We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Elkton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nice hotel for our trip to Pendleton. The room was quiet, and the staff was extremely helpful. This is an older hotel, and the years have not been nice to it. While everything is clean, the overall feeling is that it is outdated and worn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghotai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLHManager, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Pendleton, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us and we appreciate your business.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    105
    79
    49
    35
See reviews for
100
125
28
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Red Lion is an older sprawling property unlike the "big box" style of newer hotels nearby. Most of the rooms have really lovely views of the rolling hills of Oregon over a vast expanse of mowed lawns. Beautiful sunrise views too. We have enjoyed staying here many times over the years for this alone. The hotel features Oregon history artwork and decor which makes is unique. We traveled with our dog and were placed on the first floor which had a patio opening onto a big lawn. Other dog owners were in adjacent rooms which formed a friendly community. The guestroom was spacious, quiet and was decorated in rich colors with pleasing artwork. The towels were nice and the vanity counter was large. The bed was well made with linens that were smooth and pressed. The room could have had a bit more attention to detail by housekeeping but we felt comfortable and this would not prevent another stay. The Red Lion is a pleasing alternative with a sense of place that the other chain hotels do not offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a vista view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sitesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLHManager, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Pendleton, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about you stay with us and we appreciate your business.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was our fourth stay in this hotel and although we still like it, it's starting to need some work. One issue we had (and we've had this with other hotels also) is that it's a central booking number to reserve a room. Although we called ahead, they could not guarantee that we would get our requested room on the first floor exterior. I will never understand why a hotel will take your credit card number, say that you can't cancel the reservation, and then say they can't guarantee you'll get the room you need.

We did get an exterior first-floor room but it was so dark that we had to use a flashlight to find our room and then find the key-card insert. The key-card worked sporadically so it took about 10 tries each time to get the card to work.

The restaurant there is consistently good, and the service is consistently great. We had a late dinner so we were thankful that the lounge was still open. Our server was really great, and the food was good.

Check-in: Good, professional
Rooms: Very clean; well-furnished but the huge office chair is overkill
Bed: Comfortable but very thin blanket on the bed
Bathroom: Very clean
A/C: Good but when we turned on the heat in the morning, it smelled terrible
Coffeemaker: Great that it was there, but there was no powdered cream, and very little sugar
WiFi: Signal was low-medium
Exterior: No lighting at all near our room -- very difficult to see while walking on the uneven pavement
Parking lot: Very dimly lit at the back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gumshoe_writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLHManager, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Pendleton, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments and we always appreciate hearing about specific items related to your stay. They most certainly help us to improve our offerings and services.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here overnight on our way to Cannon Beach,OR. It was a decent stay. The rooms were clean and fairly spacious. The staff treated us kindly. There was a small mix up with the number of beds. We had five people and two rooms, with king beds in both rooms. The issue was fixed quickly and without incident. Our room had a microwave and small fridge, which was handy. The patio was nice and well maintained, with a terrific view. The hotel was centrally located, near restaurants and a grocery store. Other reviewers have complained that the TV's are not flat screens, and to that I say give me a break. It's clean, the staff are nice and accomodating, the restaurant was decent. We had a decent breakfast for under $10, and I left satisfied. Overall a good buy when traveling through Pendleton!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveWithHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLHManager, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Pendleton, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I appreciate you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. Thank you for your business and for being a Red Lion Hotels customer.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We usually stop in Pendleton on our way to Portland and, when we do, we always stay at the Red Lion. It is clean. The staff is friendly and the rooms are reasonably priced. Can't ask for much more than that

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLHManager, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Pendleton, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We appreciate you making us your home away from home, when your travels bring you to our area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

After a 2-week road trip we found ourselves in Pendelton, Oregen for the night. The Red Lion Hotel provided us a very comfortable place to rest and enjoy. The rooms were large, clean, and well maintained. The Lounge and Restaurant provided good, prompt service and good food. The big TV in the Lounge had a college football game on allowing all of us to enjoy the excitement. We didn't use it, but the outdoor pool looked very inviting. This stay was a good value for the night. The view from the room looked over the broad expanse around Pendelton. If you find yourself in or around Pendelton, OR, The Red Lion would be a wise choice.

Room Tip: The rooms are large with excellent view. All served by an elevator. Need fresh air? A little scree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLHManager, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Pendleton, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your business.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After staying at a few other hotels in Pendleton over the years going from Seattle to points east, I was so glad to find and book the Red Lion. Rooms are updated and quiet, and I did not even have to ask to get a room on the ground floor away from common areas for myself and dogs. Great sliding glass door to grassy area was perfect for letting the dogs out. We had no issues at the bar/restaurant but it was not busy. Very nice and helpful front desk and housekeeping staff. Our key stopped working right as we were loading the car to leave and the housekeeper ran all the way to the front to get us a new one.
Pool was nice too, what a great view. We will definitely stay here upon another trip through Pendleton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spareaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLHManager, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Pendleton, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I am glad as well that you found us and we appreciate your comments and business.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pendleton hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Pendleton Inn
Best Western Pendleton Inn
#2 of 17 in Pendleton
587 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton
1.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Pendleton
Oxford Suites Pendleton
#3 of 17 in Pendleton
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Pendleton
Hampton Inn Pendleton
#5 of 17 in Pendleton
483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Pendleton
1.0 mi away
Rugged Country Lodge
Rugged Country Lodge
#4 of 17 in Pendleton
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Pendleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Pendleton

Property: Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
Address: 304 SE Nye Ave, Pendleton, OR 97801-4149
Location: United States > Oregon > Pendleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Pendleton 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Pendleton is located off of I-84 at Hwy 11, just one mile from the downtown and minutes from Pendleton Airport. Nearby attractions include the Pendleton Underground Tours, Pendleton Woolen Mills, the Umatilla Indian Reservation and Wildhorse Casino and Golf course.Our 170 spacious guest rooms, with one suite, feature private balconies and all the amenities you expect at a first-class hotel, including Red Lion's plush Sealy pillowtop beds,seasonal outdoor pool and hot tub. Forget the stress with complimentary wi-fi, parking, business center and fitness facilities. The hotel also offers a free airport shuttle. Golf and local health club facilities are located nearby.The restaurant is open daily for breakfast and dinner. The Red Lion Lounge is open daily starting at 4:00 pm. We now offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet daily and don't forget, kids 6 and younger eat free with each adult. With 10,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, we are also able to accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Pendleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Pendleton
Pendleton Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing