We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and cute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rugged Country Lodge
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2006

We read a review of the Rugged Country Lodge by the TripAdvisor before my husband booked a room there. The review couldn't have been more accurate. This motel is a jewel in the crown of wonderful Pendleton, OR. From the moment we checked in, the staff was the friendliest, most helpful, courteous and cheerful people you could hope for. Fresh baked cookies, candy, and tea or coffee in the lobby. The room was small but adorable. Boutique style with Lavendar on the pillow, bath salts, the bath mat rolled up and tied with a satin ribbon. This B&B was a wonderful respite and the most Immaculate room we've seen in a long time. We've already booked our next stay with this secret little hideaway ! Forget the Red Lion up on the hill---Overpriced and filthy. We learned our lesson ! Try something cute, wonderful, clean and priced for everyone's budget ! The Rugged Country Lodge !!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csunchaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 356 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Oakland, Oregon
12
Reviewed March 29, 2006

We were in Pendleton for the Oregon State 2A Basketball Tournament the first week in March. Rooms are hard to get during that week, and we by chance found the Rugged Country Inn. I read the reviews on TripAdvisor, and so we gave it a try. We were pleased to find the rooms exceptionally clean and well decorated, the bed was wonderfully comfortable, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast offerings were great (I was impressed with the cappucinos), and warm cookies in the office...what more can I say? Everything was well done. I recommend that you give them a try while staying in Pendleton.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2005

This place is perfect for the money. It was the best price in town, to boot. All the furnishings in our room were new and not particle board. There was a sprig of lavender on the pillows, and the continental breakfast in the morning had organic yogurt.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank arwen411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
215
Reviewed November 10, 2005

This hotel is truly amazing. It shows what the big two star chain could do if they cared about their product a little. There are lovely little touches like decent towels and sheets, nice decorations, a much better than average continental breakfast. The staff are friendly and helpful. Every detail about this place makes it clear that someone thought about it, and cared about it. The note from the owner said that she always liked playing house as a child, and that tendency shows throughout the hotel.

A word on the rate I paid - the advertised rates on the website are a bit higher. I was playing in a poker tournament at the Wildhorse Casino, and was directed by their staff to ask for the special rate of $40. This hotel is worth the advertised rate, but you might try asking them for a special rate.

It's not a four star hotel - but there are no four star hotels in Pendleton, OR. So if you're considering staying at the Knight's Inn, Econolodge, Travelodge or some other such place, please reconsider and give this place a shot.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wij hadden een kamer met twee queensize bedden ( nr. 17) . Een paar dollar duurder dan de kamer met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ibby72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuggedCountryLodge, Manager at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Lorenzo_M_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuggedCountryLodge, Manager at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pendleton hotels
0.9 mi away
The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pendleton Inn
Best Western Pendleton Inn
#2 of 17 in Pendleton
640 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
#15 of 17 in Pendleton
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Pendleton
Oxford Suites Pendleton
#3 of 17 in Pendleton
746 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Pendleton
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pendleton
Hampton Inn Pendleton
#5 of 17 in Pendleton
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rugged Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rugged Country Lodge

Address: 1807 SE Court Ave, Pendleton, OR 97801-3348
Location: United States > Oregon > Pendleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pendleton
#5 Family Hotel in Pendleton
Price Range: $55 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rugged Country Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an age of ordinary, experience the extraordinary at Pendleton's only 'bed-and-breakfast motel'. Rugged Country Lodge was completely renovated in 2005; many luxury upgrades to the Dream Soft bedding have been added. Experience for yourself the cozy home comfort we are so famous for! With the distinction of being the only motel in Pendleton featuring the Pendleton Woolen Mills Bedding, we are truly "all that" when it comes to Quality and Value. We offer doubles, suites & single rooms and each room type is decorated a bit differently. All pristine Clean and Affordable rooms are non-smoking, boost luxury pillow-topped queen beds, down and microfiber bedding with triple luxury tone on tone sheeting, refrigerators/microwaves, air-conditioning, Free wireless and cable. Our bathrooms feature original vintage tile in fun colors, spa quality amenities and boutique details. We are now Eco-friendly as well! Enjoy a FREE Continental breakfast each morning in our darling "Rooster Room". In the evening the aroma of home baked cookies, iced tea will greet you upon check in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rugged Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rugged Country Hotel Pendleton
Rugged Country Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing