We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prepare to be Captivated”

Cape Blanco Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Port Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Prepare to be Captivated”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Situated on a spectacular wind-swept cape with fantastic views in all direction. You can go all the way to the top of this operating light house. You'll want to stay and be the light house keeper.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LJB906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    52
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Windy but beautiful!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was so windy we didn't stay outside long, but we really enjoyed the lighthouse and the meadows surrounding it. The view of the surrounding cliffs above the ocean is very pretty. This is a lighthouse you can actually go up to (instead of viewing from a distance) which is nice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ktjtgr8912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Utah
Level Contributor
183 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“My favorite lighthouse of those we visited”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a few miles off the main road, but I believe it is well worth the trouble of driving along the narrow, winding road to get there. We were further spoiled by having a sunny day when we visited and the place wasn't very busy.
The lighthouse has been restored and I believe I recall that the tour guide told us that the light mechanism is not original to this lighthouse, but it does work and gives a sense of how these structures helped steer vessels away from danger.
We did have to wait for 15 or 20 minutes before we could approach the lighthouse for our tour, but the wait was worth it. After the tour, we roamed a little around the groomed area and took more pictures of the structure and the surrounding landscapes.
If you find yourself on a decent day driving along the Oregon Coast Highway, route 101, near Port Ortford, be sure to take this little side trip, especially if you like lighthouses, landscapes, sea views, history, or you just need a good excuse to stop and stretch your legs.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brightpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A side trip that is worth it”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I took this turn on a whim while traveling down Hwy 101. It was early in the morning and the tide was going out. There were few people and phenomenal views. I think we took 50+ pictures and had a lovely walk on the beach. Note: the lighthouse itself was closed for the season. And it was a sunny day so you could see for miles.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Scenic Headland for Whale-watching”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We enjoy hiking from Hughes House, across the meadows toward the dunes and coming upon the Cape Blanco Lighthouse. It's a scenic spot and a pleasant hike to catch glimpses of the Pacific, possible whale sightings, and see plenty of sea birds.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Writergal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Blanco Lighthouse also viewed

 
Port Orford, Oregon Coast
Port Orford, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Cape Blanco Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing