We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeshare Exchange”
Review of Inn at Otter Crest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Otter Crest
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Otter Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It is a matter of timing...the restaurant is closed, the work out gym is being refurbished and the walls are paper thin. The building we stayed in is older. The bed was comfortable and the pillows acceptable. Earplugs can help with the neighbors when they are having a conversation that is even slightly excited. We awoke an hour earlier one day thanks to the neighbor's kids. But mostly people really try to respect the need for quiet. We are in a second story studio. We don't have the noise of people walking over our heads. The beach is close and there is the Devil's Punchbowl State Park within walking distance (10 mins?) from the hotel. We thought New Year's Eve would be a fun time to be here, we were a bit surprised at how few guests there are, and no activities that the hotel sponsors, like we have enjoyed at other timeshare resorts. Thankfully, there is a great sports bar the locals enjoy which we just happened upon. Szabo's. It is fairly close in Agate Beach and the cuisine is great price for great food. Seafood, specials, steak, and sandwiches. It is not a pizza place. We were there during the Fiesta Bowl and the place was full of mostly local folks who got together to enjoy the game on the big screen tvs. If you don't feel like being a 'tourist' this is a great bar/restaurant that is VERY kid friendly. Many families present to watch the game. I don't know if we would stay here again, our room was the furthest from the ocean, looking out over the Tennis courts...with Otter Rock visible (that was a neat site) and a little of the ocean. We could hear the ocean at a distance, but not as much as we would have liked. We booked this online about 10 months in advance. The staff is helpful and friendly. It was fairly easy to find with many places nearby for the naturalist and ocean enthusiast. We loved walking the beaches, visiting the Yaquina Bay Lighthouse, and the aquarium on Newport. Great location. We also enjoyed having a guest stay with us on the sofa bed for a night. That was fine. I am not sure we would stay here again, given other timeshare possibilities on the Coast of Oregon, but it is a possibility. The TV was old (square and not flat screen)and small (25"? if that big).

Room Tip: We had a corner room, that was a benefit for quiet and second floor is highly recommended if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McTundra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 375 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great view for the price we paid, and saw an amazing sunset from our deck. service was good (quick check in and out, great dinner recommendation). Some things could use a tiny bit of updating, but really it was a nice place and we enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is gorgeous for sharing memories. With steps leading down to the beach, fireplaces, it's beautiful. Wish the price could be a little lower in the economy that we live in, but if you can swing the cost, it's well worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

If you imagine what a resort on Oregon’s rocky coast should look like, The Inn at Otter Crest and Otter Rock Timeshares is what your mind’s eye will envision. The buildings and stairs were well maintained but showed expected evidence of the coastal weather. The gardens and landscaping were beautifully manicured. While we were there, we observed several units being completely refurbished. The location was central to the coastal sights we planned to visit during our week in Oregon. Walks to nearby Beverly Beach and Devil’s Punchbowl State Park offered activity when we chose not to venture away by car. Our room, as nearly all do, had a wonderful frontal view of the Pacific Ocean offering whale watching, spectacular sunsets, and sleeping to the sound of pounding surf. Since the resort was built on a hillside, we were told that guest parking was in an area a long steep distance from our unit and that a bellman would ferry our luggage via golf cart and would be on call if we needed transportation to and from the parking area. Since the restaurant was closed and resort occupancy was minimal, we opted to park in the small restaurant parking area. This would not have been permitted had the restaurant been open. A hillside tram provided an alternative to stairs when going to and from the restaurant and pool area. It saved steps when carrying loads to and from the car. The tram was convenient especially for guests who have difficulty with stairs. During the peak season, long delays would be expected. Our studio unit was clean, basically a motel room. It was reserved as having a partial kitchen which was a tiny galley with a few dishes and utensils, a toaster, a microwave oven, and a refrigerator. The bathroom sink served a dual purpose. The three-bedroom unit next door had one room over our unit and was very noisy when people walked around overhead. Free wifi was provided but connection quality only fair in our unit and at times not available at all. Would we stay there again? The minor detriments aside, considering the location and overall appeal of the resort, definitely!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick73_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We wished we'd discovered the Inn at Otter Crest 10 or 20 years ago. The setting on a loop road off Highway 101 is very quiet & lovely, but only 5 miles from Depoe Bay & 8 miles to Newport for shopping, dining & recreational activities. This stretch of Oregon coastline is incredible with a small beach, tide pools, sandstone cliffs, towering fir and spruce trees and lush undergrowth.Just 970 paces through the trees to the village of Otter Rock & Devil's Punch Bowl. Our mini suite in building B had the most incredible 180 degree view I've ever experienced in oceanfront lodging. Very comfortable bedroom, small kitchenette & bathroom. The best feature is the living room with jumbo sliding glass door & adjacent 10 x 12 foot window with an extra pair of windows extending up to the cathedral ceiling. Private balcony with 2 casual chairs & table. Very well maintained landscaping, warm outdoor pool & spa, sauna & wind sheltered deck. Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Buildings A, B & C are closest to the cliff for the most dramatic whitewater views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We found this place while looking for low-priced places on the OR coast in one of those booklets from rest stops. when we got there, we were pleasantly surprised with the place. all rooms have balconies, and our room was spacious with lots of light. the price was very good for a place right on the water. there is a tram to take you from one level to another (since it's on the cliff) but you can also walk the alleys. stairs put you on the beach with nice tide pools and lots of harbor seals. we saw gray whales every day also. there is a sauna and a pool - protected from the wind, thank goodness. unfortunately their restaurant is closed until further notice - it would be nice to be able to dine right on the property. still, a great value and a beautiful setting. we just got there with no reservations and they had rooms.

Room Tip: higher floors have better view of the ocean; try to get one with sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed there in mid-August 2012 and the view from our room was fantastic. The rooms were about average but were clean. The tram only worked for a few hours the days we were there which could be a problem if you weren't in very good physical condition because it is a very hilly set-up. Upon check-out the golf cart driver who takes you up to your rooms and back never came after 20 minutes so we wound up walking down to our car which was an inconvenience due to having to bring our suitcases downhill the hill. The tidepools on the beach were awesome and we spent hours there on both days. All in all it was a nice stay as just the view from our room and balcony made it a very enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otter Rock
8.2 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
2.4 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 4 in Depoe Bay
374 reviews
6.6 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
7.7 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
923 reviews
6.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Otter Crest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Otter Crest

Address: 301 Otter Crest Loop, Otter Rock, OR 97369-9707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Otter Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Otter Rock
Price Range: $67 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Otter Crest 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Otter Crest is an affordable oceanfront condominium style hotel set on 35 beautiful acres on Oregon's Central Coast between Newport and Lincoln City. It offers a wide variety of room accommodations to fit different group sizes and budgets. It is a wonderful destination for weddings, events or reunions - and affordable for a spontaneous romantic getaway! Bring the family to enjoy the panoramic views, explore tidepools and stroll through the forest to the village of Otter Rock to taste Flying Dutchman wines or enjoy clam chowder at Mo's West. Visit the Inn at Otter Crest for a quiet retreat and enjoy the outdoor heated pool or relax on your own private balcony and ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Otter Crest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Otter Crest Hotel Otter Rock
Hotel At Otter Crest
At Otter Crest Hotel
Inn At Otter Crest Otter Rock, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing