We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Motel 6 Rice Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Rice Hill
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakland
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The front desk staff was very nice, the room and complex were clean. The room was equipped with a microwave, frig and of course TV. I don't think I've stayed at any motel in the last 10 years that didn't have a wall mounted hair dryer, mini coffee maker and clock/radio. This room did not have any of those things. I was able to get a hair dryer from the front desk and they serve coffee in the lobby in the AM, however no decaf which unfortunately is a must for me. Regardless of those few things it was a nice room and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcknrll01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    15
    9
    10
See reviews for
21
20
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
267 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A previous Best Western property, this motel had a few more amenities than the typical Motel 6. It is a typical motel layout with two floors. We chose a room toward the back and with the pool structure in front of the room so as to avoid the noise from the constantly running trucks at the truck stop across the street. With the windows closed and the air conditioner on we could not hear the trucks. The friendly front desk clerk gave us a coupon for a discount at the Denny's restaurant by the truck stop. Coffee was served by the front desk in the morning until 10 a.m. The pool was not open and has been closed for maintenance for several weeks. The price was reasonable and the motel was sufficient for one night.

Room Tip: Toward the back of the motel behind the pool structure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siletz, OR.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The price was excellent. Staff was extemely friendly. I was pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the bed was. we were only in the room for about 7 hours, but was still worth the price. Easy access to the freeway made this a no brainer at 12am.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We chose this motel for the price, and the fact it advertised free wifi. When we checked in the desk clerk said the wifi would take awhile to load...like never. Finally, she gave us a booster for our computer, which connected us part of the time, but then the speed was so slow, we couldn't do much. Our computer is new, and loads fast everywhere else, it was frustrating. This Motel 6 was conveniently located for our activities, Denny's closeby, quiet surroundings, so I would recommend it, just don't plan on getting online.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ava W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This motel did not start out life as a Motel 6.... You can expect very large rooms, microwave and a refrigerator, coffee in the mornings... If you are a swimmer there is an olympic heated pool, and a weight room attached... Rooms were clean and the beds were good... Ice machine needs a lot of TLC...

Room Tip: Rice Hill is a truck stop, so rooms towards the back of the motel are the most quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
225 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This property is ideally situated for an enroute overnighter, no frills or thrills but reasonable value. Would definitely consider staying here again during my travels in the area. Friendly staff and comfortable accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaPheonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

As far as a Motel 6 goes it was fine. The rooms were reasonably clean. Just be aware that there are no extra's. No tissue, no shampoo or conditioner. Staff was pleasant. Alot of truckers, and late night people, don't expect quiet. You get what you pay for at the price. We would stay there again if back in that area, just better prepared for the Motel 6 experience. The price is equal to the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMAH89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Hartford Lodge
21.7 mi away
Best Western Garden Villa Inn
21.7 mi away
Windmill Inn of Roseburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Village Green Resort
Village Green Resort
#2 of 4 in Cottage Grove
545 reviews
22.0 mi away
Quality Inn Cottage Grove - Eugene South
10.8 mi away
Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR
Motel 6 Sutherlin, OR
#2 of 2 in Sutherlin
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Rice Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Rice Hill

Property: Motel 6 Rice Hill
Address: 621 John Long Rd, Oakland, OR 97462-9590
Location: United States > Oregon > Oakland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Rice Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Motel-6, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Rice Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oakland
Rice Hill Best Western
Motel 6 Rice Hill Oakland, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing