We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed out”

Pendleton Underground Tour
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Pendleton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Missed out”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We made the fatal mistake of not booking ahead which is a prerequsitie After driving from Missoula, we saw a sign about the tour but, on arrival, were told that no booking meant no tour. We were told there "may" be a spot for the next one about three hours later - if there were cancellations!.
We simply weren't prepared to wait on the off-chance that we would get a spot. It seems odd that provision isn't made for passing tourist trade but I guess that has to do with safety requirements and volunteer rosters. We did. however, have a wander around Pendleton and enjoyed checking out the historic architecture and some of the shops.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Thelonghaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    30
    10
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little long...”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I went on the tour in May when they offer a fundraising tour with "actors" playing roles of people from Pendleton history. It was clever; the actors would be "frozen" in time until the tour guide gave a cue when they sprang to life in a short skit showing a historical interaction that may have happened in that room. Some "actors" (a.k.a. Pendleton residents) hammed it up a little too much. Also, a few people in our group who obviously knew the actors were a little too "familiar" with the actors to make the skit believable for the rest on the tour. The tour became a little too laborious when it came to the "Cozy Rooms" (a.k.a. brothel). The running jokes became a little too overused and the tour felt a little long. I was hoping for another "police raid" to get us out of there! I didn't want to give this tour a bad review; I really want the town of Pendleton to get some type of tourism to build their economy. It's a charming town that is trying to monopolize on the wild west history.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
476 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Primo Entertainment and History Lesson”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This beats Seattle Underground hands down. The reenactors played perfect roles and the tour guide did a great job of explaining the various historical artifacts and scenarios. The tour lasted about two hours and was entertaining from start to finish. History buffs will be especially impressed and those just looking for entertainment will find plenty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sungron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Chinese Influence in the West”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great piece of history of how ugly prejudice created a fascinating , creative response from a resilient people.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank caseysacajewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspalomas, Spain
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth the time!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a blast down there, and I guess part of the reason why the tour is so successful is that they make it very interesting for the visitor. It was amazing to see how people lived underground, in different eras, because we have to realize that the tunnels were first inhabited by Chinese people who helped build the railroad first, and then worked in the mills.
We also learned about the “Sunset Law” (or something called like that), that used to say that Chinese people had no protection after the sun would set west, another reason why they would live underground. The tour guide also said that they were very good at what they did (and it is not hard to believe, considering how well preserved was what we saw this morning).
On our tour we also visited some clubs and bars belonging to the prohibitionist era, and a very interesting and educational “brothel”, who’s been brought back to life (oh well, to a certain extent) to let visitors enjoy it (again, to a certain extent), so that they can see for themselves how things used to work. The tour ended up back where it started, 90 minutes later, and everybody in the group was very satisfied with the way our tour guide conducted the tour.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NiKkOsAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pendleton Underground Tour also viewed

 

Been to Pendleton Underground Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing