thanks again, and we hope to serve you in the future.

Max K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We decided to use up some SWA credits and flew to PDX for a few days. We had heard parking was a nightmare so we were going to use public transportation. Great choice! This hotel was about a 5 minute walk from light rail. The mall at lloyd center is close by as well as plenty of restaurants. The hotel had grills set up outside too if you wanted to eat in. My only complaint was the cookware. Trying to make eggs in old frypans (NOT non-stick) was a disaster. Went to Safeway and got a cheap pan which solved problem. Would stay here again for sure. Cheaper than downtown but fairly close by train.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sae_80816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripdxlc, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for staying with us – I’m glad you enjoyed our location. Your right, our pans can stick. I wouldn’t mind going with a Teflon one, but the type we have are required. I’m glad you worked out a solution. Thanks again and we hope to serve you in the future.

Max K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked a 2-bedroom loft suite for my family of 3 adults and one teen over the past long weekend. We had been to Portland twice before, once staying on the downtown side of the city and the second near the Convention Center. We had stayed in Residence Inn in New Hampshire and found that both were held to the same high standards. In fact, even the art posters in the room were the same.

This is an excellent facility especially if one plans to cook. There was enough space for everyone to be comfortable (3 tv's...and all were in use) including two bathrooms. We used the fully-equipped kitchen for one supper and two lunches as breakfast was included at their guest house. Unlike many hotels, the breakfast room actually has adequate space for everyone. There was an overflow area in a loft that I never saw used as it wasn't needed. Breakfast was good and very filling. Lots of choices of hot or cold and they continually refilled when needed.

My only complaint would be that the automatic fan for heating/ventilation in the suite was very loud and strong. When sitting at the dining table, the air was strong enough to blow my papers off the table. We directed the vent upwards which helped, but my son found he was awakened several times at night when the fan went on. Heating and ventilation is not a problem...adequate warmth for the weather.

Having read previous reviews about this hotel, I knew to pick the top floor and prepared to walk the three floors as there is no elevator. The floors are very thin. I could hear my son's footsteps in the loft bedroom above me. All entrances are from outside which gives an extra bit of privacy, but also allowed the cold air to come in when opened. The loft bedroom above the first bedroom is unique as I hadn't seen in other hotels before. So saying, there is no door for this bedroom and the stairs is a long set straight up. My teenager didn't mind at all.

Location is ideal. It's across from the Lloyd Center for shopping, Safeway is on the other side of the mall. The MAX line is a block down and can get you anywhere. The newest information is that the bus/train transport is no longer free in the downtown/Lloyd Center core. This was changed as of Sept 1/12. Still an easy and efficient way to get around. This hotel is close to the convention center and I saw a few groups there who obviously were attending some conference.

There is ample parking and at no cost unlike downtown hotels. We used the car to get to several places that were outside of the downtown area. We were able to park near our suite.

Pool is seasonal being outside.

Keep checking the website in case the room rate changes. I found a price drop a week earlier and was able to call their toll-free reservatino line and get the lower rate.

For sure, we will stay in this hotel again the next time we go to Portland.

Room Tip: Take upper floor but be prepared to climb stairs. The two-bedroom loft suite is really unique and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdglek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripdxlc, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to see that you were pleased with our property and its location. I will be sure to pass on your kind remarks to our staff, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Portland.

Max K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Traveled to Portland for a conference at the DoubleTree, which unfortunately got sold out so I booked a room down the street at the Residence Inn. Large suites, totally renovated with modern kitchens and fireplaces. The location was a bit out of the way for public transit to downtown Portland. Breakfast (included) was ok. They also hosted a free BBQ one night, but we missed it as the food didn't look very appetizing. Overall I'd rate the hotel as average....you get a nice nights sleep, for a reasonable price. Basically what you'd expect.

Portland is awesome though...great food and nightlife!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripdxlc, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments – I am very pleased that you noticed our new look. I am sorry however that you did not like our complimentary food.
We appreciate your business, and hope to serve you again in the future.

Max K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in a 3rd floor suite accessed via stairs. The room had an upstairs loft bedroom with a window that opened. Unfortunately, the location is in close proximity to the freeway and so road noise is unavoidable if the window is open.

The suite was furnished with a kitchenette with a full size refrigerator and stove, and equipped for cooking meals. We spent three nights there, and made use of the kitchen for one dinner.
Everything we needed was available.

The location of this hotel is within walking distance of the RoseGarden stadium so it would be a good spot to stay if you were coming into Portland for an event. It's also walking distance to the river, river walking trails, the bridges crossing over into downtown, the Saturday Market and more. The grounds have large trees making it very pleasant, and
the room we stayed in was recently remodeled. There were washing machines convenient to our room so we took the opportunity to do our laundry. The pool is large, and there are gas BBQ available throughout the grounds as well as outdoor tables for meals.

All in all, a very suitable location for relaxation and convenience.

Room Tip: If you are mobility impaired be sure to ask for a ground floor room, as there are no elevators for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loradan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ripdxlc, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I’m sorry you found our rooms noisy. Your right, with open windows, the highway can sometimes be loud.
Overall however, I was pleased to see that you were happy with your stay, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Max K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Inn at the Convention Center
#71 of 140 in Portland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center

Property: Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
Address: 1710 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland Downtown Lloyd Center Residence Inn by Marriott is a warm and welcoming place to call home during your travels. Enjoy the comfort of this all-suite hotel and the pleasure of a great location for your active lifestyle. Only a few minutes from Max Light Rail and easy freeway access, this extended-stay hotel in Downtown Portland is the perfect spot for on-the-go travelers. Corporate travelers appreciate amenities focused on their individual needs. Our free wireless anywhere Internet access helps keep you connected to e-mail from colleagues. Corporations like PacifiCorp, Kaiser, Knowledge Universe and Providence Medical Center are minutes from the property. This Portland destination hotel is the ideal location for vacationers. Situated in the heart of the Lloyd Center District guests are just minutes from all the excitement. Hop aboard the MAX light rail and travel to and from the Portland International Airport or head west to over to the Oregon Zoo. Within walking distance to the Oregon Convention Center and dining on Broadway and minutes from the Rose Quarter Moda Center and Memorial Coliseum for live entertainment. Enjoy tax free shopping at the Lloyd Center Mall and Ice Rink or take in a movie at the Cinemas across the street. Settle in and stay in spacious suites, which include full kitchens and an ample working area. Take a dip in the seasonal outdoor pool or enjoy a great work out in the 24-hour Fitness Center. Jump start your day with our complimentary breakfast buffet and return in the evening to our Social Hour (M-W) featuring a light meal, beer and wine. Self Parking is available for $10 per night for overnight guests. If you're traveling on business or pleasure our friendly and proficient Marriott staff takes pride in making you feel at home. Make your reservation today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Hotel Portland
Portland Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing