We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Ranked #41 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

nice hotel. Clean rooms, plenty of towels, staff was very helpful, excellent location for travel - close to shopping and restaurants. We would stay again. Wish the pool and hot tub would have been indoors. plenty of parking

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 818 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is the perfect place to stage yourself the night before you depart PDX. Reasonable rates, solid shuttle service. Note to light sleepers - Airport is next door and sound proofing is provided by the ear plugs offered as in room amenities.

This appears to be an older (repurposed) property owned by a firm that also owns a Sheraton (next door) and an ALoft about 5 min away. The shuttle serves all three so factor in about 10 min total to get from door to door. Shuttle runs fairly frequently. Budget 30 minutes to be safe.

Breakfast starts early at 5:00 AM (bonus). Staff is quite helpful and pleasant. Biggest fault is that the exercize room is a rainy jog to the Sheraton next door. However, once there, the facility is pretty nice.

Food options are limited unless you have a car: Sheraton next door, ALoft on the shuttle run. However, the ALoft is a walkable distance from a Big Box Store shopping area near the airport. That area has casual dining such as Red Robin.

Room Tip: Avoid north side of building if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

When we fly out early we stay here the night before. The hotel is clean and convenient and has friendly staff. you can park while traveling. There is an airport shuttle. It is what a traveler needs. We recommend it.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jamesccasterline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

the hotel is literally 2 minutes from the airport. the rooms were excellent and very comfortable. there is a full breakfast with hot food which is included in the room price. the staff were very friendly and helpful. free shuttle to the airport terminal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emchavez678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hotel was typical Hampton inn, clean and well maintained. The staff at this one was particularly pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately, this is one of the Hamptons without in room fridge and microwave. Probably a great hotel if you live away from the airport and have an early AM flight. I would not recommend it for extended stays as there are very few dinning options nearby. It is literally a 3 minute drive to the airport terminal.

Room Tip: This is a totally non-smoking hotel. smokers ask for ground floor near exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSIS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel needs to be updated. The decor is tired and the rooms are in need of repair and refurbishing. The staff is fine and is really the best point about this property. The location and shuttle to the airport are convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonPDX, General Manager at Hampton Inn Portland-Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry for your experience, we are working on improving our guest rooms. Please let us know if you have additional comments or suggestions you would like to share as we value guest input on any part of their stay. We appreciate your review, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We've been staying at this Hampton Inn for years, taking advantage of their Park & Fly program and getting a good nights sleep and quick breakfast before our morning flights. I'm giving them an excellent because the staff is exceptionally friendly and efficient, and the breakfast bar is very good. The Inn is well maintained.... the room that we had during our last visit had been completely remodeled and was spotless.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerFan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
2 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland-Airport

Address: 8633 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1381
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#40 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $123 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demonstrating so many of the elements which are uniquely Portland, The Hampton Inn Portland Airport is a sure thing when visiting the city, whether for business or pleasure. Moments away from the PDX Terminal, we are a short drive to downtown and within minutes of most major businesses serving the Portland area. Of course we offer everything you have come to expect of Hampton. A fresh, hot breakfast served daily, a freshly laundered Serta Dream Structure bed and our Hampton Guarantee! For the families on the road we extend a warm welcome with Hampton coloring pages during breakfast and fresh baked cookies nightly in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing