We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise! Super clean and comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rugged Country Lodge
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
1 review
“Great surprise! Super clean and comfortable!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Last minute trip and the staff was great in accommodating us with an adorable suite. Beds were amazing and rooms were spotless. The bathroom was stocked with spa toiletries and spotless.
Perfect for those who need a great night sleep at an amazing bargain. .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    126
    30
    17
    13
See reviews for
84
126
41
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

What a delight! We are traveling west & decided to spend the evening & overnight in Pendleton. The Rugged Country Lodge has the feel of a country inn & the service is warm & personable. The young lady who runs the place mAkes you feel right at home & takes pride in the lovely flower beds & landscaping out front & the many improvements she made under the new management.. The rooms are large & very clean & beautifully furnished like an old country inn. Everything is simply charming, from the carved oaken headboards down to the petite wicker basket of toiletries in the new1920s style bathroom(also large).We stayed at numerous chain hotels on our journey & this little gem was a refreshing treat at half the price. If you are ever in the area I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valski123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our sixth annual trip to pendleton and we have always stayed at the rugged country. This place was a hidden gem. Unfortunately in a years time all the niceties have dissapeared.

Starting with a reservation a month in advance for our normal room only to find it unavailable on arrival. All the handmade soaps and high end shampoo and conditioners replaced with run of the mill drugstore stuff.

The nice comforters no where to be found and whoevers idea it was to use the top sheet for a comforter on top of the blanket is just gross.

Three nite stay and room was never made up. We had to keep going to manager for towels, toilet paper, etc.

Staff seemed uncaring about customer service and either offered excuses or became arguementitive when questioned. Quick answer was its always been done this way or we never did it like that before. Well if that was the case we would never have returned 6 years in a row.

Last but not least FROZEN GAS STATION BURITTO'S ARE NOT ACCEPTABLE! The continental breakfast that has been quite nice has turned into a joke. If you bill yourself as a B&B it should be so.

We met owners Ron & Becky last year and they seemed to want this place to succeed, with this staff it is not going to happen. I wish I could have direct contact to them to give them the rest of story because there is plenty more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Clean, older rooms, pet friendly, pleasant service. This was our second stay. New front desk people this year. They were friendly, but didn't know the area since they had just moved their recently. Did help us find the local brew pub.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodburn, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

As promised the Rugged Country Lodge had very clean rooms, bathrooms, instant hot water, great beds, & plenty of pillows! The staff was very helpful, letting us check in at 11:30am on the day we arrived for our conference. Rooms were quiet and fairly sound proof. We turned on the fan for ambient noise and slept through the night. Breakfast was included and was average cold items, and frozen breakfast burritos. Coffee was average.
Love the retro tiled bathrooms. New shower heads would benefit this hotel!
The room was great and we would highly recommend this fine retro lodge, good value for the money.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms face a main road, but it was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

In reading the website and some older reviews I possibly expected more from this hotel than I got. On the plus side the room was clean, the beds were great, there was a hair dryer in the hallway and the towels were fluffy.
On the minus side the dogs in the neighboring yard were terribly noisy and the breakfast was disappointing. It sounded really great on the website and it was adequate but nothing better than is available at so many other motels.
The price of the room was comparable to other motels in the area and I expected a little more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katbrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I read about this hotel style B& B online and the story of its salvation and restoring by the nice Oregon Lady was just charming. When we arrived, we experienced her delightful, immaculate touches everywhere but the place has been sold to people that seemed surly or fake -happy. Little things in the description, like homemade cookies to welcome us, and pendleton blankets on the beds were absent. We are from FLorida and altho it is spring, the weather was cold, and we had just come from 9 degrees in Jackson Hole, the beds were great but we needed more blankets and they looked at us like we were crazy when i asked about the Pendletons. Then they said they only put them on the single beds. That was a real disappointment. We had to ask twice for the 4th towel for our 4 guests, and the breafast was bleak, altho the Rooster Room was adorable presented. These new folks did not make us feel welcome, and that causes little things to seem bigger.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caseysacajewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuggedCountryLodge, General Manager at Rugged Country Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We apologize that the double beds don't come with the Pendleton blankets only the pillows also We take pride in customer service we try to make everyone feel as comfortable as possible.We hope you come come back again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pendleton hotels
0.9 mi away
The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton
2.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Pendleton
Oxford Suites Pendleton
#2 of 17 in Pendleton
662 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Pendleton Inn
Best Western Pendleton Inn
#3 of 17 in Pendleton
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
#12 of 17 in Pendleton
360 reviews
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Pendleton
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pendleton
Hampton Inn Pendleton
#5 of 17 in Pendleton
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rugged Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rugged Country Lodge

Property: Rugged Country Lodge
Address: 1807 SE Court Ave, Pendleton, OR 97801-3348
Location: United States > Oregon > Pendleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pendleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rugged Country Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an age of ordinary, experience the extraordinary at Pendleton's only 'bed-and-breakfast motel'. Rugged Country Lodge was completely renovated in 2005; many luxury upgrades to the Dream Soft bedding have been added. Experience for yourself the cozy home comfort we are so famous for! With the distinction of being the only motel in Pendleton featuring the Pendleton Woolen Mills Bedding, we are truly "all that" when it comes to Quality and Value. We offer doubles, suites & single rooms and each room type is decorated a bit differently. All pristine Clean and Affordable rooms are non-smoking, boost luxury pillow-topped queen beds, down and microfiber bedding with triple luxury tone on tone sheeting, refrigerators/microwaves, air-conditioning, Free wireless and cable. Our bathrooms feature original vintage tile in fun colors, spa quality amenities and boutique details. We are now Eco-friendly as well! Enjoy a FREE Continental breakfast each morning in our darling "Rooster Room". In the evening the aroma of home baked cookies, iced tea will greet you upon check in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rugged Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rugged Country Hotel Pendleton
Rugged Country Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing