We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I still dream about this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WildSpring Guest Habitat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
WildSpring Guest Habitat
Ranked #1 of 4 Port Orford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
236 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“I still dream about this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I can close my eyes and imagine myself in the hot tub at WildSpring in the darkness looking at the Milky Way overhead and hearing the crashing waves in the ocean below. Perfection. The cabin was a dream as well. The walk from the cabin to the main house through the giant trees just takes all the stress out of your body. Wonderful lodging, lovely breakfast, and a location that will take those knots out of your shoulders for a while.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    12
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
152
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I were able to reserve a lovely little cottage on an hour's notice while taking a romantic road trip for our anniversary. Michelle described the cabins to my wife, who picked #2, while I was behind the wheel, cruising up the Oregon Coast. On arrival, we were greeted by Dean (we later realized he is the other owner) who helped us carry our luggage to our room. The place was great! the room was clean, well decorated, and comfortable. the little living room has a nice sitting area. There were sweet treats waiting for us, as well as a guide book for the area that included several local restaurant menus. The room is warmed by radiant floor heating, giving the space a cozy feeling without being blasted by any heaters. The bathroom was very nicely set up with a slate tile shower that was even tall enough for my 6'6" self to stand under. Dean gave us a tour of the grounds, including the Guest House and hot tub. The guest house, which also serves as the kitchen and dining area, is a bright room with a large wall of windows overlooking the hot tub and Pacific Ocean. The kitchen is well stocked with snacks and beverages for the guests to help themselves. Also; the video library allows folks to choose DVDs to watch on the TV in their cottage (there is no cable). On their recommendation, I went into town to get fish and chips from The Crazy Norwegian. We had a delicious meal in our cottage, followed by the most relaxed afternoon I can remember. I had to wake my wife up so that we could go soak in the hot tub. I'm not sure if I have ever been in a better spa. We had to wait until the hot tub was heated (they only run it at night during the winter season), so is was too dark to see the ocean. Even so; it was beautiful. The shape of the slope seems to protect the property from the heaviest wind, allowing us to watch and listen to the wind howling in the treetops while we soaked. After a fantastic sleep, we strolled through the property, admiring the magic forest feel of the place, to breakfast at the Guest House. Dean was just setting up the morning spread. I forget exactly what he called the dish, but he described it as a quiche with no crust. Whatever the name, I can say it was one of the best egg dishes I've ever eaten. Combined with all the other fresh fruit, homemade muffins, oatmeal, and drinks, I doubt there is a restaurant within 100 miles serving a better breakfast. Michelle is a fantastic cook.
We will keep this place on our permanent list of places to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshWE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you SO much for your really nice comments! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and loved the egg puff, it's our most popular breakfast dish. You can find all the recipes on our website - lots of variations on the puff to suit any taste or dietary preference. Click on the "Indulge" box and look for "Recipes" link in the grey bar.

Just a note that our open-air slate jetted hot tub is available from 3 - 9:30pm in the winter. Though, as an energy-conscious facility we only turn it on from 7:30 - 9:30 (when guest are most likely to use it) unless someone asks for it earlier in the afternoon. We're happy to do this, we just need some notice since it takes a couple of hours to bring it to temperature this time of year. This enables us to offer it year-round to our guests.

We hope to see you here again and we'll be sure to have the spa on earlier so you can enjoy sitting up to your ears in the hot, steamy water and watching for whales or spotting a fishing boat heading out.

Thanks again, Michelle & Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We scoured the internet in search of the best place to start our honeymoon trek across Oregon. We happened upon the WildSpring's website and when reading through everything it seemed like the perfect place.

When we arrived it far exceeded our expectations! Everything from the natural landscape, to the cabins, down to the awesome showers has been thoroughly thought out. We stayed in the cabin with the fireplace, I believe it's the Annwynn, and were very pleased with the ambiance that it provided. The cabin was, as expected, on the darker side but never once did we feel that was a negative. Again, it added to the experience.

Sitting out in the hot tub at night was amazing. Being from Southern California you never can see that many stars. It was so serene just sitting there listening to the ocean.

We sat out on the deck every morning with a delicious cup of coffee, read a book and occasionally looked at the beautiful ocean framed by the lush and gorgeous landscape. The breakfast was superb and everything that Dean & Michelle made came out delicious.

Throughout the 3 nights we stayed there one other cabin was being occupied but different travelers that came. Never the same group but the only way we knew anyone else was there was by seeing their vehicles parked there. You really feel that you are in your own serene sanctuary. It was the most amazing place we have ever been and we can't wait to return.

Thank you Dean and Michelle for taking a leap of faith to create this space. It's nice to see that instead of tearing down what was already there, you were able to work around it and play off the natural beauty that is in the moss covered rocks and 100 foot tall trees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Five well-appointed cabins on a property overlooking the Pacific Ocean; cabins are very nice and comfortable. Good for people who are interested in nature, meditation, quietude. We hiked the Lower Rogue River trail during the day, then enjoyed the outdoor spa in the evening after a nice dinner at Redfish nearby. Excellent selection of DVDs. Probably not a great place for kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I agree with just about everything the other reviewers said. We didn't meet Michelle, either, but we didn't need to, really. I found this place by accident while in the truck on the way to Port Orford and called. Michelle gave us excellent advice on which route (the SAFE one!) to take. It was dark when we arrived, but everything was exactly where Michelle said it would be in the mailbox at the kiosk. As it turned out, we were the only people there for our 2 night stay. It didn't matter, though. We marked our breakfast preferences and everything was truly excellent. I had the entire guest house to myself while my husband went bike riding. It rained most of the time we were there there but it didn't matter - the forest was so very quiet except for the rain. We saw a doe and her baby right by the truck. Because the facilites are eco friendly, Dean asked that we call him about 2 hours before wanting to use the spa so he could could get it heated up for my husband. My one suggestion would be to let people know it's not very accessible for the handicapped or anyone with walking problems. The paths are natural / woodchip lined. The hill to the guest house is no place for anyone with a walking problem. (wheelchair, crutches, bad knees, etc) Dean allowed us to drive up there but it has a very small area for turning around or backing up. There are no lights lining the paths to the cabins from the parking area but a flashlight is provided when you pick up the keys at the kiosk. They also provided umbrellas at the kiosk and at the cabin. Our cabin was clean and the shower was wonderful! (they set the room temp and ask that you don't change it by much. It was set too warm for us so had the bedroom window open a bit) I won't set a value rating because everyone has different ideas about what that is.

Room Tip: There are only five cabins so they are all probably nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingfools878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay, but we have to smile....you were not the only guests here. You must have missed the others at breakfast. We try very hard to create a sense that everyone who stays here are honored guests of a private estate. I guess that worked!

Though I wish you had mentioned when we talked at length about WildSpring that you had some ambulatory issues. We do talk about our natural trails on our website - we want to make sure our guests are aware that WildSpring is such a natural and unusual place, and we try to accommodate physically challenged guests as well (we've even devised rope lines for sight-impaired guests). We would have put you in a cabin that has its own parking space right on the other side of the fence that blocks any auto lights from intruding on the cabin area; it would easily enable you to get to your car and drive up to the Guest Hall parking. We will look at the parking area again to make sure it offers enough room for turning around easily.

We do have a little card in the cabin that ask guests if they find the radiant heating system either too cold or too hot, that they only turn it up or down a few degrees at a time since it has a lot of "inertia" - the system is slower than a furnace in responding to direction, but provides a gentle warm floor with no blowing dust or allergens.

And I would like to gently point out that we do line all our trails with custom-made copper lights that make our paths look like jeweled necklaces at night, bathing the paths with large golden circles of light.

Thanks for choosing WildSpring and we hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Arriving at Wild Spring makes you realise that not every B & B is the same. There is a quietness about the property that certainly invites you to relax and listen to nature.

The trees whisper gently in the breeze outside your cabin which was well appointed with a comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom with shower. The sitting area is welcome as are the dvd's as an alternative to the lack of TV, pity that the screen is in the bedroom area, relaxing on the sofa to watch would be better.

Being given a torch with your key is, in itself a key to the fact that you are in a different place where sunlight intrudes between the trees in the day and only the stars show at night.

The common room is well appointed but the walk back to the room with a last cup of tea at night requires a bit of practice, especially when you meet the deer grazing by the path.

The outdoor spa is well built and located to give a view of the ocean.

Perhaps the serenity is just a little lost by the number of advisory notes commending adoption of a greener lifestyle but we left feeling relaxed, having easily slipped into talking in whispers for three days, it has that effect on you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_Lorraine2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Hi, we're so happy you felt relaxed here and enjoyed the peace and quiet. This is a lovely place and we feel more like stewards than owners. You met the deer we suspect actually own the place - we plant a lot of deer-friendly plants and leave bowls of water everywhere...we figure it pays to keep the locals happy...

We wish you had let us know your frustration with the TV. It's a 19" very light Toshiba TV/DVD flat screen that plugs into the socket that's right on top of its bedroom shelf. This makes it easy to move it to the livingroom - or call us and we're happy to do that for you.

As far as the eco-notes in the cabin, we have a card that tells people what to do if they'd like us to leave their towels and sheets for another day, or if they'd like us to change them. And, there is a second card on top of our Guest Book from Travel Oregon about a new state-wide program they ask all lodging to promote asking visitors to donate $1 toward eco-projects around the state designed to keep Oregon the green and gorgeous place to visit that hopefully you enjoyed. We don't want to make anyone feel "admonished" however, and will place that inside the Guest Book for people to read when they feel like it.

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay here. We hope you might stop by again whenever you make the long trip from England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

WildSpring is just the kind of place we like to stay on our travels--unique, beautiful, restful and rusticallly elegant. Our cabin was spacious and had the amenities we most appreciate--comfortable bed, fabulous shower, woodburning stove and DVD (with no teevee, thank you owners!). The DVD library is extensive, the breakfasts healthful and delicious (and kept us fueled for all the great hiking opportunities the area presents), the forest pathways lined with art objects quirky and fun to behold. This is a lovely B&B, close to town and many distinctive parks and stops along the southern Oregon coast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and left reluctantly, well recreated, rested and happy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Annwyn cabin, which was the only one available for our 3 night stay. It does have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKF1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Orford
23.7 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
24.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock
23.7 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
22.0 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
23.9 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WildSpring Guest Habitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WildSpring Guest Habitat

Property: WildSpring Guest Habitat
Address: 92978 Cemetery Loop Rd, Port Orford, OR 97465-9562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WildSpring Guest Habitat is a small eco-friendly resort overlooking Oregon's spectacular south coast, offering luxurious accommodations in a peaceful, naturally beautiful environment: Five lovely cabin suites filled with art and antiques on five acres in a private residential forest of 100-ft trees. Guest Hall and lounging deck to relax and hang out, sculpture garden and open-air slate spa - all overlooking the ocean. Spa robes, massages, WiFi, walking labyrinth. Free breakfast buffet and overt 600 DVDs for free incabin movies. An Oregon Bed & Breakfast Guild member and Oregon Coast Birding Trail site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildspring Guest Habitat Hotel Port Orford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing