We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OKAY property but high price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Ranked #39 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
2 reviews
“OKAY property but high price”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This a pretty standard property but the price was surprisingly high. Convenient location and park and fly are the reasons to try it. Staff is very cordial. Breakfast could offer more protein. Have to go next door to eat. Shuttle has become much less convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank OregonRingold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    250
    105
    40
    19
See reviews for
183
208
80
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
south bend, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We recently spent 4 days in Portland OR at the airport hampton. The hotel is well taken care of, and the staff was exceptional. In spite of the jets taking off just outside our room, it was relatively quiet, particularly between 9 PM and 6 AM. It was also very easy to get from the hotel to downtown and also to the Williamette Valley and to the Columbia River gorge. I would recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel is convenient to the airport. Early morning departure (6:30) was made due to the fast van service, departure was 4:15 AM. Early breakfast bags were ready to go. Staff was very nice and supportive to requests. The bedding is always a plus. I would be gald to reccommend this hotel to anyone. J Williams

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Hamptons are never fancy so if that's what you're looking for, you probably wouldn't be booking a Hampton. That said, this is a pretty nice one. The rooms were a nice size with a couch and coffee table and desk, which is nice -- esp for a longer stay than ours (only one night). The bed was super comfortable, and apparently the duvet as well as the sheets are fully cleaned before your stay -- this was pointed out on a post-it attached to the headboard, which we found particularly funny. (This was before we noticed the same information posted elsewhere in the hotel; at 11pm at night in the privacy of our own room we weren't sure if the maid had left us a note specially). ;-)

It was pretty quiet for an airport hotel - or maybe we just got lucky with the flight patterns? We only noticed the occasional airplane noise as they passed overhead (and I think a minor vibration sensation), most of which was drowned out by the AC.

The bathroom was a basic hotel bathroom - linoleum and Formica - but the water pressure was good and it was clean, and there were plenty of towels and cups. We were happy with that!

We basically used the hotel to sleep before our early morning flight, so I can't comment on the pool or the fitness room - or, unfortunately, the breakfast (which is included). It looked like a pretty decent continental offering though, which I noted as we walked by.

I liked that they had a departures board in the lobby -- that was good.

My only complaint was that we used points to pay for our stay but received a bill the following morning. We assumed it was ours, as it was slipped under the door and were thinking "oh no, now we have to deal with this at 5am) but as it turns out (after talking to the front desk) it was someone else's bill. Whoops. The front desk guy was very apologetic but it was still a weird mistake to make.

I agree with one of the other reviewers - you would need a car to get to any dinner options. Luckily, we had one. It was a 20 minute drive to Downtown - easy and quick - and about 5 minutes to the rental car return.

Bottom line: great Hampton, convenient airport hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelawareGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Wonderful staff interactions...from check in, to breakfast, to the shuttle driver. Very clean and nice rooms. Held luggage as we checked out in the morning and went downtown to explore the city. So easy to get downtown (~40 minute MAX ride), and to get to the airport (~2 minute shuttle ride). Even was directed to a bike/running path near the river that I was able to get a 10 mile run in on! What else can you ask for at an airport hotel?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewThomasG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent one night at the PDX Hampton Inn in June 2013 because we had an early flight out the next morning. PDX is not located near downtown Portland so if you are looking for restaurants and Portland character, you’d be best off staying closer to the action. The check-in was quick and the staff was very friendly. Our room was very comfortable and quite large, but it did not have a refrigerator or microwave (unlike many other HI properties). We ordered a take-out dinner from the Sheraton next door (very good) and purchased some soda and wine from the front desk as we had been told incorrectly by one staff-person that the nearest place to eat was 10 miles away. This guidance was incorrect; we discovered the next day that there are various fast food or casual restaurants located within a few minutes drive. This Hampton provides guests with health club and swimming pool privileges at the Sheraton (small indoor pool) as well as at HI (larger outdoor pool) and my husband enjoyed using the Sheraton workout room. Our room was located on the 4th floor facing the parking lot (not the runway) and the noise from the aircraft was rather loud, which is probably why I found complimentary earplugs in the bathroom (nice touch). The breakfast was very good. Plenty of options and hot food. Overall, our experience was fine, but I’d probably try another Hilton property if we stayed near PDX again.

Room Tip: I am not sure there is a noise-free room due to the closeness of the airport runways (there is more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eagan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

awesome breakfast, pool is in the sun most of the day, airport noise is a minimum considering you are next to the runway. Fitness center is actually located in the hotel next door though, but just a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Crystal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Address: 8633 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1381
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#40 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demonstrating so many of the elements which are uniquely Portland, The Hampton Inn Portland Airport is a sure thing when visiting the city, whether for business or pleasure. Moments away from the PDX Terminal, we are a short drive to downtown and within minutes of most major businesses serving the Portland area. Of course we offer everything you have come to expect of Hampton. A fresh, hot breakfast served daily, a freshly laundered Serta Dream Structure bed and our Hampton Guarantee! For the families on the road we extend a warm welcome with Hampton coloring pages during breakfast and fresh baked cookies nightly in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing