We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel! Will Stay Again!!”
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed February 23, 2010

After arriving in Newport to the Shillo Inn which we had booked a deluxe suite three days in advance to arrive to a wrong dirty room and very unfriendly staff we hurried and called the hallmark which was originally booked when we were calling hotels. The woman at the front desk was very helpful. She felt bad about our trouble and gave us a little discount plus a coupon to the wax works which we visited. The hotel itself is beautiful. The room we had was a 2 queen suite with a wonderful ocean view. It was more then enough room for my spouse and our 2 year old son. They have a wonderful pool and from our floor you didn't have to go outside to access it you just went through a hallway which connected which I think is great so my son didnt have to go out in the cold after swimming!! It was very quiet and it has super easy beach access. You just follow a little trail down. We ate at their restaurant called Georgie's which the average price for a meal is 18-20 dollars which im sure is about the same as others? It was very good food but slow service. We had to wait about 20 minutes to get a table. The elevators worked great and the staff at the desk was SO friendly and helpful. I called 3 times to ask different questions about things around the town. The room was very clean and the beds were super comfy. We will def. stay here again!!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank kgnsmommy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,966 - 1,972 of 2,061 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2010

We stayed at the Hallmark Resort for a week and loved the resort! We split our time between a King Suite and a standard room. Excellent, excellent customer service!! The view of the beach was spectacular and breathtaking. Great location. The bed & pillows in the King Suite were awesome ... very, very nice!!! Very pleased with the Hallmark and will return without a doubt!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerenityRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed 2 nights and had a great time. The staff are friendly and responsive to any needs. We stayed in a King suite with a jacuzzi hot tube that was pet friendly. The accomodations are clean and neat. There is great beach access and a view worth alot more then they charge. The resort is very pet friendly and leaves a basket in your room with treats, toy's and cleaning supplies to keep up after your pet and leave the room in good order. The onsite restaurant Georgie's had great food and was very accomodationg with me picking up the food to save to room service charges.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liswal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

Stayed here in October 2009. Geat location with geat views of the beach. Access to the beach is via a set of steps leading down from a central area. Room was spacious and clean. I experienced a problem with Internet access from my room and the front desk staff was extremely helpful in getting the problem solved, even suggesting that they could move me into a different room if necessary. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
1  Thank curley6710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The hotel has a great location right on the beach in Newport. Our room was close to the stairs down to the beach. The stairs may be a problem for those with limited physical ability, but were fine for our family.

We were in a patio room with two queen beds. We were told that the room had been used by others with pets, and we could notice a slight pet smell in the room. The front desk offered to either move us to a different room or shampoo the carpet again. Since we really liked the location of our room, we just got a box of pet carpet deodorizer and sprinkled it around and that was enough for us. We loved the room overall. We had one with a gas fireplace, which we used quite a bit after being out in the cold water.

The pool at the hotel was wonderful. It was nice and warm and felt good after being down at the beach.

The only irritants were other guests who walked their pets right up on our patio area to do their "business", and the guest a couple of floors up who threw their cigarette butt off their balcony and down onto the area right in front of our patio.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VT20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was a good place to stay for a two-night trip. Well located near the sights of Newport without being overrun.

Nice outdoor areas with amazing views of the beach and cliffs. Recommend a patio room for those who like to take walks.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lissaspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Although not impressed of the Hallmark from the outside, we waited to form an opinion until we saw our room. Relegated to an old, unrenovated room because our of dog, we were so appauled by the stains on the carpeting, that we requested another room. Of course, for more money, they moved us to a better room. Although the room was large with a sitting area and 2 queen beds, the room itself was quite laughable. We joked that it was decorated by a blind person--mismatched spread, draperies, sofa, carpeting and the pink formica was something out of the 70's. We had an extra TV in the superior queen queen room but couldn't sit on the sofa because we literally slid off the cushions. Being on the ground floor, it was convenient to take our dog out but unfortunately everyone else did the same, and our dog growled constantly, hearing so many noises. There is NO soundproofing between floors. I complained to the front desk and was told they are planning on correcting the problem. The "elephant" above us, clomped across the room between 8-10 at night and also played ball with her dog, we could hear the dog running as well as the bounceing ball. All of these sounds were so annoying. Our few days were cool so we did appreciate the fireplace although our friends stayed the following week when the temperatures were 80 degrees, and they were miserable with no fans or a/c. Luckily for them, they stayed in the newly renovated upper floor unit with a great view (on the ground floor we had no view). The hotel sits high on a bluff and the walk up and down to the beach was quite exhausting (the hotels in Cannon Beach are directly on the sand).

The front desk recommended April's at Nye Beach for a special dinner and they were right on--what a delightful meal. All of the people at the front desk were extremely pleasant and helpful.
We also thoroughly enjoyed lunch at the port at Local Ocean--the most delicious meal of our entire trip. (panko crusted fresh cod).

Our stay in Newport followed 3 glorious days at an upscale pet friendly lodge in Cannon Beach. so we arrived expecting a comparable experience. We were so disappointed with the town and accommodations, that we seriously considered leaving a day early. We concluded that there is no reason to stay in Newport when Cannon Beach is just a few hours north (unless you are driving the coast and need a stopping point). The town of Newport has zero character--a long strip of tacky motels and strip malls. The seaside is lovely but overall, the town has no appeal.

Before booking the Hallmark, check out Elizabeth Street Inn--it almost next door to the Hallmark but looked really nice (they don't allow pets).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldenJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
931 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $142 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing