We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sharing a secret about a very special place.”
Review of Inn at Otter Crest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn at Otter Crest
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Otter Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sharing a secret about a very special place.”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We wished we'd discovered the Inn at Otter Crest 10 or 20 years ago. The setting on a loop road off Highway 101 is very quiet & lovely, but only 5 miles from Depoe Bay & 8 miles to Newport for shopping, dining & recreational activities. This stretch of Oregon coastline is incredible with a small beach, tide pools, sandstone cliffs, towering fir and spruce trees and lush undergrowth.Just 970 paces through the trees to the village of Otter Rock & Devil's Punch Bowl. Our mini suite in building B had the most incredible 180 degree view I've ever experienced in oceanfront lodging. Very comfortable bedroom, small kitchenette & bathroom. The best feature is the living room with jumbo sliding glass door & adjacent 10 x 12 foot window with an extra pair of windows extending up to the cathedral ceiling. Private balcony with 2 casual chairs & table. Very well maintained landscaping, warm outdoor pool & spa, sauna & wind sheltered deck. Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Buildings A, B & C are closest to the cliff for the most dramatic whitewater views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    118
    41
    27
    26
See reviews for
105
155
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We found this place while looking for low-priced places on the OR coast in one of those booklets from rest stops. when we got there, we were pleasantly surprised with the place. all rooms have balconies, and our room was spacious with lots of light. the price was very good for a place right on the water. there is a tram to take you from one level to another (since it's on the cliff) but you can also walk the alleys. stairs put you on the beach with nice tide pools and lots of harbor seals. we saw gray whales every day also. there is a sauna and a pool - protected from the wind, thank goodness. unfortunately their restaurant is closed until further notice - it would be nice to be able to dine right on the property. still, a great value and a beautiful setting. we just got there with no reservations and they had rooms.

Room Tip: higher floors have better view of the ocean; try to get one with sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed there in mid-August 2012 and the view from our room was fantastic. The rooms were about average but were clean. The tram only worked for a few hours the days we were there which could be a problem if you weren't in very good physical condition because it is a very hilly set-up. Upon check-out the golf cart driver who takes you up to your rooms and back never came after 20 minutes so we wound up walking down to our car which was an inconvenience due to having to bring our suitcases downhill the hill. The tidepools on the beach were awesome and we spent hours there on both days. All in all it was a nice stay as just the view from our room and balcony made it a very enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
251 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, you drive down off the main road into a lovely secluded area with nice gardens. The rooms seem to vary greatly, the friends who were with us had a room in the same building but their room was very different to ours with more amenities. Our room had very tired decor, and felt very out of date, but did have a lovey view of the ocean. We looked into other rooms as we passed and the doors were open, and some of them seemed to be completely updated, even with kitchenettes, so I wonder if some of these are on some sort of timeshare or privately own?? The location is lovely though, you can walk down to the beach below the hotel, or over to Devil's Punch Bowl State Park. The Restaurant we were told was only open for special events, so we drove a short distance to Depoe Bay and Newport for our meals. We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice.

Room Tip: Maybe request an updated room? Our room, 244 in building J was very outdated. They do seem to vary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esd3104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILWAUKIE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

First time staying here and it was pretty nice. Had just a small room with two Queen beds. had a small view of the Ocean, but it was enough to see the Whales swiming by. The walk to Mo's through the trees was nice, but unless you are younger, drive over to it as were in building V and nothing was mentioned about taking the tram instead of the stairs to get to the lower level and back up. We didn't find out about the tram until we were at the hot tub and took it back to our level and it was much better than the stairs. Didin't have much noise for a Friday night, which was nice. The only thing I would have liked better, was the hot tub could have been a bit warmer, but for the price on a Holiday weekend we were happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfcpsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Otter Crest. The first time our room was a little nicer, but this one was okay too. The hotel grounds are amazing and they different types of flowers and plants make it seem like you are somewhere tropical. There are walking paths all around and steps (lots of steps!) leading down to the beach. The view from our room was partial, but enough to be able to sit on the deck and emjoy the ocean view. It's a very quiet and relaxing place to stay and that's what brought us back the 2nd time. The most important thing for us is a comfortable bed and this one was pretty good. The hotel itself is in need of some renovations, but that is expected on the coast with the weather. The cost of the room seems to be the same all year round and for the price, its a great stay!

Room Tip: Even with a partial view, you can still see the ocean and enjoy the ocean sounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bludog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I read every review out there for this property before booking it. I talked to the manager to verify who the owners of the property were due to the reviews of a switching with the management. I did not want to ruin my families vacation with a dump. And to my surprise the Inn at Otter Crest surpassed all my expectations.

Driving into Otter Crest reminded my husband and I of driving through Kauai and Maui. Large mature trees, unique large plants as well as beautiful wild flowers surround you as you arrive and walk through the immense grounds. After checking in, we were escorted to our car by the bellman and his huge golf cart. He helped us load a weeks worth of family luggage and food then off we went to our room. The grounds are laid out where you park in the parking lot then walk or be escorted via golf cart taxi to your room. There is even a electric tram that takes you up from the bottom level where the pool is to the 4th. After walking up the stairs all the way the first day, I definitely know why they have it. The kids thought it was the most incredible think in the world to have at a vacation. If you and your family like to Bike, it would break your heart to not bring your bikes, we did and never will forget it again. There are large paved paths that wind all through the massive property.

We were there the end of August and the flowers everywhere were beautiful. The property is set high on the bluff so the view is utterly breathtaking. We first arrived at our condo, it was in Building A mini-suite #119. Very clean and updated, however it is better suited for a couple with no kids who do not need a full kitchen and room to spread out. After we had unpacked I called the front desk to see if I could check out a full size suite. I then looked at and was moved to Building AA #189. The first unit was $120 a night for a ocean view mini suite the second room was $210 for a full ocean view and you cant even compare the two in size. Very tasty decorated and updated. This unit had a loft upstairs with a king size bed, closet, dresser and Tv. Below was a full and stocked kitchen, full bathroom, dining table, 2 recliners, sofa couch, tv with VCR/DVD player. Switching to a bigger unit was worth every penny for our family of 5. Perfectly clean!

The pool area is right out on the bluff with beautiful view of the ocean. Warm outdoor pool and hot tub. Unfortunately the spa tub was out of order because some stupid person stuffed some clothing down the filter and broke the motor. They were currently working to fix it. Pool area could use a new paint job, but my kids didn't complain and I enjoyed one of many lawn chair loungers watching the ocean while my kids swam.

I talked to the manager about the bad reviews, she said when they took over they put all the privately owned condos that they rent out on a rating scale "A, B, C". She said they usually don't even rent out the lowest ranked "c" rooms unless they absolutely have to. They can't make the condo owners update their units, so just make sure you ask for a "A" level room and you will be perfectly satisfied.

The beach was amazing for its tide pools and caves to explore. My boys were in heaven, and I have never seen so many starfish in my whole life. Forget Lincoln City, Seaside & Cannon Beach, We can't wait to come back to the Paradise of the NW.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank RachelleLay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otter Rock
2.4 mi away
Whale Cove Inn
Whale Cove Inn
#1 of 5 in Depoe Bay
357 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
8.2 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Inn at Arch Rock
Inn at Arch Rock
#3 of 7 in Depoe Bay
268 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,709 reviews
6.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Surfrider Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Otter Crest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Otter Crest

Property: Inn at Otter Crest
Address: 301 Otter Crest Loop, Otter Rock, OR 97369-9707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Otter Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Otter Rock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Otter Crest 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Otter Crest is an affordable oceanfront condominium style hotel set on 35 beautiful acres on Oregon's Central Coast between Newport and Lincoln City. It offers a wide variety of room accommodations to fit different group sizes and budgets. It is a wonderful destination for weddings, events or reunions - and affordable for a spontaneous romantic getaway! Bring the family to enjoy the panoramic views, explore tidepools and stroll through the forest to the village of Otter Rock to taste Flying Dutchman wines or enjoy clam chowder at Mo's West. Visit the Inn at Otter Crest for a quiet retreat and enjoy the outdoor heated pool or relax on your own private balcony and ocean view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire and Hotel.de so you can book your Inn at Otter Crest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Otter Crest Hotel Otter Rock
Hotel At Otter Crest
At Otter Crest Hotel
Inn At Otter Crest Otter Rock, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing