We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well equipped, clean and convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in North Bend
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Well equipped, clean and convenient!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Driving down Highway 101 along the US Westcoast we made a last minute decision to stay here for one night. We got a good deal and could enjoy a large double room with two double beds, tv, coffeemaker, iron w/board and free wifi. Breakfast included. Shops and supermarket within walking distance. Several restaurants as well. Absolutely fine place to stay at an absolutely reasonable price!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about our Quality Inn and Suites. Many of our guests comment on our close location to the mall with its restaurants, theatre and shops. We hope the rest of your trip to the US was memorable and we hope you come back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    149
    89
    45
    31
See reviews for
135
144
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Location was convenient. The staff did not acknowledge my Choice Hotels membership.The accommodations were OK, though the price was a little more than we expected to pay for this "not-too-special" motel. Some of the hallways were scuffed. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding our Quality Inn and Suites. We apologize that there was a misunderstanding about your pet and that you did not have a good experience at the hotel. We have checked and the Choice Hotels website does prominently state the policy of the hotel, which is a 25 pound limit on the size of dogs. Also, we took the extra step to call the Choice reservation center and they do make it a point to state our policy when guests make reservations. Once again, we apologize for the misunderstanding and we will pass on your concerns to Choice Hotels. We hope that your travels will be safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Just imagine traveling once a month every month for years and selecting Choice Brands Hotels where you expect a standard of friendliness and reasonable policies on pets. We traveled all day to North Bend after using Choice Rewards points for a one night stay. When checking in, I experienced rude behavior and an unexpected dog weight restriction on a pet of 25 pounds. However I was advised by "Theresa" that I could lie and say that I have a service dog or pay a $350.00 fee for an oversize pet. The other option she said was to leave my dog in the car. The worst part of it was that when making the reservation, we were not told of their 25 pound pet policy and then they would not cancel our reservation! We lost our Choice points and we had to go hotel shopping again late at night with a screaming baby to boot. I'm very ticked and I recommend that you read all of these reviews before staying here. It's just terrible!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments regarding our Quality Inn and Suites. We apologize that there was a misunderstanding about your pet and that you did not have a good experience at the hotel. We have checked and the Choice Hotels website does prominently state the policy of the hotel, which is a 25 pound limit on the size of dogs. Also, we took the extra step to call the Choice reservation center and they do make it a point to state our pet policy when guests make reservations. Once again, we apologize for the misunderstanding and we will pass on your concerns to Choice Hotels. We hope that your travels will be safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Bend hotels

Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a large older property that has been/is being updated. Location is a convenient base to explore the tri-city area of North Bend, Charleston, and Coos Bay. The lobby and breakfast area are very nice with pictures of the Coos Bay bridge and other sea port scenes. We received a warm welcome from the hostess at the front desk and she had a bag of snack type goodies for us since we were staying with our Choice Privilages points. We also were able to upgrade to a larger room with a pull out couch. We were able to park right out side our room since it was on the ground level with 2 outside enterences. The wi-fi gave us some trouble at first but eventually straigtened out and worked fine. The bathroom had the vanity outside and was plenty roomy and clean. The bed was very comfortable and clean. My main complaint and the reason I couldn't give a Very Good instead of Average rating, is there was a strong musty smell I assume was coming from the carpet. I really liked the hotel and hoped the smell would go away but it just didn't. I reported it to the front desk when we check out and they said they would look into it. The only other sub par factor was the breakfast. The food was just average and they started putting it away 15 min before it was supposed to end. We had our food but cleanup was happening while we ate. It was a Tuesday morning though so that's probably part of the reason. The breakfast room itself is very neat with a unique nautical theme that make you feel as if you are on a ship. We only ate there one of the two mornings we stayed though because of the food. There is a McD's close by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WtrflGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write about our Quality Inn and Suites. We’re pleased that you received a warm welcome from our staff and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize that every aspect of your stay did not meet your (or our) expectations and we will use your comments to better train our staff to make our hotel better. We hope the rest of your trip on the Oregon coast was a pleasure and that you will return to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunaoue
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are traveling on a fall vacation taking advantage of the Choice Hotels fall promotion. Two visits, get one free. We intend on using free nights on the more expensive weekends.
Meanwhile, this visit is at the Quality Inn in Coos Bay, Oregon. It's on a large 5 acre lot, 96 rooms. We initially reserved a suite (upgrade), but also wanted it on the ground floor so loading from and to the car would be easier. No such luck, so we settled for room 108 on the end of the first wing. It was very roomy with access doors on either end.
Bed was King size, carpet seemed a bit stained, but not aweful. Bath room was a bit dated with vanity as a separate area. The tub/shower knob was loose - very typical of zinc inserts with set screws that loosen. A materials selection flaw that faucet manufacturers keep making for decades because zinc is about 5 cents cheaper, and a mistake that this hotel made in buying them to save a buck, but now have to tighten 96 of these stupid knobs every month.
Nice courtyard lawn for the dogs to run around. The complimentary breakfast area was a refreshing surprise because it had a nautical theme to the room architecture.
The past 4 visits to other inns were consistent in that the staff was amazingly accommodating. The visit was no different.
Minor shortcoming was there were a bunch of wet leaves in the parting stall (it's autumn) the should have been cleaned up.
In all it was a nice visit, I'd visit again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tunaoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about our Quality Inn and Suites. We always enjoy hearing from our satisfied guests and we’ll make sure to pass on your comments to our staff. Also, we'll look into the loose shower knob and address that problem promptly. As you mentioned, this is the time of year when the leaves fall on the Oregon coast and the turning colors of the leaves make this area even more beautiful. We hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable and that you will return to see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEAVERTON
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is in North bend, about 1/2 mile off of highway 101, in a shopping center. The staff was great when I checked in, recognizing my Choice Hotel membership, giving me a goody bag and giving me a room on the end where I could park my motorcycle right in front. The room was large and comfortable, the bed was good. The only slight problem was the wifi was a bit erratic. The breakfast was good, scrambled eggs, waffles, bagels, fruit, etc. Even the hotel coffee wasn't bad. It was quiet and they even included a clip to make sure the curtains closed completely. I liked the hotel and would stay there again when in Coos Bay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, d at Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your great comments about our Quality Inn and Suites. Our guests really like the fact that they can park right outside their rooms and they really enjoy the large rooms and hot breakfast in the morning. We hope that the rest of your trip was enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again on your next cycle trip down the coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was a really nice hotel. Jen, who checked us in was so nice and being Choice Hotel Diamond members upgraded us to a really nice large room which was also close to our car. Oh and a thank you bag with treats in them. Nice!!

Some of the highlights of the room (besides nice bed, clean and quiet) was the clip on the curtain -- to hold it together and also weigh it down for the heat to go into the room -- not up behind the curtain. Nice touch for such an inexpensive item. The shelf under the mirror in the bathroom -- you could place all your toiletries on it and keep the counter clean. Again, nice touch.
I would recommend this hotel to all my friends

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJHardy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim M, Director of Operations at Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for such nice comments about our Quality Inn and Suites. One of the real advantages of our hotel is that you can pull your car up to right outside your room, so no long trips from the parking lot. We’ll make sure that Jen is made aware of your compliments and we’re sure she will be pleased. Hurry back and see us again when you are on the beautiful Oregon coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bend
2.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
3.4 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
23.6 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
22.8 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay
Address: 1503 Virginia Ave, North Bend, OR 97459-2724 (Formerly Comfort Inn Coos Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > North Bend
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in North Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay is a hotel on the beautiful Oregon coast that offers spacious, comfortable rooms near some of the most popular golf courses, state parks and visitor attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Coos Bay Hotel North Bend
Comfort Inn North Bend
Coos Bay Comfort Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay Oregon/North Bend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing