We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money and skip this restuarant!”
Review of Hilltop House

Hilltop House
Ranked #5 of 54 Restaurants in North Bend
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Save your money and skip this restuarant!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have lived here 35 years and the decor has not changed! Just recently visited and was not impressed. Service sucked, waaaaaaay overpriced for what you get. The prime rib had a huge blob of fat on it so the cook was too lazy to trip the fat. Only six vegtables! 2 pieces of carrot, 2 pieces of bean and 2 pieces of squash! Seriously! The bourbon sauce was old and the garlic mashed potatoes were powdered! Drinks were awful and the cake was old and dry. My bill was $70.00....not worth, please don't go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Roxane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    34
    13
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
208 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Food & Atmosphere....OK Service However!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is one of my all time favorite restaurants. The food is always excellent, from steaks to fish to the great onion rings. The decor is dated, but that adds to the atmosphere for me (I LIKE IT) .
The service is usually very good. Up until this time I have always had better than excellent service.
This waitress was not very warm and sincere. This waitress did not offer us the usual bread dish, which is excellent. She did bring us this after we asked for it.

After we were finished with dinner, she never thanked us for visiting them, and basically ignored us as we left.

This is possibly not "bad" service, but far below the service we always receive there.

I felt there was no appreciation for our business, no personality, she did not make us feel special, and no encouragement to ever go there again.

We will got there again, but if this same person is our server, I will leave .

PS... Worst of all, this waitress is one of the owners of the restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow service for the money.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was charged $175 for my meal, and the weight staff TOLD me that I owed her a $25 tip. I feel like I was robbed and the food was not the best that I have ever tasted. I would like to inform people that going here was the worst experience that I have ever had when it comes to a restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquille, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Overpriced, lukewarm and mediocre food. This place rests on its location and reputation. The decor in the dining room is motel-like and while the view is spectacular, the rest of the experience doesn't measure up.

Helpful?
2 Thank dandysandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place other than service!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The food rocked my mouth like a 1980's party, but the service was gross. The waitress, Daisy I think was her name, was horrible

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasongratigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilltop House also viewed

 
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Hilltop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing