We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at Otter Crest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Otter Crest
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Otter Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Fantastic Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My favorite beach escape by far. Remote, quiet, and beautiful...lovely sandy beach that most people do not visit (lots of steps to get down to the beach). There are seals and tons of birds.

My favorite beach escape by far. Remote, quiet, and beautiful...lovely sandy beach that most people do not visit (lots of steps to get down to the beach). There are seals and tons of birds.

My favorite beach escape by far. Remote, quiet, and beautiful...lovely sandy beach that most people do not visit (lots of steps to get down to the beach). There are seals and tons of birds.

My favorite beach escape by far. Remote, quiet, and beautiful...lovely sandy beach that most people do not visit (lots of steps to get down to the beach). There are seals and tons of birds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0screenname0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    117
    40
    26
    26
See reviews for
103
151
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Montana
Level Contributor
158 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Its been a few years since we have been at Otter Crest..#132 this time. It has been very well maintained over the years. We had a small 1 bedroom with oceanview from the balcony and it was comfortable for 9 days. Nothing over sized about this condo, but enough room for 2 people to move around, one to nap and one to read, and eat breakfast and lunch in if you want. Actually the Fred Meyer deli in Newport is good enough to provide dinner entrees to microwave.

It was clean, quiet (off season) and the desk was very helpful. Unlike several years ago, they now have 10 pm to 8 am quiet hours.

Room Tip: Wifi is a little dicey in Building B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleecebrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed just one night and loved it. We usually stay in Cannon Beach, but our fav place was booked, so I looked for an alternate. View is very important to us, and the Inn at Otter Crest did not disappoint.

We had a King Panoramic View Room. The only thing it lacked was a fireplace, although I understand many of the other rooms do. I loved the soaring cathedral ceilings and the floor to ceiling windows. It was wonderful to sleep with the balcony door open to hear the ocean sounds.

The service to the room and back was done via cart and driver. It's nice in a way to be transported around, but I think I like the freedom of coming and going as I please better. I believe the units are all privately owned, and they limit vehicle traffic to preserve the ambiance of the inn.

In small matters, I was surprised there was only one small garbage can in the room. The bathroom was very small, and there were some stains on the carpet. These things did not impact our enjoyment of the facility.

In the morning, we took a walk on the private beach, but the tide was still too high to cover the area. It was still beautiful and peaceful, and I recommend it highly. The price was also quite reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImaNebraskaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

It seems as though they re-did a lot of the hotel. The rooms were nice and clean, very beach-house-ish, it has more charm than the average hotel. The bathrooms were TINY, but thats fine, how much time do you spend in a bathroom... They were very nice to us and I loved our stay! Wake up early to see the harbor seals!
The outside elevator to the shore was super old looking, but it was perfectly safe. It was an adventure in itself.
I would Return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy60056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel at least every year for the past 3 years, and I love it. While it's not a 5 star resort, it's a wonderful place with a lot of charm and natural beauty. The staff and rooms are lovely, and the added price for the ocean view is definitely worth it. The pool was lovely, and there are many adventures to be had down by the tidepools! The rooms were beautifully decorated, and the whole resort had the perfect mix of being family-friendly but still romantic for couples. In tourism, it's all about location, location, location, and this place definitely has it. It's a short drive to explore towns to the north or south along Highway 101, and the drive is absolutely stunning. I highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a beautiful, inexpensive place to stay.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms are a little lower quality, but still have lovely views of the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylorscanvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon House, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This resort has it all: Wonderful rooms, each with an ocean view, a very special beach below, a new restaurant serving lunch and dinner, beautiful grounds, very helpful staff.

The beach below has some of the best tide pools on the Oregon coast in addition to harbor seals who sun bathe at low tide.

Room Tip: This resort is also great for those with access difficulties in that the reception staff will take g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I just stayed a week at the Inn as a timeshare exchange. We cannot say enough about this gorgeous property. The location is stunning and perfectly located to explore north and south to some jaw dropping spots. The beach in back of the Inn is picture perfect and a beautiful spot to see what the coast of Oregon has to offer. The grounds of the Inn are stunning, lush, green, and very rainforest like. Through a short trail, you can walk over to Devil's Punchbowl State Park and walk down to that beach as well. The State Park Beach is a great spot to explore caves, tide pools, watch surfers, and just ponder the magnificence of this spot on the world's map. As to the unit, we had a hotel room which has a small kitchen area with a toaster, etc. The room was a bit outdated but very clean and with a view like we had -- who cares! We highly recommend this beautiful Inn; the staff are outstanding and exceptionally nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otter Rock
2.4 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
12.3 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#1 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Otter Crest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Otter Crest

Property: Inn at Otter Crest
Address: 301 Otter Crest Loop, Otter Rock, OR 97369-9707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Otter Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Otter Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Otter Crest 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Otter Crest is an affordable oceanfront condominium style hotel set on 35 beautiful acres on Oregon's Central Coast between Newport and Lincoln City. It offers a wide variety of room accommodations to fit different group sizes and budgets. It is a wonderful destination for weddings, events or reunions - and affordable for a spontaneous romantic getaway! Bring the family to enjoy the panoramic views, explore tidepools and stroll through the forest to the village of Otter Rock to taste Flying Dutchman wines or enjoy clam chowder at Mo's West. Visit the Inn at Otter Crest for a quiet retreat and enjoy the outdoor heated pool or relax on your own private balcony and ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn at Otter Crest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Otter Crest Hotel Otter Rock
Hotel At Otter Crest
At Otter Crest Hotel
Inn At Otter Crest Otter Rock, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing