We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat Yourself”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pendleton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Working Girls Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Portland, Oregon, and Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Treat Yourself”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

If you have never stayed (or even been) in a bordello, this is the place for you. Located next door to the famous Pendleton Underground Tours (very well worth a visit), this tastefully updated, former "boarding house" is utterly charming. Originally built in the late 1890s, the hotel has hard-wood floors and 18 foot ceilings; the furnishings are Victorian; and there are comfy beds and excellent air conditioning. While there is no restaurant or cafe in the hotel, there is a kitchen and plenty of near-by eateries and drinkeries, including a bakery directly across the street. Like other Tripadvisor reviewers, our party of 4 had the hotel to ourselves. There is nothing bland or ordinary about this hotel. It's a gem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JohnPGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We spent one night here (in the suite) and wished we had the time to stay longer. Had great vibes - super cool and clean - tons of personality. One of our best hotel experiences ever. Pendleton, itself was also a pleasant surpise. Cool town worth exploring. Warning - the IPA at Prodigal Sons Brewing company sneaks up on you PDQ :) They did not have kitchen type stuff in the room, but did have a sepatrater kitchen, dining area and laundry room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed two nights in the suite. The first night there was one other guest, and the second night we had the entire place to ourselves. The decor is very charming with beautiful antiques, period wallpaper and lace curtains. Our bed was very comfortable, and there were plenty of towels and other thoughtful items in the attached bathroom. The underground tour (same owner) was interesting and informative. This was our first time to the area, so we drove up to Walla Walla for lunch and explored a few wineries. Had dinner at both steakhouses in town and enjoyed the coffee/wine shop across from the hotel. We would recommend this hotel for its location (easy walk to shops and restaurants in town), and for it's charm.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank tougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We have stayed in other former "places of negotiable affection" (Flagstaff, AZ; Madrid, Spain) simply because they usually have a lot more character. The Working Girls is no exception. Booking was by phone from France - you have to be persistent, especially with the 9 hour difference, but went smoothly. We arrived late in the evening and found found a note on our door welcoming us and explaining the facilities (kitchen, lounge, dining room and laundry).

We had booked the suite, which was perfect, with period furniture. The whole place is furnished well, very spacious and very comfortable. A really good find.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jp_from_paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Washington state
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Husband and I and another couple just returned from a one-night stay in this amazing hotel. It really was a 'working girls' hotel years ago, and it has been lovingly and carefully restored to its beauty. There are 5 rooms--2 are a suite with their own bathroom--and two bathrooms in the hall. All are on the second floor...you must climb the "31 stairs to paradise" to get there. Husband and I had a room furnished in the decor of the time, with very tall ceilings, very comfy bed. The second floor also has a parlor, a kitchen, a dining room and a couple of private apts.
It is totally non-smoking, and children are not allowed because of the antiques.
It is very safe--you are given a code to punch in at the main door as well as your room key. Our bathroom was huge and the shower was great.
If you love history, this is the place to stay. We think it's one of Oregon's best-kept secrets!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaisyDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Id
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

They were a little hard to get a hold of at first, but once we'd contacted them, they were wonderful to work with. They helped us find our way when we were lost, and gave us directions to the restraunt we'd chosen for dinner. The hotel itself had very neat paintings of historic Pendleton places/people. The rooms large, with giant ceilings & exposed brick. The bathrooms had his/ hers toilets. The decor was very cute. Our first day there, we hit the Underground Tour, which gave you a little more insight into the hotel where we were staying, and other interesting Pendleton secrets.

  • Liked — Very private...1 of only 2 people couples staying there.
  • Disliked — Very few ammenties
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BoiseDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

What a great place to stay! We had the entire place to ourselves for two nights and stayed in the Suite, which has its own bath. The other rooms share. All rooms are on the second floor. I'd guess the rooms have 20' ceilings, and the exposed brick adds a nice touch. The Suite has period furniture to add to the ambiance. There is a sitting area at the front of the "lobby" on the second floor with TV, and there is also a small kitchen and laundry area as well. The hotel is run by the folks who also run the Underground Tour of Pendleton. By all means take the time to go on the tour. It's fascinating!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dwilhelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pendleton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton
1.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Pendleton
Oxford Suites Pendleton
#3 of 17 in Pendleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pendleton House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Pendleton Inn
Best Western Pendleton Inn
#2 of 17 in Pendleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
#12 of 17 in Pendleton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Pendleton
Hampton Inn Pendleton
#5 of 17 in Pendleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Working Girls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Working Girls Hotel

Property: Working Girls Hotel
Address: 17 S.W. Emigrant Ave., Pendleton, OR 97801-2129
Location: United States > Oregon > Pendleton
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Working Girls Hotel is owned and operated by Pendleton Underground Tours. In 1991, people on the tour would ask if any of Pendleton's 18 bordellos were still open? The tourists thought it would be fun to stay in one. Pam Severe restored and opened the W.G. Hotel in 1991, in one of Pendleton's old boarding houses (bordello) built in the late 1890's. Pendleton Underground Tours acquired the hotel in 1997. The Hotel has a suite and 4 other sleeping rooms all furnished in Victorian decor. Each room is unique. Hard wood floors, 18 foot ceilings and exposed brick walls make you feel as though you have stepped back in time, only with the luxuries of the 21st century. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing