We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat1”
Review of Fat Freddy's - CLOSED

Fat Freddy's
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Description: Do try to time your trip lunch or dinner here. This is stepping back in time to a family-run diner that has all the family there and fantastic hamburgers. It is very individual and very reasonable.
Lincoln City, Oregon, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good place to eat1”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I love the milk shakes and floats. Love the people who work there but wish they were open more.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    7
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mcminnville or
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Overpriced For A Burger Place”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We were led astray a little by some of the recent reviews. The burgers were from frozen patties and while served on a sesame bun and with the usual condiments the price of $6.75 was excessive. They even tacked on an extra $.20 for the additional slice of tomato I requested. The fries were good. These guys are taking full advantage of the tourist trade.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scmort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Burgers and fries like the oughta be”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My Bacon Swiss Mushroom burger was fantastic, with that unmatchable fried-on-a-greasy-grill flavor. The fixings were crisp and fresh, including the mushrooms (NOT canned) which were sauteed to a slightly chewy, perfectly caramelized mahogany, just the way I like them.

The coup 'de grace on this burger, however, was the bacon. Typically, bacon on a cheese burger is cooked limp (or, god forbid, pre-cooked and warmed on the grill.) Freddy's cooks fresh, thick-cut bacon to a crispy well-done brown that some folks might consider overcooked, but that I think creates a rich, nutty flavor and "meat crouton" crunch that's the perfect contrast to a moist burger and crisp veggies.

For the full review, please visit: http://burninlovebbq.wordpress.com/2011/06/06/fat-freddys-diner-review/

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BurninLoveBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and clean, horrible service!”
Reviewed June 28, 2010

After playing at the beach and forgetting to check this site for a place to stop for lunch, we stumbled up Fat Freddy's.
It's small, but kept up very well and very clean with a lot of fun, old photos on the wall, which was fun to look at while we waited. We had a large party, 8 total, 4 children, 4 adults and they seemed a little irritated that we had such a large party?
We were seated right away and given menus but waited about 15 min. until our server (a very grumpy man) finally came over and asked in a very rude way if we were ready. I asked for ice water right away and he let me know he would get it after taking our food order. The prices were very high ($14 for fish and chips; $8 for a BLT, $6 for a milkshake)
After he took our order, we waited another 5 min for water, my husband got up to ask for it and the man said "I'll bring it when I get to it!". We finally got it, but never got any refils.
The food was very good! HUGE burgers.They have a pretty cook walk up window for To Go orders and we'll probably eat there again, but get it to go and will bring our own water!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rigbyroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Local Joint”
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Fat Freddy's is a local fast food joint known for their shakes and burgers. For those who want some seafood along with their beef patties, Fat Freddy's also serves up some house made clam chowder that's not too thick and not too salty and loaded with large pieces of clam. The prices are steep, so pad your wallet. Service is slow, even with a handful of employees standing around. We've had better seafood for a better price in Newport, and Newport seemed like a bigger tourist trap than Pacific City. Unfortunately, Burgerville makes a better, tastier, meaner shake than Fat Freddy's. Stick with the clam chowder and order it at the Take-Out window.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brunswick1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Freddy's also viewed

 
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
 
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing