We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and Quirky!!”

The Highland Stillhouse Pub
Ranked #2 of 112 Restaurants in Oregon City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fun and Quirky!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We love to go in the summer. We sit outside overlooking Willamette Falls far below. The food is good but not exceptional. The atmosphere is great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank livedalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    59
    18
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Reservations Required”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've been to the Highland Stillhouse Pub about 5 times and each time something bad happens. The first time my Cottage Pie was served still frozen. The second time one person never got their dinner while the rest of us ate. The third time my husband was with us and he's in a wheelchair so we had to sit at a table next to the front door and we froze as people came in and out. The fourth time we sat upstairs near the bathroom where men and women were entering the single use bathroom at the same time. Funny actually. But this last time we went there on Dec. 30 about 6 pm, was the worst. There were 4 of us and there were two tables over on the left side so we sat down. The waitress brought us our menus. Then at the table next to us, two wiatress sat down for a few minutes to eat something. A few minutes later, another waitress came to our table and told us the table was RESERVED along with the table next to ours. There were NO reserved sign on the tables. There were no tables downstairs so we went upstairs. There were people at many tables the the other good tables were marked RESERVED. So we grabbled a place near the bar. It wasn't a table--it was like a piece of furniture. There was NO place to put your legs, and the stools were high and the table was low. It was the most uncomfortable experience. We were there for over an hour and some reserved tables filled up but one did not. No one was at that table when we left. When we've been there before, we've never encountered Reserved tables so this must be something new. At least our food was good, served hot, and served all at the same time. So I would suggest if you are going to this restaurant and there are more than 2 of you, it would be best to Reserve a table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzEQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic British pub atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Dark, cozy and out-of-the-way. Very much reminds me of pubs in England and Scotland. The beer, cider and whiskey/scotch collections can't be beat. Menu items are authentic, too. Don't miss it. One point off for those who can't take just a little dirt.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeresaAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
161 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cool place. Decent food. Less than average service and value.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I will start off by saying the place has an awesome deck and is a very cool two story building with lots of personality. Reminds me of a mcmenamins. The food was above average pub food but pub food nonetheless. The service wasn't great. Food was a bit pricey and no refilled or discount on refills for soda!! Also seems to be a soccer bar and there is lots of whiskey for those who like that. I would recommend the bar aspect more than going just for the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Haggis Balls!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The staff is so friendly in this fantasticaly appointed Scottish Pub. From the hand carved dark wood to the stained glass skylight and comfortable seating this place wins. The wiskey wall is out of this world. The rotating selection of beer is surpassed only by the fact that ALL servers can tell you about the places that brew them as well as the type of beer and complimentary food pairing. The food is excellent, all made onsite with skill and care. Seating for families downstairs, bar upstairs and a deck for people with dogs. Not to mention a stunning view of the river and falls. Well worth a trip to Oregon City.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaeGumienny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Highland Stillhouse Pub also viewed

Oregon City, Clackamas County
Oregon City, Clackamas County
 
Oregon City, Clackamas County
Oregon City, Clackamas County
 
Oregon City, Clackamas County
Oregon City, Clackamas County
 

Been to The Highland Stillhouse Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing