We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very slow service”

Delicate Palate Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Delicate Palate Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Pacific City
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pacific Ave
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very slow service”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I would try the bar menu next time. the service in the dining room not worth the wait for gourmet?? food.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BandBmomDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    19
    7
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have eaten here twice when I've visited friends in Pacific City. We eat on the bar side, rather than in the dining room bc there's a $20 per plate price difference. The bar is very tiny, the dining room huge (complete with table linens, etc). The last time I ate here (a week ago) there were ten people total ordering food all night & the service was SLOW. The other 4 members of our party were served before I got my crab cakes.... 10 mins after everyone else. The cakes were not seasoned well, nor were they hot. The dessert was good, however, and they make a good cocktail. Next time, we'll eat at home & go there for a nightcap.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeeshB503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neskowin, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food and experience”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I ate at the Bistro for our 29th wedding anniversary. We found the web site and the menu and read many reviews. Although there were some negative reviews most were very positive. We decided to try it and we are glad that we did. It is located just off the main road through Pacific City, next to a hotel. Inside the restaurant it is unpretentious and simple. Linen table cloths and basic decorations adorn the dining room. It all works, at least for us, we love this kind of place. If you are looking for all the bells and whistles of a fancier restaurant, usually with marginal food, pass this by. The waitress was pleasant, helpful and welcoming. We started with a tomato salad and an apple and gorgonzola salad. Both were wonderful. We then had the boulibase and the pork as the main entree. These were brought to our table steaming hot and the portions were generous. The tastes were exquisite. The curry boulibase had a coconut theme to it with pasta noodles. The pork was seared beautifully and had a nice crust on it. It was served in a sauce that was slightly sweet. It came with fingerling potatoes and asparagus. The combination of the pork and the sauce made each bite delectible. We finished off the evening with a fruit crisp and coffee. The meal was leisurely, the ambiance was comfortable, the service was excellent and the food was superb. We will be back to try the other menu items. Don't pass on this place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA State
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Not what we expected...”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were referred to the Delicate Palate and checked out their gorgeous website. It looked scrumptious, was priced well, so we made reservations. Finding their location and parking wa squite a challenge. They are located in a decidedly unappetizing, run-down motel. Their dining room has no real entry and you go directly in among a few dozen tables of startled diners. We were rushed into the bar area as they wrongly assumed we did not have reservations. At that point, we no longer cared to dine in their dining room anyway. Hubgry, we decided to have a drink and appetizers. It seemed there were several others like us who had been shocked upon arrival and retired to the bar. One bartenbder attempted to serve us all with a smile and apologies. Our drinks were great, appetizers delicious, but surroundings were dated and uninspired...and then there was the motel outside...ugh. The Delicate Palate deserves a better location, they could be great with just a little more polish.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pavla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The service was a little slow, but the food was Fabulous!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The service was so so. The wine was good and the food was Fabulous! Cant wait to go back next year! Nice that they have a casual side as well as a fine dining side.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Delicate Palate Bistro also viewed

 
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Delicate Palate Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing