We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity at it's best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Orford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
WildSpring Guest Habitat
Ranked #1 of 4 Port Orford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serenity at it's best”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We scoured the internet in search of the best place to start our honeymoon trek across Oregon. We happened upon the WildSpring's website and when reading through everything it seemed like the perfect place.

When we arrived it far exceeded our expectations! Everything from the natural landscape, to the cabins, down to the awesome showers has been thoroughly thought out. We stayed in the cabin with the fireplace, I believe it's the Annwynn, and were very pleased with the ambiance that it provided. The cabin was, as expected, on the darker side but never once did we feel that was a negative. Again, it added to the experience.

Sitting out in the hot tub at night was amazing. Being from Southern California you never can see that many stars. It was so serene just sitting there listening to the ocean.

We sat out on the deck every morning with a delicious cup of coffee, read a book and occasionally looked at the beautiful ocean framed by the lush and gorgeous landscape. The breakfast was superb and everything that Dean & Michelle made came out delicious.

Throughout the 3 nights we stayed there one other cabin was being occupied but different travelers that came. Never the same group but the only way we knew anyone else was there was by seeing their vehicles parked there. You really feel that you are in your own serene sanctuary. It was the most amazing place we have ever been and we can't wait to return.

Thank you Dean and Michelle for taking a leap of faith to create this space. It's nice to see that instead of tearing down what was already there, you were able to work around it and play off the natural beauty that is in the moss covered rocks and 100 foot tall trees.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    12
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
154
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Five well-appointed cabins on a property overlooking the Pacific Ocean; cabins are very nice and comfortable. Good for people who are interested in nature, meditation, quietude. We hiked the Lower Rogue River trail during the day, then enjoyed the outdoor spa in the evening after a nice dinner at Redfish nearby. Excellent selection of DVDs. Probably not a great place for kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I agree with just about everything the other reviewers said. We didn't meet Michelle, either, but we didn't need to, really. I found this place by accident while in the truck on the way to Port Orford and called. Michelle gave us excellent advice on which route (the SAFE one!) to take. It was dark when we arrived, but everything was exactly where Michelle said it would be in the mailbox at the kiosk. As it turned out, we were the only people there for our 2 night stay. It didn't matter, though. We marked our breakfast preferences and everything was truly excellent. I had the entire guest house to myself while my husband went bike riding. It rained most of the time we were there there but it didn't matter - the forest was so very quiet except for the rain. We saw a doe and her baby right by the truck. Because the facilites are eco friendly, Dean asked that we call him about 2 hours before wanting to use the spa so he could could get it heated up for my husband. My one suggestion would be to let people know it's not very accessible for the handicapped or anyone with walking problems. The paths are natural / woodchip lined. The hill to the guest house is no place for anyone with a walking problem. (wheelchair, crutches, bad knees, etc) Dean allowed us to drive up there but it has a very small area for turning around or backing up. There are no lights lining the paths to the cabins from the parking area but a flashlight is provided when you pick up the keys at the kiosk. They also provided umbrellas at the kiosk and at the cabin. Our cabin was clean and the shower was wonderful! (they set the room temp and ask that you don't change it by much. It was set too warm for us so had the bedroom window open a bit) I won't set a value rating because everyone has different ideas about what that is.

Room Tip: There are only five cabins so they are all probably nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingfools878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay, but we have to smile....you were not the only guests here. You must have missed the others at breakfast. We try very hard to create a sense that everyone who stays here are honored guests of a private estate. I guess that worked!

Though I wish you had mentioned when we talked at length about WildSpring that you had some ambulatory issues. We do talk about our natural trails on our website - we want to make sure our guests are aware that WildSpring is such a natural and unusual place, and we try to accommodate physically challenged guests as well (we've even devised rope lines for sight-impaired guests). We would have put you in a cabin that has its own parking space right on the other side of the fence that blocks any auto lights from intruding on the cabin area; it would easily enable you to get to your car and drive up to the Guest Hall parking. We will look at the parking area again to make sure it offers enough room for turning around easily.

We do have a little card in the cabin that ask guests if they find the radiant heating system either too cold or too hot, that they only turn it up or down a few degrees at a time since it has a lot of "inertia" - the system is slower than a furnace in responding to direction, but provides a gentle warm floor with no blowing dust or allergens.

And I would like to gently point out that we do line all our trails with custom-made copper lights that make our paths look like jeweled necklaces at night, bathing the paths with large golden circles of light.

Thanks for choosing WildSpring and we hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Arriving at Wild Spring makes you realise that not every B & B is the same. There is a quietness about the property that certainly invites you to relax and listen to nature.

The trees whisper gently in the breeze outside your cabin which was well appointed with a comfortable bed and a good sized bathroom with shower. The sitting area is welcome as are the dvd's as an alternative to the lack of TV, pity that the screen is in the bedroom area, relaxing on the sofa to watch would be better.

Being given a torch with your key is, in itself a key to the fact that you are in a different place where sunlight intrudes between the trees in the day and only the stars show at night.

The common room is well appointed but the walk back to the room with a last cup of tea at night requires a bit of practice, especially when you meet the deer grazing by the path.

The outdoor spa is well built and located to give a view of the ocean.

Perhaps the serenity is just a little lost by the number of advisory notes commending adoption of a greener lifestyle but we left feeling relaxed, having easily slipped into talking in whispers for three days, it has that effect on you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_Lorraine2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildSpring, Owner at WildSpring Guest Habitat, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Hi, we're so happy you felt relaxed here and enjoyed the peace and quiet. This is a lovely place and we feel more like stewards than owners. You met the deer we suspect actually own the place - we plant a lot of deer-friendly plants and leave bowls of water everywhere...we figure it pays to keep the locals happy...

We wish you had let us know your frustration with the TV. It's a 19" very light Toshiba TV/DVD flat screen that plugs into the socket that's right on top of its bedroom shelf. This makes it easy to move it to the livingroom - or call us and we're happy to do that for you.

As far as the eco-notes in the cabin, we have a card that tells people what to do if they'd like us to leave their towels and sheets for another day, or if they'd like us to change them. And, there is a second card on top of our Guest Book from Travel Oregon about a new state-wide program they ask all lodging to promote asking visitors to donate $1 toward eco-projects around the state designed to keep Oregon the green and gorgeous place to visit that hopefully you enjoyed. We don't want to make anyone feel "admonished" however, and will place that inside the Guest Book for people to read when they feel like it.

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay here. We hope you might stop by again whenever you make the long trip from England.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

WildSpring is just the kind of place we like to stay on our travels--unique, beautiful, restful and rusticallly elegant. Our cabin was spacious and had the amenities we most appreciate--comfortable bed, fabulous shower, woodburning stove and DVD (with no teevee, thank you owners!). The DVD library is extensive, the breakfasts healthful and delicious (and kept us fueled for all the great hiking opportunities the area presents), the forest pathways lined with art objects quirky and fun to behold. This is a lovely B&B, close to town and many distinctive parks and stops along the southern Oregon coast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and left reluctantly, well recreated, rested and happy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Annwyn cabin, which was the only one available for our 3 night stay. It does have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKF1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orford
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

From the moment you drive into the WildSpring driveway, a hush comes over you--and stays with you until you leave. You know you're in a special place. We agree with everything guests have said about the healthy, various breakfast offerings, the outdoor spa (it IS wonderful), the entertainment options at the Great Hall, the exquisite and uniquely decorated cabins and the elegance of the forest and its floor which surrounds you. We appreciated the "independence" we were afforded through the services of the owners and staff; to us, it was indicative of a sense of trust between owner and guest. Amenities within the cabin and Great Hall are abundant, and you know that assistance is a mere step (or intercom call) away. It is evident that Dean and Michelle, the ever-so-gracious owners/hosts, want to enhance one's experience of such a mystical place by remaining available, yet on the "periphery." We actually live just outside of Port Orford and had decided on a mini-vacation in town--what a breath of fresh air, and a grand visit!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

While traveling the coast, we had only one night at this lovely destination. I could have stayed for a week or more. The grounds are so serene and so peaceful - almost sacred. Our cottage was like staying in your favorite childhood fairy tale. And Dean and Michelle were gracious and welcoming.

It was rather chilly for an August evening and the fireplace provided welcome warmth which added to the magic. Simply walking around the grounds helped me to feel more grounded, centered and balanced and was a perfect respite from 10 days of near constant traveling.

I look forward to visiting again and staying longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Orford
23.6 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
24.5 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
23.7 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
22.0 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
23.9 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WildSpring Guest Habitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WildSpring Guest Habitat

Property: WildSpring Guest Habitat
Address: 92978 Cemetery Loop Rd, Port Orford, OR 97465-9562
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Port Orford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Orford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WildSpring Guest Habitat is a small eco-friendly resort overlooking Oregon's spectacular south coast, offering luxurious accommodations in a peaceful, naturally beautiful environment: Five lovely cabin suites filled with art and antiques on five acres in a private residential forest of 100-ft trees. Guest Hall and lounging deck to relax and hang out, sculpture garden and open-air slate spa - all overlooking the ocean. Spa robes, massages, WiFi, walking labyrinth. Free breakfast buffet and overt 600 DVDs for free incabin movies. An Oregon Bed & Breakfast Guild member and Oregon Coast Birding Trail site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wildspring Guest Habitat Hotel Port Orford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing