We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can see the covered wagons from the road”

End of the Oregon Trail Interpretive Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.70*
and up
End of the Oregon Trail Interpretive Center Admission
Ranked #3 of 44 things to do in Oregon City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Official End of the Oregon Trail in Oregon City, Oregon. The visitor center is a state welcome center with free travel information, itineraries, and brochures. Also find the country store gift shop and visitor lounge with complimentary coffee and tea. The interpretive center offers the "Bound for Oregon" featured film, genealogy assistance for descendants of pioneers, and exciting and interactive exhibits that include period games and crafts like candle dipping and making a rag doll or journal. Outside the Interpretive Center, enjoy the heritage garden, a guided walk of one-thousandth of the trail, and Abernethy Green with pioneer lawn games and 24/7 signage implementing smart phone technology.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
289 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“You can see the covered wagons from the road”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a very interesting place to visit to get a really good idea of what it might have been like to come to Oregon in the covered wagon. In the summer, a lady is dressed in period costumes, and she spins tales about her trip over the country to arrive in Salem. Highly recommend it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jeannecass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    20
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
414 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“worth a stop if you are already driving by”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

we stopped and it looked deserted and run down,we did see that one building looked open we went in and it is a visitors center a nice woman asked if we needed help I told her we were hoping to see the museum ,she said that all that was "abriviated" ( the vistors center was it),we looked around and it was nice,we looked at things ,then we walked out side looked around(not much to see) the museum building looked to be in bad shape and unused( i hate to think of things that were likley donated to the museum in there not being cared for )
we were there for less than one hour and saw everything ( we were walking slow and trying to see what was to be seen with kids I bet 15 minutes is all this place would take
if you are going to be near this I would drop in but would never have this as the destination, it was free which makes me like it a little more had I paid I would have been very annoyed
for what it is worth we learned very little about the Oregon trail

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank simpleyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helens, Oregon
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great For Kids”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I took my grandkids there! the kids can dress up as pioneers and they can sit in a conestoga wagon as if they are headed to the Oregon Territory. A great learning experience about "How The West Was Won."

Helpful?
3 Thank Grandmago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friedly, Fun & Informative”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Really liked how knowledgeable the staff was. Interesting things to see and the price was right-FREE!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hard to rate”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were here on the 18th of Sept. and the place was shut down only painters were around.
Was very disappointed the only thing we could do was walk around and read a few signs. The could be a geat place if people would only take and interest.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank travelers201168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed End of the Oregon Trail Interpretive Center also viewed

Oregon City, Clackamas County
Oregon City, Clackamas County
 

Been to End of the Oregon Trail Interpretive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing