We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dining With An Exceptional Bay View”

Plank House Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 54 Restaurants in North Bend
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charleston, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dining With An Exceptional Bay View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Dining at the Plank House Restaurant (themillcasino.com) with an unobstructed view of the Bay of Coos Bay is exceptional, and is equally matched by the menu prepared by the new Executive Chef, Mark Henry. Local sauteed Matsutake Mushrooms, Frisee & Mache salad, Pan Seared Black Cod, Braised Short Rib with parsnip puree finished off with a Chocolate Torte Pyramid was a great way to introduce the new Executive Chef. If you've never eaten at the Plank House it's definitely a must, and if you eaten here previously it's worth another trip back and taste the difference.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    86
    46
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We used to love this restaurant up to 3 months ago. How it has changed. We had the thanksgiving turkey dinner. Be thankful you didn't. The turkey was rolled and rubbery, the gravy was brushed on, that was all you got. The potatoe, well, i have eaten better glue than that. The brussel sprouts were so hard my fork tines wouldn't go into them. The pumpkin pie was raw and runny. So they subbed a pecan pie for us. All i can say is that it was light yellow and the consistency of gorilla snot. We had to ask for our rolls, we never got a roll side plate. Even the pop was some unknown brand that tasted worse than Shasta cola and the coffee tasted soapy. Never again. We are writing this restaurant off our list of destinations as the new management and new chefs have ruined it.

Helpful?
2 Thank Annette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Reasonable prices, good food and a great view of the waterfront are three good reasons to eat at this restaurant

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had the crab artichoke appetizer, 1/2 chef's salad, and seafood mix seved in a bowl (not sure what it was called). The crab artichoke was good; the salad so-so; the seafood mix was VERY, VERY bland. The waitress agreed and brought out some bay seasoning to spice it up; it helped; but really, should you have to ask for spice to flavor a $20 signature dish?

The loaded, bake potato soup was cold; the waitress offered to give us a free dessert that we declined. No offer was made to discount the dinner or give us a gift certificate to try them again.

We have eaten here three times and this is our last.

I would HIGHLY recommend Benetti's or the Coach House if you are looking for a good place in Coos Bay/North Bend area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GregAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talent, or
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A sure bet don”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Don't be put off by the fact that it's in a casino (the Mill Casino) nor by the "ordinary" folks around or serving you. Top notch seafood with a pro presentation (We had oysters Rockefeller and crabcakes).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plank House Restaurant also viewed

North Bend, Oregon Coast
North Bend, Oregon Coast
 
North Bend, Oregon Coast
North Bend, Oregon Coast
 
North Bend, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Plank House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing