We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai food”
Review of Woodsman

Woodsman
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Philomath
Cuisines: American, Asian
Restaurant details
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We ate there again tonight and it was excellent. We both had the appetizer platter. Everything was great. Nothing was too spicy, but if you want it hot their chili oil is smokin. They give you a lot of food. 1 order of Pad Thai feeds both my girlfriend and I for at least 2 meals. Coconut ice cream is delicious. we ordered 2 ice creams to go and there was about a pint in each. We have gone several times over the last few years and has always been great. I would rate the American food as average. I agree with the reviewer who said this is the best Asian food in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sparky2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Thai food in an unexpected place!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Woodsman was a restaurant and bar with burgers and steak for years. When it was sold, the new owners decided to continue with that menu (and the old saws and historic photos on the walls), but to add a Thai menu, too. It's excellent and reasonably priced. Friendly family atmosphere, the Tom Kha eaters mingled with the burger eaters.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Linzertort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philomath, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Pad Thai”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Don't let the look of the outside fool you. This is the place to be if you want Thai food. The inside is quirky -- logging memorabilia and a framed poster of Buddha. Oddly enough, it works. Eat here, you will love it. The portions are huge -- you will leave with leftovers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianna97370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This is a SURPRISE”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This is great Thai food in an American food, rustic restaurant. I don' t quite understand it. But, it is really good and the David Lynch atmosphere makes it even better.

Helpful?
1 Thank Io-Truman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Phenomenal Thai Food in Philomath...who would have thought!”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

An amazing menu, lots of great specials, good drinks and, best of all, great prices! My favorite (if there can be just one) are the salad rolls! If you're on your way to or from the coast, you really should check out this gem. I rate this right up there with the Thai restaurants in Portland!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodsman also viewed

 

Been to Woodsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing