We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hell's Canyon is an amazing place and what a way to see it!”

Hells Canyon Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$177.00*
and up
Hells Canyon Jet Boat Tour
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Oxbow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hells Canyon Adventures offers jet boat tours, fishing charters, and shuttle services at the South Entrance of Hells Canyon. Hells Canyon is the deepest gorge in North America!
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hell's Canyon is an amazing place and what a way to see it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Hell's Canyon Adventures allowed us the opportunity to do a partial day jet boat ride up the canyon from Hell's Canyon Dam. It was awesome! We saw bear, Bald Eagles, Big Horn Sheep, and gorgeous scenery! We also learned a lot of cool history from our jet boat driver, Bruce. Hell's Canyon is the deepest gorge in North America and the only way to see it is by going in it and Hell's Canyon Jet Boat rides are an amazing way to experience it if you don't have 3 or more days to raft it. I highly recommend taking a Hells Canyon Adventure jet boat ride!

Helpful?
2 Thank Mustangsalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    8
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

My family went on a trip down Hells Canyon NRA on the Snake River to Wild Sheep rapids, took two hours down and back. We easily navigated the various rapids, stopped at a settlers cabin/hut, and saw wildlife along the way, including several black bears. Mark did a great job as our guide, good stories, interesting history, and very entertaining. We got the trip thru living social (like Groupon) and were treated very well even though we were the only ones on the boat that day (a Monday). Trip there from Boise was about 3.5 hours and there was no cell phone reception for the last hour, very remote! Good roads but winding and somewhat narrow. Wonderful journey with enjoyable views, fun for all ages. Recommend highly!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lead63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermiston, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best trip ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Gosh, what can I say? We had a BLAST!!!!! We saw a bear, an eagle, a coyote and bighorn sheep on our one-hour trek down and back on the Snake River in Hell's Canyon. Hell's Canyon Adventures did an awesome job talking about the canyon and its history. We even got to go over class 4 rapids. It was so much fun! Be sure to wear comfortable clothes that you don't mind getting a bit wet cuz you will get wet!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't have had a better time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Hells Canyon Adventures is great. What an amazing group of people! I have been down the Snake river many times before. Sometimes on my own family trip and other times we go with HCA. I wouldn't go with anyone else. They take care of you. It is a wild and scenic river...things can and do go wrong. Knowing that will make your trip that much better. Think about where you are when you go...you are in the deepest canyon in North America! No cell service, etc. We have had HCA shuttle us back up the river on several of our summer floats. AWESOME ride. And winter trips...those are just plain fun. Not as busy and there is so much wildlife to see. If you are preparing to take a trip down the Snake, please be aware of your surroundings and of what you are planning to do. Plan your trip accordingly and be ready for the greatest ride of your life!!! I love the Snake River...and the people who live and work on the river. HCA! You can't get any better than they are.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We were in the first group picked up the day the boat was running late. We have used HCA for several years and Mark has always been on time. We knew there must have been a problem and he would do eveything he could to get to us as soon as possible. We spent the extra hours enjoying the canyon, the weather and and being with friends we don't see very often. When Mark got there he expained that the starter had gone out on the third engine and it takes several hours to fix it. We have been rafting long enough to know that schedules are not always able to be met due to unforseen circumstances. Weather and mechanical problems can cause problems and delays at any time. We allow for that.
I feel HCA runs a very responsible operation and we will continue to use them to shuttle us for our raft trips on the snake.

Thanks,
Scott

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hells Canyon Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Hells Canyon Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing