We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild Spring is MAGICAL and rejuvenating to the Body, Mind & Spirit.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
WildSpring Guest Habitat
Ranked #1 of 4 Port Orford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This was our 5th visit to and stay at Wild Spring. It is the second time that we were joined by friends who made the fervent request that we specifically stay at Wild Spring since they so loved their first visit and stay there.

My husband and I love everything about Wild Spring: The cabins are beautifully appointed, cozy and very comfortable. The property at Wild Spring is absolutely gorgeous and well taken care of with great care and respect paid to the natural coastal wooded habitat that is home to many varieties of native trees, plants and animals.

The breakfasts which are prepared for Wild Spring guests are delicious, offering fresh fruit salad every morning, home made muffins, and a special dish is prepared daily such as "Egg Puff" and home made cinnamon short bread. You also have your choice of a variety of cereals both hot & cold, dried fruits, granola, yogurt, a variety of breads and juices, coffee, teas and hot chocolate. A menu which includes all of this is provided to the guests in their cabins each afternoon or evening, so that they can make their daily selections. The food is delicious and healthy. Breakfast foods are prepared and set out in the Guest Hall which is a beautiful, large, open room with a spectacular view of the ocean and the surrounding woods and garden. One is free to serve one's self and there is more than enough food for second and third helpings. If a person has special dietary needs, Michelle and Dean, the owners of Wild Spring will be more than happy to accommodate.

An additional word about Michelle & Dean the owners; they are both really lovely people. They are friendly but not intrusive. They respect their guests privacy, but will be most responsive and helpful to any questions, requests or help that you might ask, make or need.

Wild Spring offers a beautiful, peaceful and private retreat to those who wish to get away from the fast pace and over stimulation of today's world. Wild Spring is a retreat that we plan to return to whenever our lives and schedules permit.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandstoneone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 233 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2010

What a perfectly relaxing weekend at Wildspring.

Our cabin was amazing. Really, luxury in the forest! Immaculately clean, well lit, well appointed. Full of furniture and antiques that were romantic, beautiful, and cozy. High quality linens and plenty of pillows. I'm used to a king size bed, but the queen size bed in the cabin might have been more comfortable than my bed at home. The bathroom was spacious and so clean with wonderful toiletries. I felt like I was at the spa when I took a shower in the slate shower in our cabin. Amazing! Each cabin is situated on the property to afford utmost privacy. Looking out all of the windows in the cabin are views of trees and the forest property.

The grounds at the resort are so peaceful. Well groomed paths, the labyrinth, interesting art all make a walk around a meditative experience.

We really enjoyed breakfast that was prepared with care by Michelle and delivered by Dean. We have stayed at a number of resorts and b&bs that serve food. The quality and variety offered was outstanding at Wildspring compared to these other places. Michelle even accommodated my dietary restrictions. Looking out at the Pacific from the guest house eating a marvelous breakfast was fantastic!

The hot tub was perfectly heated both nights and Dean made sure it was all set up for us.

Michelle and Dean were unobtrusive during our visit, yet readily available if we needed them. The perfect hosts.

In addition, we ate at Redfish for dinner. It was delicious!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMaib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

The coast is beautiful but the town of Port Orford is depressing and run down. It was so windy we could barely leave our cabin. The owners were unfriendly and distant. The food was good though and the view from the main cabin lovely. I thought the hype about the peace and tranquility was way over done. The experience was New Age gone bad.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rwandgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2010

Hi, you are obviously very unhappy, and we are sorry for that. But with all due respect, we want to address a few of your comments: Understanding we are an unusual destination - part resort, part vacation rental, part retreat-style environment - we always to try to ensure our guests understand what a stay will feel like through our extensive website and by conversation. For many issues, however, we prefer our guests speak for us, particularly regarding the quality of the facilities, the peace and quiet of the property, and how helpful and friendly we are. Our reviews here - and elsewhere - are consistent on these issues.

I am normally in the office to handle guest requests by intercom (which we answer 24/7), phone, computer and visits. Dean is typically walking around to oversee our staff, bring wine to guests, assist with luggage, offer advice and help whenever requested. He is the kindest person I ever met and no one has ever considered him less than warm and helpful

Your wind comment stymies us: Our cabins are in a protected "bowl" in the middle of a forest of 100-ft trees and no wind EVER penetrates there...not even the fierce southerly winter storms here.

And your less than excellent rating on cleanliness is quite troublesome. One housekeeper cleans and another preps the cabin for a new guest to ensure nothing is missed. We strive for "white glove" clean and our other reviews attest to that.

As far as Port Orford, it's a small, quirky, artistic town of 1,200 people set in a spectacular undeveloped natural environment, where the forest and the mountains meet the crashing seas. The New York Times and Sunset Magazine have recently featured our little town, recommending it. You can see their articles on their sites as well as ours.

Finally, we don't pretend to be a New Age experience... just a pretty, peaceful place with luxurious accommodations in a naturally beautiful environment. No hype. No kidding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We recently had a lovely one-night stay with WildSpring - would have loved to have stayed longer! We stayed in Cabin #2 - very cozy, amazing bathroom, great TV/DVD player and lots of little extras like candles, chocolates, and soothing music to play on the in-room stereo.

Our first stop was the incredible hot tub overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Although it was a cool and cloudy day, the view was still spectacular and we enjoyed wine as we watched ships pass by.

Dean (innkeeper) met us in the common room and made sure the hot tub was ready to go - he also made a recommendation for dinner at RedFish, which is just across the highway. Honestly, I expected to find no real food in Port Orford, but WOW - go to RedFish!!! Excellent food, great service, was totally shocked to find something like this in a small town.

After dinner we read for a bit in the common room, but ultimately found our cabin to be more comfortable with better lighting.

Breakfast the next day was great, and we were able to choose what we wanted from a wide range of options (including vegan), rather than have breakfast dictated to us.

After breakfast we took a bunch of photos around the grounds which are quite serene and beautiful, definitely a great place to decompress especially if you can stay multiple nights.

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CassieMarie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Incredibly relaxing, the new RedFish restaurant in Port Orford is a plus. MAny miles of totally undeveloped beachfront beaches to walk and enjoy the environment. Fall is the best time of the year to visit the South coast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johntoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

My wife and I recenly stayed here for a wedding, and we had a fabulous time. The neat and clean cabins were tucked away in a small grove of trees, and the night-time peace and quiet were a welcome relief. We once asked for some additional wood for the fireplace and it was deliverd within minutes. The breakfasts were superb, as you are provided with an extensive menu choice the night before; nonetheless, Dean still adds in a special dish that fills you up for the morning hike. The spa is simple delicious, and the ocen view is spectacular.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flycaster52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed at this resort for 1 night in August. Although the location and rooms are very nice, we were very disappointed by the lack of service and interest we got from the owners. For the money you pay for the stay, you expect more...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IngetjeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2010

Hi, we are so sorry you felt we were not attentive to your needs at WildSpring. We try to create as peaceful and relaxing an environment as possible, where people can feel completely removed from the real world. With only five units, we are very committed to our guests' wellbeing, and try very hard to make everyone feel taken care of.

We had this in mind when we planned all the details here, trying to ensure that we have what you need when you need it right at your fingertips. We are also available 24/7 by intercom and from our office to respond to everything from bringing wine to your cabin, advice on dinner, and arranging for incabin massages and guided hiking tours. But we also try to stay as unobtrusive as possible for our guests who prefer solitude.

Since we don't have many guests from The Netherlands, I remember talking with you the day before arrival when you called to book, explaining that since we don't have a formal lobby, we don't make our guests come all the way up to the office to check in. We put everything you need in a little checkin gazebo at the entrance with mailboxes that corresponds to the cabin. But I also suggested you call us on the intercom that's there to let us know you had arrived so we could come down, show you to your cabin and handle your luggage.

It was nice to meet you when you came up to the office instead. I enjoyed chatting with you, asked how you discovered us, and remember you said you didn't need help with the luggage and could find the cabin yourself. We always tell our guests to let us know if you need anything, and we would have been happy to respond to any request... but we never heard from you again.

At least we hope you enjoyed some of the special amenities we offer while you were here: The handmade dark chocolate truffles we leave as a surprise in your cabin, along with the fresh flowers. Or that you took advantage of all the free refreshments in the Guest Hall, including fruit, popcorn, juices and chocolate, as well as our library of over 500 DVDs for free incabin movies, plus games, books or music for your cabin's CD/iPod stereo. We also hope you enjoyed our breakfast buffet overlooking the ocean, with fresh baked muffins, freshly made fruit salad, and hot items such as egg puff with caramelized onions, peppers and chicken/apple sausage or French Toast Custard with warm berry sauce. Dean is very sorry, but he just can't remember if you actually came up in the morning or simply took off early. He always asks guests if there is anything more they need.

We hope you found places more in keeping with your expectations. Perhaps a more traditional resort is to your taste. WildSpring is an unusual place - quiet and serene - and some travelers are simply more comfortable with far more staff and people around them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Orford
23.6 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
942 reviews
24.6 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
23.7 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Windermere on the Beach
23.9 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Gold Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WildSpring Guest Habitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WildSpring Guest Habitat

Address: 92978 Cemetery Loop Rd, Port Orford, OR 97465-9562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Orford
Price Range: $198 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WildSpring Guest Habitat is a small eco-friendly resort overlooking Oregon's spectacular south coast, offering luxurious accommodations in a peaceful, naturally beautiful environment: Five lovely cabin suites filled with art and antiques on five acres in a private residential forest of 100-ft trees. Guest Hall and lounging deck to relax and hang out, sculpture garden and open-air slate spa - all overlooking the ocean. Spa robes, massages, WiFi, walking labyrinth. Free breakfast buffet and over 600 DVDs for free incabin movies. EV Charging station free for guests. An Oregon Bed & Breakfast Guild member and Oregon Coast Birding Trail site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildspring Guest Habitat Hotel Port Orford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing