We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
WildSpring Guest Habitat
Ranked #1 of 4 Port Orford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at WildSpring Guest Habitat on our way up to Portland on the last weekend of March and again on our way back down the following weekend. This is a must stay. The cabins are wonderfully furnished and the Guest Hall has a full kitchen and a great view of the Pacific. Dean and Michelle a outstanding hosts and the breakfast is nicely prepared. WildSpring's rather isolated setting make for a quiet and serene experience. The hot tub/spa in the rain was fun.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbzspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    12
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
156
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We visited Wildspring on a road trip from Portland Oregon to San Francisco California, staying for two nights in the Anwynn cabin. Dean & Michelle clearly put a lot of thought and personal touches into decorating each cabin, the grounds (delightful eclectic sculptures and whatnot) and the guest hall. Breakfast was outstanding, probably among the best meals we had during the whole trip, especially the freshly made muffins and hot item each day. Loved the homey feel overall. The Wi Fi didn't work in our cabin and even though the literature suggested we could get a wi-fi booster we decided it would be more fun to sit in the guest hall for access. Did not try the hot tub but saw that other guests were really enjoying it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canatravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on a tour of the Oregon coast. The upsides of Wildspring: very comfortably furnished cottages, in the depth of the woods giving a real retreat feel of getting away from it all; excellent and attractive common dining and relaxing hall with several individual tables including outside deck area and tables with lovely view of the sea; warm welcome from host who is unobtrusive unless needed; very good help yourself breakfast; eco friendly emphasis; very informative website which gives a true picture of the ambience of this place. The downsides: the cottages are very dark inside and the furnishing style Victorian so for someone who loves a light and airy feel (like me) they can seem gloomy, I felt that ours was crying out for a working fireplace to ensure a cosy and warm atmosphere, but I managed to improve it by switching all the lamps on all the time; there are no good restaurants nearby. In summary this is an excellent venue if you want a retreat style but luxurious stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelenthused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Thanks so much for all the lovely comments about WildSpring and our website. We try very hard to provide an exceptional stay for our guests, including making certain the website accurately reflects the unique guest experience here, including lots of photos of our facilities, and the insides and exteriors of all our cabins.

Each cabin has a very different feel to it, and guests can pick the one that best suits their taste.

Barenton, the one you stayed in for example, gets less ambient light than any of the cabins, has rich dark woods, a burgundy Persian rug and some gorgeous antiques. It feels like a cozy romantic retreat, though as you mentioned, it also has plenty of lighting inside.

Raintree and Rosslyn each get lots of natural light and both have a very light and airy feel, with light and mid-toned woods, in a Craftsman-meets-Shabby-Chic kind of decor...Rosslyn has our playful, quirky art, Raintree a casual style. The other two cabins are also very different: Annwyn, with a Vermont Castings woodburning stove, feels like a small stylish Craftsman home, and Earthsea feels like French Provencial elegant. This is also explained in our website and so people know which cabin matches their preference.

And we're sorry you didn't find restaurants around here you cared for, either. Like every town, we have a variety of places to pick from, which we also explain in our website - listing all of them and describing their food and atmosphere. At Paula's Bistro, for example, her husband Kristof is the Chef - he is a Master Chef who cooked at Maxim's in Paris. Their food isn't fussy, but really good, with fresh local ingredients and an exceptional wine list. For more casual fare, Crazy Norwegian's was recommended in Sunset Magazine as having arguably the best fish and chips on the coast. Our guests consistently rave about both. And half an hour from here are a lot more restaurants in Bandon and Gold Beach.

One thing we're very excited about is a new restaurant opening in a few months, RedFish, overlooking Port Orford Bay. Fine dining and a full bar, 7 days a week, and it should be exceptional. We know the owners and trust it will one of the few places where the food actually lives up to the ocean view.

The next time you come through here and if you decide to come back to WildSpring, it sounds like you'd prefer Raintree or Rosslyn...and please feel free to ask us about any of the dining options around here. We always try to help our guests find what best suits them.

Thanks for taking the time to comment on us, we always appreciate the input and use it to continually improve WildSpring and how we communicate it to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

We had an incredible two night stay at WildSpring. Everything exceeded our expectations. The hosts are wonderful and attentive, the breakfasts delicious, and the cabins delightful! The atmosphere is so romantic and the views of the ocean are simply spectacular. We loved the town and the lighthouse is not to be missed! Good restaurants are close by and the opportunity for hiking everywhere. Truly a one of a kind experience!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfmilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

My daughter and I spent one delightful night....beautiful property, incredibly quiet, surprise sculptures, excellent breakfast. I'll definitely go back whenever I can.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank repakafr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntington beach, california
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We so desperately needed some time to reflect, relax, and chill out.... The location, the energy, the professionalism made it all possible. Wildspring is truly a little piece of paradise created by owners Michelle and Dean. I especially enjoyed the meditation benches, the labyrinth, the jacuzzi with the best view on the coast, the serenity of it all and of course the breakfasts!!! I'm still dreaming about the French Toast Custard - YUMMMMMMM.... The cabin was gorgeous, the weather was perfect and I just know Michelle asked that family of deer (momma and two does) to hang outside our cabin BOTH mornings!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank synergyimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Perfect place to stop over on your way up and down the coast or as a weekend destination. Peaceful, quiet,, secluded. Great ocean views from the hot ub and breakfast room. Cottages are roomy, comfortable and private. The town itself does not have much to offer, but there are a number of good hiking trails, including Cape Blanco State Park.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryStanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Orford
23.6 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
24.5 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
23.7 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
668 reviews
22.0 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
122 reviews
23.9 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WildSpring Guest Habitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WildSpring Guest Habitat

Property: WildSpring Guest Habitat
Address: 92978 Cemetery Loop Rd, Port Orford, OR 97465-9562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WildSpring Guest Habitat is a small eco-friendly resort overlooking Oregon's spectacular south coast, offering luxurious accommodations in a peaceful, naturally beautiful environment: Five lovely cabin suites filled with art and antiques on five acres in a private residential forest of 100-ft trees. Guest Hall and lounging deck to relax and hang out, sculpture garden and open-air slate spa - all overlooking the ocean. Spa robes, massages, WiFi, walking labyrinth. Free breakfast buffet and over 600 DVDs for free incabin movies. EV Charging station free for guests. An Oregon Bed & Breakfast Guild member and Oregon Coast Birding Trail site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildspring Guest Habitat Hotel Port Orford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing