We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly nice...except for one bad front desk manager....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pendleton
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pendleton
Certificate of Excellence
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mostly nice...except for one bad front desk manager....”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Everything about this hotel was really nice. Beautiful new rooms, spacious parking, warm cookies at front desk, wonderful beds. It is a beautiful place!
Now for the horrible part. Only one associate on duty to handle the evening check in rush. I don't mind standing in line and waiting my turn, right? But after the guests checked in front of me, the phone rang and the desk manager decided the phone had a higher priority than the guest standing right in front of her. The caller had specific needs and the call went on, and on through the reservation part, I waited patiently. Then the caller kept the night manager on the phone for directions and after a few minutes of this, I handed the clerk my id and card and asked to be checked in. She rolled her eyes and with as much attitude as she could, "Can't you see I'm helping someone else!?" I told her, "Well, I've been waiting here much longer than that person on the phone, could you get their number and call them back?" I then asked for her name, she refused to give me even her first name. I asked for her bossed name, she replied she was her boss. I demanded her Manager's name and phone number she refused. She called the police on me even though I never raised my voice or used any sort of profanity. She called my job and told them I threatened her and was acting like a lunatic. Police came and wished me a pleasant evening. The Manager came, treated me wonderfully and checked me in. and now I'm relaxing but upset in a beautiful room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garymeth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roni L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pendleton, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We would like to apologize for the bad experience you had at our hotel. We would like to invite you back and give us another try. If there is anything else I can do for you, please feel free to contact me any time at the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    78
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
76
55
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Room is spacious, clean, quiet, and good continental breakfast. There is ample free parking. Hotel is very close to Old Oregon Trail Hwy (I-84) and only few minutes away from Safeway and Walmart. Room has flat screen TV, microwave, coffee maker, and mini fridge. Free wifi too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank digipro78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roni L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pendleton, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, I will be sure to share you comments with our team at our next meeting. I hope you were able to enjoy our view of the beautiful Blue Mts. Please share us with your friends and family. We look forward to having you back as our guest soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here one night on our way to Idaho. The staff was friendly and gave us directions to the wool store and places to eat. The room was clean and exactly what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. We had a first floor room. It was pretty quiet. The pool looked nice although I didn't use it on this trip. The free breakfast was just fine too. It wasn't fancy, but it was just fine to hold me over until lunch.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpackerjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIX_Pendleton, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pendleton, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are all very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
86 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Pendleton for two nights in a tour I made of northern Oregon. I didn't make a reservation and was glad the a suitable room was available. It is not a cheap hotel, but it gave me good value. I got a quiet room on the second floor. The room was spacious. The bed was comfortable and I got a good night sleep.
The hotel does not have a lot of restaurants nearby, but driving to the next exit of I-84 to the west you can get to a bunch of restaurants.
As I said, the hotel is quiet, not being directly on I-84, but even then, a room a bit farther from the highway is bound to be more quiet.

Breakfast was standard, but on the first day, the woman attending the breakfast area was cheerful and inspired good mood.

I had wired internet socket in the room (I have my own network cable) and service was fast enough for my needs.

Overall, a good place to stay at Pendleton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhz_tlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIX_Pendleton, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pendleton, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are all very glad that you choose to stay with us while on your tour of northern Oregon. We are pleased that you had a good nights sleep in our spacious rooms. We hope next time your in town you will our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The property itself is newer, very HI Express in style. But the front desk staff were exceptionally friendly even though very busy, so we rated the motel higher than most chain experiences. Breakfast was pretty basic but adequate to start the day. This motel and the nearby Red Lion are good choices in Pendleton -- right off the highway, but up on a ridge with great views out over the Palouse countryside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJMJonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIX_Pendleton, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pendleton, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, I will be sure to share you comments with our team at our next meeting. We look forward to having you back as our guest soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Part of it was our fault for not making a reservation but when you are on a cross country road trip, you don't always know where you are going to end up! We got into the HIE in Pendleton late at night and they had just started a new Round Up promotion so the only room they had left was the handicapped room. We didn't think it would be that big a deal but it really was. The beds were fine but I couldn't sleep because every 20 minutes it sounded like there was a compressor going off on the wall near the bathroom. I know that it wasn't our air conditioner because that was a different sound entirely. The bathroom was a completely other matter - there was no tub/shower combo, nor was there even a shower with a door, it was just open room with a shower head on the back wall. We were so thankful to just have a room for the night but I would only try this place again if they had a regular room available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pendleton, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Hillary S,

I certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry you were not fully satisfied the conditions of the room you received. I have taken note of your valuable comments and these will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2012

After a harried journey to Pendleton for the Round-UP and a work assignment, I was unable to find a room. Though very busy herself, Rhiannon very promptly found me a room at a sister property. She was a very good example of outstanding customer service!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIX_Pendleton, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Pendleton, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy to hear your comments about Rhiannon I will be sure to share your review with her and our entire team here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pendleton hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Pendleton Inn
Best Western Pendleton Inn
#2 of 17 in Pendleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Pendleton
Hampton Inn Pendleton
#5 of 17 in Pendleton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Pendleton
Oxford Suites Pendleton
#3 of 17 in Pendleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
Red Lion Hotel Pendleton
#12 of 17 in Pendleton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Marigold Hotel - Downtown Pendleton
1.2 mi away
Pendleton House Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pendleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pendleton

Property: Holiday Inn Express Pendleton
Address: 600 S.E. Nye Ave, Pendleton, OR 97801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Pendleton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pendleton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pendleton
#6 Business Hotel in Pendleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Pendleton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express, Pendleton Hotel offers all of the great extra amenities without the extra cost now that's Staying Smart! Enjoy a full non-smoking facility with serene mountain views While staying with us you will enjoy a complimentary Express Start Breakfast served each morning of your stay featuring hot fresh baked cinnamon rolls, biscuits and gravy, eggs, sausages, ham, an awesome pancake machine, and our exclusive Express Start coffee. The Holiday Inn Express Pendleton sits in a cozy location nestled at the foot of the Blue Mountains. Easily accessible from Interstate 84 just off exit 210. Free high speed Internet, indoor pool and Jacuzzi. An exercise room and a Guest laundry room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pendleton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pendleton Hotel Pendleton
Holiday Inn Pendleton
Pendleton Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing