We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned to this Hotel but somewhat less favorable experience the second time around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ontario
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Returned to this Hotel but somewhat less favorable experience the second time around”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Returned to this hotel because it was a perfect half way point to our final destination. Hotel is nice, they even give you ear plugs just in case you need them. Many reviewers seem to be under the impression that this hotel is brand new. It is 4 years old. The breakfast was disgusting, in particular the omlet and the bacon was full of fat and grease. The pancakes were very good. There was one thing that totally turned us off and it is not the fault of the hotel by any means but something for travelers to think about when they are on the road. Some gypsy men were viewing porn on the computer in their business area when we walked in to use the computer. If you have children accompany them to the computer to make sure the person who was using it before you, did not visit any of these porn sites. The hotel has filters on the computers but the gypsies were somehow able to bypass them. Just the though of them sleeping at the same hotel gave me the creeps. I was worried about our car being broken into and didn't sleep well because of it. Sorry if this sounds politically incorrect but they are not the most law abiding people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QUILTSHOWSISTERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress212, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and breakfast. I personally apologize that your experience during your stay did not live up to the standards that we strive to uphold and the experience you have previously had. We value all of our guests' feedback and use it to evaluate what we can do to improve our hotel as well as our staff. When the front desk became aware of the situation, the guest was spoken to and was not allowed to use the computer any more, as we understand the impact this can have on other guests, especially those traveling with young children. We truly strive to provide the best service possible in all aspects, including food service. While we are delighted you enjoyed the pancakes (which is a fairly recent addition at all Holiday Inn Express hotels) I apologize about the omelets and bacon. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you in person to make sure I have addressed each part of your stay. Thank you for your honest feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    84
    10
    12
    3
See reviews for
51
64
17
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Had a quick overnight stay in eastern Oregon due to a death in my family. The hotel was clean, staff was great at check in, next to highway no noise, but hotel gave ear plugs in case of need. Was not needed at all. You can't go wrong, pricing is high for this property and area, but again it was worth it!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiceydig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress212, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your review- we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Arriving very late at night we were greeted with a smile by Richard. Check-in was smooth and Richard listened to our needs and bent over backwards to accommodate us. The rooms are very clean and tidy...the origami skills of the housekeeping staff were appreciated. Housekeeping was respectful of the "Do Not Disturb" sign in the morning, something that is becoming more and more rare. The bathroom was in great working order with an adjustable shower head that was actually adjustable. The shower in the morning was worth the price of the room alone.

Upon returning home I had a question about the charges as they appeared on my credit card statement. The staff was clear and concise in the explanation of the various charges and was friendly throughout the whole process. I highly recommend the Ontario Holiday Inn Express. You can't go wrong choosing this hotelier for your travel needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress212, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Ontario, Oregon! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The rooms are very nice in this relatively new spot. Large rooms, and really outstanding decorated bathrooms. Huge cast iron tub, nice towels. Comfy and clean. Alittle tough to get to on the frontage road, turn at the light at Taco Bell. Large breakfast area, I'd stay away from the paper thin bacon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank made_of_food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress212, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property and let us know how your stay went. We are delighted that you had a good experience and were able to get to us with our location. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here after a long, long day of driving. All of us were ready to crash and get a good night sleep (a few hours since we got in closer to midnight) before heading out early the next morning. However the heating/cooling unit was extremely loud and didn't seem to really work as the room was stifling hot all night long despite setting the control to cool. The night was spent not being able to sleep at all! All three of us were tired and cranky in the morning and had to really get them to apologize for not being able to get sleep in a place that is meant for sleeping due to their wall units. The rest of the room was nice, comfortable beds, etc. But honestly would not stay here unless I could check out the wall unit first to make sure it worked properly and wasn't overly noisy.
We also had a hard time finding the hotel. Its easily seen from the freeway but located off side roads that aren't well marked unless you know where you're going.

Room Tip: Make sure the A/C unit works and doesn't sound like a freight train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpress212, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property. As for our Heating/AC Units, we sincerely apologize that you and your family did not get a good nights sleep. We have since been working with our maintenance team and a local professional team as well and we have made adjustments to the units to decrease the noise significantly. We hope when you return that your stay will be more enjoyable. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact the Front Desk Manager, Joe, or the General Manager, Chris at anytime. We truly hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burns, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I stay at this hotel frequently, and mostly it is great. Comfortable beds, good TV and internet service. Staff is friendly and efficient.

Only drawback it the heating/cooling units. In all of the rooms I have stayed in, they only run on one speed, High and loud. Can't hear the TV over the fan unless you turn the sound way up. Light sleepers will have a problem when the unit cycles on and off during the night. I usually turn it off because it drives me nuts. (and yes - I do get cold/hot depending on the season.)

Still - a nice place if you don't mind the gale provided by the heater/cooling unit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed for one night on a road trip. Hotel was not busy, but front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Room was clean and bed comfortable.
The breakfast room was clean and the food was the best I have experienced in an HIE. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ontario hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 10 in Ontario
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#2 of 10 in Ontario
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 10 in Ontario
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn and Suites
Red Lion Inn and Suites
#7 of 10 in Ontario
113 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ontario Inn
Ontario Inn
#5 of 10 in Ontario
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario
Address: 212 SE 10th St, Ontario, OR 97914-3836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Ontario
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ontario
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in Ontario, Oregon provides comfort & convenience. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Ontario, Oregon. Our Ontario hotel is halfway between Portland, OR and Salt Lake City, UT, making it ideal for all travelers. Families looking for lodging in Ontario, Oregon will love our smoke-free hotel, located off I-84 and 50 minutes from Boise, Idaho. We are close to local attractions, including Four Rivers Cultural Center, Old Fort Boise, Rinehart Stone House Museum and the Oregon Trail Agricultural Museum. Nearby sights and activities include the Ontario Golf Club, the Vale Murals and the Farewell Bend State Recreation Area.Business travelers will be impressed by the comfort of our Ontario, Oregon accommodations. We offer easy access to companies such as Heinz Frozen Foods, AmeriCold Logistics, Holy Rosary Medical Center and the Oregon Bureau of Land Management. Treasure Valley Community College is just down the street. Our new hotel in Ontario, OR also provides a 24-hour business center with fax, copy and print services and free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. While lodging in Ontario, Oregon you can enjoy upscale amenities including an indoor pool with whirlpool that opens to an outdoor deck with a relaxing waterfall and a Great Room with a cozy fireplace. Also, there is a 24-hour fitness center and a delicious Express Start breakfast. So Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ontario
Ontario Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ontario Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing