We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pendleton House Historic Inn
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous and welcoming”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

It's a wonderful and beautiful place to stay with a welcoming and lovely caretaker. I absolutely loved this gorgeous 1917 built home, with antiques and original furnishings. The shower is a fabulous wrap around spray shower, and the sheets are ironed and the beds oh so comfy. The breakfast is delicious... as a vegetarian, I was treated to cobbler, delicious scrambled eggs with cheese and potatoes my first morning, and sour cream pancakes with blueberries the second morning. The coffee was ready before I was up and the adorable house dog greeted me fondly upon each of my returns. I definitely recommend this place and will be back myself as soon as I can.

Room Tip: The Gwendolyn Room was lovely and spacious, including 2 dressing rooms, king size bed, and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    17
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
151
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Freewater, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hill street approach to this hotel sets the scene for the historical treasure that awaits the visitor. It sits among several early 20th C cattle/wheat/sheep baron homes. But the decor is the real thing: original silk wallpaper and drapes, wood floors and well kept historical features (tiny wall safes, ancient intercom system, occasional odd electrical outlets, walk-in compartmentalized closets...). The same architect as the Pittock mansion, so the (shared) working shower has surround spray, and a central rainshower head. The hostess is gracious and down to earth, intelligent and well traveled, experienced. The toiletries and breakfast were nice without being lavish.

Room Tip: NW Best Places suggested the Gwendolyn or Mandarin room, accessing a balcony viewing into downtown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This place had the overall feel of staying with a relative who does not keep the cleanest or most orderly home. There was little that was charming about it. The proprietor walked around in her socks and had little helpful information to share.

If you're looking for an "elegant" experience as some of the older reviews state, I did not see it. There was a space heater placed in our room that ran off and on all night.

This place has some utilitarian appeal, in that it is located downtown and we had a decent enough sleep. However there is little in the way of an appealing bed and breakfast experience to recommend it, particularly in this day and age when one can choose to stay in well-run customer service-oriented inns and hotels.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbsonboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This is a beautiful home, impeccably furnished and superbly located, and the warm welcome from owner Marijo Baird charmed us from the very first. Within moments we were sitting and chatting, a glass of wine in hand, and taking in the graceful architecture and amenities of this fine Victorian house. The neighborhood is quiet, and full of other classic homes. An easy walk takes you to the nearby art center, shopping and restaurants. (Pop in to Hamley's to see the jaw-dropping arcitecture and furnishings, but go eat at Cimmiyotti's!).
Marijo is a fine hostess; we enjoyed breakfast and conversation. 'Summer' is the well-behaved and quiet dog in residence. We are 'cat people' but quickly converted to 'dog people' during our stay; Summer is charming.
Rooms share a spacious bathroom; the shower is antique (pay attention to the instructions for operation) but everything you might need is provided. This is a lovely and comfortable home; there is even an elevator!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilsonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This beautiful house is a delight to see, and then comes the joy of a stay in a beautifully appointed room with wonderful hosts and a memorable breakfast.
The Pendleton House is close to everything...by far the best place to stay in Pendleton!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yukondriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I had the opportunity to stay in Pendleton Oregon and chose to stay at the Pendleton House. Mary Jo is the owner and immediately became a friend. The home is comfortable and interesting with its rich history and heritage. Mary Jo is very knowledgeable about the attractions in town as well as history in the area. I would highly encourage you to stay with my new friend should your plans take you to Pendleton whether its for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kevstr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We have stayed two times, both times with our children. The rooms are decorated beautifully; the food is fabulous; and the owners are very hospitable. The kids especially liked the maple bacon and the peach cobbler (for breakfast!).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurabr64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pendleton hotels
1.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Pendleton
Oxford Suites Pendleton
#2 of 17 in Pendleton
715 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Pendleton Inn
Best Western Pendleton Inn
#3 of 17 in Pendleton
601 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
#14 of 17 in Pendleton
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Pendleton
Hampton Inn Pendleton
#5 of 17 in Pendleton
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Pendleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pendleton House Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pendleton House Historic Inn

Property: Pendleton House Historic Inn
Address: 311 N Main St, Pendleton, OR 97801 (Formerly Pendleton House Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Pendleton
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pendleton House Historic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pendleton House Historic Inn and Wedding Venue is truly one of the most elegant retreats in Eastern Oregon. Built in 1917, the Italianate Victorian home boasts 6 guest rooms and over 6000 sq.Ft. We provide great rooms with luxurious linens, a wonderfully hot and hand-crafted breakfast each morning and we are centered in the middle of the downtown nightlife and restaurants and adjacent to the Pendleton RiverWalk. All rooms are ADA accessible.Explore Pendleton's wild history or start your day by visiting the wine region of Walla Walla.We also provide a great Pendleton wedding venue experience complete for you and your wedding guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pendleton House Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing