We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fresh breakfast for a "continental" breakfast, and staff was super-helpful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Ranked #35 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Dayton OH
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great fresh breakfast for a "continental" breakfast, and staff was super-helpful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel was as warm and friendly as any super-high end chain out there. They answered all my questions, had shuttles running often, and for one of those hotel breakfasts, had GREAT fresh fruit, yogurts, waffles and more. they key to the breakfast was that it was all FRESH. We could hear some planes, but that also depends on what side of the motel you stay on also! One nite we were on the "runway" side, and the other we were not and the noise was much less.

Room Tip: go for the side "away" from the runway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakotakidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    239
    102
    36
    17
See reviews for
177
198
75
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Don't get me wrong. I love Hampton and they are usually my first choice, but we stayed at the Hyatt Place down the street 4 nights earlier, and for the same money, the Hyatt put this Hampton to shame in every category, especially breakfast, room size, and noise. Hampton was near runway, so plenty of plane noise (the loud rattling air conditioner drowned it out though). The Hampton room was small and cramped for our family of 4. The Hampton's efforts in the breakfast area were sub-par at best. Oh yeah, the Hampton pool was outside, versus the Hyatt's indoor one. Compared to other Hampton's, this was just below average, but compared to the Hyatt Place, no contest.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okieken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Took multiple calls and a wait of nearly an hour for airport pickup. Less than a mile from airport!!! There are numerous choices near PDX, would suggest another hotel and would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerrymen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

The staff here is very accomodating, the rooms are great, and the breakfast is great. Easy to get a van to the airport. We had turned in our rental car and were looking for a place to walk to to eat dinner. The hotel gave us a 10% discount card to eat at the Motel next door. That was also very good. Can't say as there was anything we didn't like except you have to be very fast in getting your room door open with the key card!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Level Contributor
287 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed upon arrival in Portland at the start of our vacation and again the night before our departure and we were very impressed. Cookies at check-in, beautiful lobby and lovely room. We enjoyed watching planes take off and land on the runway behind the hotel. No problems with sound. Efficient airport shuttle. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwensGramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We chose this hotel for our first night in Portland since we had a long flight to PDX and wanted to be close to the airport to unwind. Good choice. The front desk staff was efficient and friendly. The restaurant recommendation for Salty's was perfect. And even though we could watch the planes taking off and landing, the noise was muffled and was almost non-existant after 10:30 pm until the morning. I would definitely stay here again and request an airport view. Great way to keep little kids occupied. We didn't need a fitness room, but I agree with other reviews that it would be nice to have one on site rather than go next door. We didn't try the shuttle service since we had a rental car. The WIFI worked fine and the beds were comfortable - consistant with better Hamptons.

Room Tip: We liked the airport runway view on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a huge room with two beds for the three of us. Bathroom was very large with lots of counter space and a quiet fan (which is great). Friendly staff, free and easy parking, free internet and free hot breakfast. The airport location was reflected in the low price which was half the price of staying downtown. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Not fancy but very comfortable. Even double glass windows to help with the airport noise which did not bother us at all as we had the a/c for white noise.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spokane_WATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Address: 8633 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220-1381
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#40 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Demonstrating so many of the elements which are uniquely Portland, The Hampton Inn Portland Airport is a sure thing when visiting the city, whether for business or pleasure. Moments away from the PDX Terminal, we are a short drive to downtown and within minutes of most major businesses serving the Portland area. Of course we offer everything you have come to expect of Hampton. A fresh, hot breakfast served daily, a freshly laundered Cloud 9 bed and our 100% Guarantee. For the families on the road we extend a warm welcome with coloring books during breakfast, movies and video games in the room and fresh baked cookies nightly in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing