We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great neighborhood, great price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Portland International Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 35 Portland B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood, great price”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very clean, comfortable room in a guesthouse with a shared bathroom. Great restaurants and shopping very close by and many more within walking distance. We used public transportation and were easily able to access the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlb113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
58
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I loved my visit to the Portland International Guesthouse. I stayed on the top floor and shared a bathroom with 1 other guestroom. My room was huge with comfy beds. I left the windows open during my entire stay (day and night). The location is great with several restaurants and shops within close walking distance. I even walked to the International Rose Garden. The walk was uphill but definitely doable. My only complaint was parking .... I got lucky the first night and parked right outside the guesthouse but the rest of the time I couldn't get within 5 blocks. So be prepared to walk. There is a small driveway for unloading but you're only allowed to park there for 10 minutes. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boechout, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We (a family of 3 with a 5 year old) stayed over at the Guesthouse for a night in september, when ending our road trip coming from Utah.

If you've seen nothing but wilderness and western towns for two weeks, Portland brings you back to the hectic reality. The PI Guesthouse however is a haven of tranquility.

Our host was just great: arriving a bit early was no issue at all. The whole PDX concept breathes an atmosphere of trust and calm.

The room (nr 6)was spotlessly clean with plenty of space.

Parking in the neighbourhood proved not to be that big an issue.

Of course, a 'quiet neighbourhood' is very relative in Portland (expecially after having heard only trees and birds for two weeks), so we did need ear plugs.

Great place for a very very soft price!

Room Tip: all rooms looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnA38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A wonderful guest house in a quiet location in the Nob Hill area of Portland. The rooms were very comfortable (bathrooms are not in the rooms, which is a small disadvantage, but there are 3 bathrooms and only 7 rooms; there is a supply of clean bathmats and facecloths in each bathroom). There is no daily room servicing. Breakfast is do-it-yourself, with juice and milk, cereals, bread, jam, and peanut butter provided. You can store your own food in the fridge. There is a very comfortable sitting room and a balcony for general use.
The owner and attendants were extremely helpful, providing maps and bus timetables and information about the excellent local eateries (the Blue Moon serves fantastic beer!). There is free WiFi in the rooms, and they allowed us to print our boarding passes in their office.
On any trip to Portland, I would choose to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jldawson45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I recently stayed at Portland International Guesthouse while visiting my son. It was truly a home away from home! Home was very cozy and inviting. It is in the charming Alphabet District full of great shops and restaurants in walking distance. Tim, the house host, was so welcoming and Stephen was very helpful when making my reservation. I can't wait to return! It was such a great experience for my first trip to Portland. Thank you! Colleen and Patrick

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights a couple of weeks ago and absolutely loved it! The place was so nice, clean, bright and had everything you needed. The location of the guesthouse is superb and there's next to no street noise of an evening so we slept like logs each night. The parking outside was a bit of a pain but as long as you were on the ball you can get a spot easy enough. I'd certainly stay here again. Top marks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Portland International Guesthouse for two nights and was delighted with our experience. The entire hostel was very clean and well kept and it was very quiet allowing us to get restful sleep. The only thing that I was not prepared for was how difficult it would be to find parking for our rental car. Overall, I'd recommend the guesthouse and stay again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Inn at Northrup Station
#9 of 142 in Portland
1,067 reviews
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#50 of 142 in Portland
724 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,809 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portland International Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland International Guesthouse

Property: Portland International Guesthouse
Address: 2185 NW Flanders St, Portland, OR 97210-3405
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Northwest District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing