We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay at Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pacific City
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Recent Stay at Inn”
Reviewed August 12, 2005

First off...Pacific City has awakened! When I was growing up in Willamina during the 50's and 60's Pacific City was a sleepy place with not much going on. At Cape Kiawanda there was a restaurant and of course the Dory Boats and that wonderful beach.

Secondly, your Inn is fabulous! The setting is perfect. The accommodation price seems to be reasonable. The staff is helpful, pleasant, and friendly. The décor is just right, the beds are comfortable.

Third, the Pelican is a great place, also friendly and accommodating.

My granddaughter and I had a great time. We really appreciated the 12 noon checkout. It allowed us the luxury of sleeping in and not needing to hurry in our leave taking.

I liked your Inn so much that I made reservations for my spouse and myself in mid December. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    142
    27
    13
    13
See reviews for
100
303
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2005

We stayed here for two midweek nights on the "Bed, Breakfast, and Brew" package. This package includes a coupon for a sampler tray of 4oz beers across the street at the Pelican Pub and Brewery and 2 "breakfasts" delivered to your room in the morning. I put "breakfasts" in quotes because you actually only get a fruit and cheese plate, orange juice, and cofee.
Despite what others have said, the rooms here are nice in my opinion. Marmoleum floors in the bathroom, gas fireplace, dvd, chocolates, and starbucks. The view is fine. You're overlooking a parking lot, the brew pub, the cape, and Haystack Rock. The best views are on the south side of the hotel, which we requested and received.
Upon check-in, there was a problem with our reservation. Apparently, the woman that i made the reservation with over the phone only had us down for one night instead of two. This could have been a problem if it was a weekend, but since it was Tuesday, it wasn't too much trouble until we tried to get into our room the second day and our keys didn't work anymore.
My main problems with this hotel are the noise and hence the overall value. The parking lot of the pub is cleared with a leaf blower every morning at 6am, so if your windows are open you will be woken up. A constant stream of summer traffic--including motorcycles and construction equipment--doesn't really subside until midnight. For the amount we paid, i would appreciate a little peace and quiet.
If you decide to stay in this motel, be advised that this is probably the dirtiest beach in all of Oregon second only to D River state park in Lincoln CIty. The nearby state park, however, is usually deserted by comparison.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank oregone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2005

We stayed three nights at the Inn after driving down from Cannon Beach. We were a little disappointed when we got to the Inn for the reasons below, but we ended up having a pretty good time none-the-less. We probably would not stay there again, but we certainly don't regret having stayed there this time around.

Here are the plusses and minusses:

value: the rooms were pretty basic and getting worn out (suprising for such a new building), and the hotel is NOT beachfront, yet it's priced as such.

atmosphere: the inn feels more like an upscale motel than a beach lodge- cold and commercial with little warmth. The attention to detail was very much lacking in the constuction and operation of the inn.

dirty: the beach had enough beer cans, cigarette butts, and other debris that it made me wonder if I'd been teleported to the Jersey coast.

pelican brew pub: pricey, but excellent beers and good food. we ate there almost every meal and throughly enjoyed it.

nearby attractions: the state park three miles south of the inn was wonderful (and totally devoid of crouds). The three capes scenic drive was breathtaking. Definitely lots to see and do.

room amenities: the room did have a fridge, microwave, dvd player, and plenty of space. The view was OK once you looked past the pub and parking lot.

noisy: between harley's driving up and down the road and heavy machinery in the lot accross the sleep... well, you better not want to get to bed early or sleep late.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank letsgocamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2005

Although we have stayed on the Oregon Coast numerous times, this was our first stay in Pacific City. The Inn at Cape Kiwanda has many good qualities such as nice comfortable clean rooms with extra touches that include a sitting area, comfortable bed, refridgerator, microwave, starbucks coffee, and a fireplace. Even though it is across the street from the ocean, the view can be quite breathtaking depending on which room you are in. If you are unfortunate enough to get one of the four rooms on the south end, your view could be partially obstructed by the brew pub across the street. The other rooms look over a parking lot but the views appear to be quite nice as there is a large visible rock in the Ocean and nothing but a parking lot to look past. There are conveniences such as the brew pub and eaterie across the street and a deli behind the hotel next to the RV park. The downside for us was that when I made the reservation I requested a room near the elevator, telling the clerk that I had a bad leg and it was difficult for me to walk. She said they assign the rooms at check in. I asked what time check in was and she said 4 PM. We arrived at 3: 30, checked in and were directed to our room which was at the end of the hall. I mentioned that I had requested a room near the elevator and she congenially said "Well, that didn't happen". No other possiblities were mentioned such as another type of room etc. The room was about as far from the elevator as you could get and quite a distance. When we got to the room we also noticed that it was one of the few that had a partially obstructed view from the brew pub below. We noticed that night that there was still a vacancy sign out in front of the hotel. The only other negative feature was the noise. I do believe that this was the noisiest hotel we have ever stayed in between the beeping and shoveling of the bobcat scooping up sand in the parking lot across the street during the day and the roar of loud mufflers in the cars back and forth on the street below at night. Most of these factors could be overlooked given the beautiful area and quality of the room if it had not been for the handling of the room placement. If you have a handicapped parking sticker because walking is difficult, it is difficult to understand why a request for a room near the elevator could not be granted if rooms were not preassigned and there was still a vacancy at the end of the night.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank harborWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 5, 2005

My husband and I had stayed at the Inn at Kiwanda a couple years ago and although it was nice the staff really needing some customer service training. Friends in Pacific City mentioned the hotel had hired a new General Manager so we decided to give it another go.
We are so glad we did! It was like night and day compared to our previous trip. We went mid-week and the staff kindly upgraded us to a jacuzzi room. As is sometimes the case on the Oregon coast we had some misty weather in the morning (which turned sunny later on) so we opened the balcony doors and turned on the fireplace and enjoyed a leisurely cup of coffee (Starbucks in the rooms!!! Yipee!).
The room was clean, the staff was wonderful, the beach was glorious. We plan to go back soon as the general manager has started a wine and cheese reception on Friday evenings in the lobby. They have a local 'celebrity' come in and chat with the guest. We couldn't stay that long but the Friday of that week was featuring an old time fiddler who also happens to be the local knife sharpener in town!!!
To Lonny (general manager) and staff. Way to go. We always felt this property had more potential and we were right!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 7, 2005

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn At Cape Kiwanda. Our room was above average and the locale perfect. The beach across the street is beautiful, and there are lots of activities to stay busy. We ate at the Pelican Brewery across the street. Really good beer and food was good-wasn't expecting a gourmet meal-good casual dining. Yes, there is an RV place down the street, but I'll have that rather than a bunch of touristy t-shirt shops, fudge shops, ice cream shops, seashell shops or jewelry stores any day.

Pacific City is undiscovered and I hope it stays that way!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 9, 2004

The front desk staff should have been our first clue to leave. We were made to feel unwelcome almost immediately. Not friendly or helpful. They claim to have "no excuses service that will ensure your every need is met for your best stay at the beach ever"- this certainly was not the case for our stay. Not many people were lodging during our stay; however, we were given a room on the second floor under a guest on the third floor which was noisy. The fireplace is on a timer which meant we had to continuously get up and turn it back on. Had we known that the heat for the rest of night would be so stifling we certainly would never have used it in the first place. The heat in our room could not be controlled and we had to spend the entire evening opening up both the front and back doors to allow cold air into the room. Of course this inn is located directly in front of a road with continuous traffic and when the doors are open it is incredibly noisy. We asked the front desk for help with the heat and was told to turn off the heat at the thermostats which of course we had already done, but that was all that could be done. The remote control for the tv was not working and the staff at the front desk could not fix this problem either. There are several places to stay along the coast, take my advice stay in one of those not here!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific City
0.1 mi away
Cottages at Cape Kiwanda
Cottages at Cape Kiwanda
#2 of 3 in Pacific City
50 reviews
16.0 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
769 reviews
14.9 mi away
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
#17 of 35 in Lincoln City
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,722 reviews
16.0 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,038 reviews
20.1 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 35 in Lincoln City
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn At Cape Kiwanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn At Cape Kiwanda

Property: Inn At Cape Kiwanda
Address: 33105 Cape Kiwanda Dr, Pacific City, OR 97135-8012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Pacific City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pacific City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn At Cape Kiwanda 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Cape Kiwanda is located just steps from the beach in beautiful Pacific City, Oregon. This 35 room boutique hotel features all ocean-view rooms; each is equipped with a gas fireplace, private balconies facing the ocean, flat screen televisions, pillow top mattresses, luxurious bedding, microwaves, and coffee makers. Cruise the laid back beach town on the complimentary beach cruiser bikes, stay in on a rainy day and watch complimentary DVD movies, also enjoy the Friday & Saturday night fireside managers reception where they will be serving Pelican beers, fine Oregon wines, sparkling apple ciders, and fruit and cheese platters from 5:30-6:30pm. On-site is the ocean view mini-spa where you may schedule a massage, manicure, pedicure, or facial. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Inn At Cape Kiwanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Cape Kiwanda Hotel Pacific City
Hotel At Cape Kiwanda
At Cape Kiwanda Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing