We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch Stop”

The Grateful Bread Bakery & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Pacific City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch Stop”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Nice lunch stop if you are headed on the Oregon 32 miles of backroad. Eggs, omelets, sandwiches, soups and salads. All fresh and tasty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank not2woryluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    63
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
WA State
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Delightful Grateful Bread is a mixed bag of service”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Cute name, clean place, great food. Our lunch experience was marred by a grumpy, inattentive grouch of a waitress. Although she looked like a kindly granny in the restaurant's trademark tie-dye shirt, there was no kindness to be had. Thank goodness, another person took over serving as we hadn't rec'd water or our drink order before food arrived w/new server. New server quickly brought drinks and apologized. New server helped us at counter with a yummy bakery order. Suddenly, the grumpy woman reappeared, snatched the check from pleasant, efficient server's hand and insisted on checking us out. As she handed me the slip to sign, she physically pointed to the line where it shows "TIP"...a real class act. Second server was excellent, first terrible, hence my "average" rating. When we return, we will ask for a different server if we get the grump again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pavla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Favorite lunch spot on the Oregon Coast”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

After several days of merely adequate meals in other towns, my husband and I stopped in Grateful Bread for lunch one day during a drive along the coast and were pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is very cute, very clean, and serves a wonderful lunch. The lunch menu was fairly limited--it would probably be more accurate to call it a brunch menu since there were more breakfast-style selections. We had a fish sandwich and fish tacos, both of which were tasty. Service was unhurried and friendly. The smell of baking bread filled the small restaurant and the bakery cases were filled with tempting choices. For dessert, we split a piece of fabulous chocolate cake. If we had not been staying several hours away, we would have come back. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank am1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
2 reviews
“WOW!!! Loved it all!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

What a GREAT place to eat! We were camping in Pacific City with two teenage grandsons along and each of us ordered something different. Each thought his/her choice was the BEST which prompted us to return the next day for yet another delicious brunch experience all around. You name it: best biscuits ever, gingerbread pancakes outstanding, French toast with Marionberry/apple topping out of this world, sausage scramble, YES!!! each artistically presented in a warm and casual atmosphere, exceptionally clean and well kept. Service outstanding with huge smiles; they even offered to charge our dead cell phone battery as we dined. It's definitely a MUST stop whenever we're in Pacific City.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
“Delicious meals, Excellent Service!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We visited the Grateful Bread twice during our stay in Pacific City. I wasn't sure what to expect as I ordered a breakfast meal of gingerbread pancakes with a side of bacon. Having had several negative breakfast experiences at other restaurants, I was understandably cautious. However, my concern turned into delight as the first bite excited my taste buds. Each dish was expertly crafted, almost as though an artist were designing each individual piece. This one in particular was topped off with a masterful display of jam and powdered sugar.

It goes without saying that you will be hard-pressed to find better service than at the Grateful Bread. Every step of the way, we were met with kind gestures and pleasant courtesy. I would highly recommend stopping at the Grateful Bread for at least one meal during your stay.

The second time we ate at the Grateful Bread, I did not bother worrying about an unpleasant breakfast. Instead, I was the first to decide. French Toast, please!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grateful Bread Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

Pacific City, Oregon Coast
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
 
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Grateful Bread Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing