We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Beach”

Pelican Pub & Brewery
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Pacific City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Pelican Brewery & Tap Room in Tillamook, Oregon is a 40-seat casual dining area that overlooks the brewery floor, open daily from 11:00am to 9pm. Brewery tours are available and the menu is Pub fare, with some unique items like Fried Cheese Curds, an Elk Burger, and Stout Ice Cream Floats, as well as our signature Clam Chowder and Fish & Chips. Bottled beer and draft beer to go are available along with Pelican merchandise.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“On the Beach”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This Pub has one of the best locations for a restaurant you can get. Right on the ocean at Pacific City, Oregon, with the Haystack Rock (not to be confused with Cannon Beach) right out front. There is outside seating and plenty of windows for the inside patrons. The Pub borders a beach where the fishing Dory's still launch in the morning and come back in the evening through the surf. This is very rare anymore, but if you are there at the right time, you can view this. All this is the best part of the restaurant. The food is typical Brew Pub fare. Nothing fancy. My husband did try their beer and pronounced it to be very good. If you have eating issues, which so many people seen to have these days, you may not find anything to eat on their menu that is not breaded, fried, etc. There was a little lady sitting next to us that couldn't find anything to eat except steamed rice and vegetables due to her special eating needs. The service was good. Our waitress was friendly, attentive to our needs, and food came in a timely manner. I would go there just because of the view. If you want to justify some of the guilt, walk down the beach a couple of football fields and climb the 500 foot sand dune. Views from the top are amazing. This beach is truly beautiful. A great place for photographers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellie196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    354
    162
    69
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average food, though great sunset”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

First visit, staff were great, second visit server was ok. The beer was a nice try, though seemed more bluster than content, beer should have a hint of hops not a bucketful!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank coachingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Short and Sweet answer... Typical Pub food.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We read the reviews before we chose which place to start with as we are staying in the Inn for 4 nights. We started with the Pelican. I tried the fish and chips and my wife had the nightly special of macaroni and cheese dinner the server suggested. The fish and chips were Pub grade average. My wife finished with the same comment on her meal. Stay with the beers and appetizers and go to dinner somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seattleduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chehalis Wa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Pelican is seriously underrated. I'm giving it 5 *stars* not only to improve the average but because I truly think it deserves it. The first night we arrived in Pacific city we went here for dinner. I was expecting regular pub food but boy was I wrong. We ordered the Rock Fish not you norm for a brew pub!

With a great first experience, we had to return for the next night and again, the food did not disappoint. Both nights we had very genuinely nice servers. This time we ordered Calamari, Portobello pizza . Everything tasted very fresh but it was the pizza that was the real winner, I recommend it! To top it off, we finished with a house made Dutch Apple Tart. I was in heaven.

Behind the Pelican is a former cook at Papa Hydens in Portland, an award winning restaurant for their food and desserts! I'm a big beer drinker the restaurant also has a ton of awards for their home brews. This is the place to go when you are in Pacific City!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newaukumgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Waited 20 minutes for a table but could not wait longer for a table outside. Server was prompt and took our orders for drinks and onion rings. Beer is always delicious and the rings were very good as well. Thought for those of us that do t do spicy..give us some mild dip as well!
Oysters were large, 4, with rice and Sewaeed salad. Good oysters but remember the PoBoy sandwich that was much better. I had Ceaser salad with shrimp ...very few shrimp and dressing watered down so not much taste. The burgers and Reuben sandwich were great and house salad beets beets are good. Expensive food but the views of cape Kiawand the dory boats, kite fliers, and surfers make for an interesting and fun view.
We drive down from Portland just to eat here and enjoy the beautiful Oregon coast.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patpett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican Pub & Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Pelican Pub & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing