We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stones throw from PDX...but you wouldn't know it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Ranked #38 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Australia
Level Contributor
712 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 646 helpful votes
“A stones throw from PDX...but you wouldn't know it!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Originally we had two nights booked here but due to an airline delay we unfortunately lost a night, (staying here is a good base to explore the attractions). We rang ahead once we knew and reception understood. The first night wasn't charged as we made the deadline for a cancellation and the next day she remembered us when we finally checked in. It was nice to be treated so well after all the problems we had been through.

The room was on the small side but it was a comfortable one with clean (and we mean clean) furnishings and a notice indicating that all linens and throws are laundered after each guest. If we were staying much longer we would take steps to conserve water and energy, however this is s reassuring to know that they take cleanliness seriously.

Our room had a super comfy king bed, large flat screen TV, a sofa, a small luggage or sitting bench, work desk with free wi fi, an air conditioner that we didn’t use but we suspect could be tad noisy if cutting in/out all the time. We did hear a rumble or two overnight from aircraft but not significant enough to disturb our sleep. The bathroom reflected the main room being ultra clean, had amenities to get you through a stay, beverage making and plenty of hot water.

Near reception there was fresh fruit and good coffee available all day. Alas with an early flight we didn’t get to try the free breakfast and we took a Grab n Go bag with a few items that got us through the hunger pangs.The shuttle service was timely and made it easy to get to PDX in a few minutes.(It was very full for the early morning flights). We returned our rental car the night before and walked back to the hotel in about 10 mins at a brisk pace. Straight down the same road depending on your rental company (ours was Advantage).

We will be back next time a stay is needed at PDX.This hotel understands that travelling from/to an airport is a demanding experience. So with guests coming and going at such a fast pace they have nailed down a few things that makes life much easier and more pleasant.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on a high floor seem to be very quiet even though it is close to PDX.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    240
    102
    37
    18
See reviews for
178
200
76
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel was fantastic for an airport location. This hotel is literally right across the street from the airport; in fact you can return your rental car early, that's how close. Sometimes airport hotels can be iffy, this was not the case.

Great service, clean rooms, you can walk to the bar/restaurant in the Sheraton next door for a bite to eat. OVerall great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kuuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Friendly helpful staff and very nice, clean room!,

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Culacoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is as promised. Staff is friendly and efficient. I would recommend that the hotel be a priority for anyone traveling from PDX. The airport parking is next to the hotel and the shuttle runs on short notice. Our family of 3 was with 2 other passengers departing the hotel at 0445 with no issue.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memgb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara falls
Level Contributor
188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I personally find the Hampton Inn chain to be confusing as the quality, cleanliness, and friendliness of the hotel varies from location to location. This Hampton however is top-notch, one of the best I've been to in the last few years.

Located about 1 mile from the airport terminal, it is very convenient for early morning flights out of PDX. It is close enough though that airport noise can still be heard with the room fan on.

The hotel is not really in walking distance to restaurants, but they are a 2-5 minute drive away.

The rooms are spacious and clean, and the high-speed internet was quick and reliable to complete any remote tasks back home.

Even with an early departure (3:30am) the breakfast bar had some basics ready (muffins, bagels, toast, coffee, juice, cereal) to get some energy for an early morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NFTravller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My family stayed here for one night on the way out of Portland since it's directly next to the airport and we had an early flight. The room was comfortable, but it turns out a little too close to the airport to drown out all of the airplanes taking off and landing. The staff very friendly, and breakfast was very good in the morning. They even had cookies and milk out in the evening as a snack, which was refreshing after a long day. There's a lot of shopping about a mile away from the hotel, so if you need anything on the way in, you can find it easily.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c0den1nja42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
548 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a good place to stay when flying out of Portland airport. It is located close to the airport and is a nice hotel. I could find new real negatives about this place. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The beds were great. The staff was good.They had a nice breakfast bag ready for us even though we were leaving at 5:30 am.

Ask about Salty's on the river for great seafood.

I should mention that it can be a little confusing finding this hotel. Then again, we aren't from Portland and our delay was quite minor.

Room Tip: For a quieter room ask for one that's not right next to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photoguywisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Address: 8633 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1381
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#40 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demonstrating so many of the elements which are uniquely Portland, The Hampton Inn Portland Airport is a sure thing when visiting the city, whether for business or pleasure. Moments away from the PDX Terminal, we are a short drive to downtown and within minutes of most major businesses serving the Portland area. Of course we offer everything you have come to expect of Hampton. A fresh, hot breakfast served daily, a freshly laundered Cloud 9 bed and our 100% Guarantee. For the families on the road we extend a warm welcome with coloring books during breakfast, movies and video games in the room and fresh baked cookies nightly in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing