We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Friendly Efficient Staff - Don't let building appearances deter you from stopping here!”

Griff's On The Dock
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Port Orford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: small restaurant located right on the dock - fresh and delicisiou seafood right off the boats..
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Friendly Efficient Staff - Don't let building appearances deter you from stopping here!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Griff's on the Dock in Port Orford

Excellent Food and Friendly Efficient Staff - Don't let building appearances deter you from stopping here!

We ate lunch here on a whim on Tuesday August, 20, 2013 while driving home from the coast.

DEFINITELY do NOT judge the meal you might get based on the picture of Griff's on the web - this is a jewel in disguise! The restaurant is limited on seating, a small sitting area directly inside to the right with a view of the docks, a few tables directly back as you walk in the restaurant, and a couple of tables out back of the restaurant.

Also, inside the establishment is a small (free) museum that is a must to visit!

To start we ordered one small bowl and one large bowl of their chowder to share among three of us - we didn't want to overdo it because we wanted to eat all of our main course. WRONG CHOICE - the chowder was AMAZING and we wished to have all three ordered large individual bowls! Best in such a very long time.

For the main course my wife had the french dip which she said was great. Our daughter had the cheese burger and she enjoyed it very much.

My mother and I had the fish and chips, my dish included three prawns.I believe this was the best fish and chips I've ever experienced; fresh and so lightly battered it was all fish in every bite!

The slaw and fries were good as well but that fish was definitely the star-feature of the plate. Now for my prawns, they we perfectly cooked and slightly seasoned - AMAZING flavors!

So for a quick detour off the main highway north we managed to enjoy one of the best lunches we have had on the coast in a long while! WE WILL RETURN!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DenaliDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    85
    32
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Authentic crab shack”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here for lunch. Sat down to a delicious plate of steamers. Happily ate Dungeness crab and red snapper fish and chips. Everything was perfectly prepared and great tasting. It is totally no-frills and surrounded by the boats that brought the seafood they serve in. We loved it for the food and the legit working-class, fisherman environment. Can't wait to go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank rezlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tuna was outstanding, but...”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

They need to keep the place cleaner. Windows were dirty, flies all over the place. Yuk. It's too bad, because the service was good & the food was pretty good, too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flycamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cioppino!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Excellent cioppino - second only to Sharks in Newport, the gold standard. We ordered it two nights running.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NUmpquaDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

While passing through Port Orford we found Griff's by chance (Thursday, August 1st) as we happened to notice the signs pointing us to 'Griff's on the dock'. Well, we 'took a chance' and it was delicious food. We both had the wonderful, flavourful clam chowder. I had the salmon bites and my husband, Gary had the seafood plate. Both were out of this world fresh and tasty! The pie (sourcream lemon) was equally excellent! We travelled on to Bandon and were considering driving BACK to experience this terrific café again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bertible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griff's On The Dock also viewed

Port Orford, Oregon Coast
 
Port Orford, Oregon Coast
Port Orford, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Griff's On The Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing