We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour - Must see”

Pendleton Underground Tour
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Pendleton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Camas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great tour - Must see”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

didn't like - having to call a voice mail and and try to reserve a spot. there are easier ways - such as pay pal.
We had a great tour guy - Brad - excellent historian toured the brothels, opium dens, tunnels, 2 hours of very interesting history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CamasGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    30
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So glad we took the time..”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a great time on this tour. Our group consisted of 3 children ages 6, 9, and 12 and four adults ranging from mid 30's to mid 60's in age. We all loved it. Our tour guide was a retired middle school teacher who is involved in community theatre. She did a wonderful job setting the mood and taking us on a trip back in time. The tour last just over 2 hours. We toured the underground tunnels and a brothel....so interesting. We almost opted not to do it due to not being sure if we could get a reservation...but it all worked out and it proved to be wonderful family adventure. Great History lesson for all of us. Totally worth the $$ and time...Highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Ike_and_amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“well worth the time and cost”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This tour is well worth the time (over an hour) and the cost. It does have some lengthy stairs to go up and down. Guide was very informative and knew his facts from first hand experience. Good educational tour on little known part of history for the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank LouisR321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Interesting but Uncomfortable”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I applaud the locals for the effort in putting this interesting tour together. It's fascinating that all these tunnels exist and the history behind them. Unfortunately the guide on our tour treated the group as if they were misbehaving youngsters or perhaps she was just in a hurry to get to something else she wanted to do that day. Most of the group was older and no one was impolite at any time so it was all her.Her attitude made it known questions weren't her favorite thing so the group didn't ask many. Despite the interesting nature of the tour, we were relieved when it was over.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelLar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Sierras, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amatuer Tour Guide, Very Disappointing!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I went on this tour in early June. Be aware you are not going into some underground tunnel system beneath the city of Pendleton, but a series of connected basements used by merchants to prep and store mechandise. Yes, the Chinese citizens of Pendleton lived in part of these basements at one time.

The tour guide we had, Brad, really needs to go take some professional training as a Historical Interpreter, perhaps with the National Park Service! We have been on many historical walks, talks, tours and other interpretive programs during our travels in the US and Europe. Brad's presentation is poorly presented, he assumes everyone on his tour knows nothing about the history of the west, the transcontinental railroad, the role of the Chinese played and who James Doolittle was, he goes on and on forever.(he forgot to mention the Irish who built the eastern portion of the track.) With professional training he could learn to better interpret this tour to visitors in a concise and interesting manner. Since we both have backgounds in American History we feel a professional historian needs to go on this tour and evalute the "facts" that Brad is giving to visitors as some are more myth than fact.

The tour was suppose to last 90 minutes which is appropiate for an interpretive tour. However he annouced his tours lasted 2 hours (after we paid), but in realily it was 2 1/2 hours before we made it to the artifact room. Add showing up 30 minutes early to check in and watch the Dave Severe video that was a three hour comminment. There were other things in Pendleton we had to skip because of the unplanned length of this tour. One woman in our group had to leave early as she was a diabetic, two other women slipped and fell on the same step that was poorly marked with worn off yellow paint and a hidden caution sign! So be prepared and watch your step! The company that operates this tour is a non-profit and I can find very little information about them or who their board of directors are.

The only interesting thing was visiting the upstairs brothel which is something most people never get to do,and the Dave Severe video was very good.

I would recommend skipping this tour and visiting the Pendleton Round Up Hall of Fame, the Pendleton Woolen Mills tour, visiting the Heritage Station Museum, Tamastslikt Cultural Institute and Hamley's Saddles and Western store instead.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ouiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pendleton Underground Tour also viewed

 

Been to Pendleton Underground Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing