We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hallmark is Comfortable, Clean, can't beat the views”
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hallmark is Comfortable, Clean, can't beat the views”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stay at the Hallmark at least once a year for a conference we attend. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and very comfortable. The views are spectacular, of course. There is a great lounge area for big groups to hang out together. The meeting rooms are typically spartan but adequate for the purpose. Best of all, The Hallmark is right next to Georgie's, our favorite restaurant in Newport!

Room Tip: We have always had a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonipoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, Front Office Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
tonipoet,

Thank you for your recent review of the Hallmark Resort! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations and that Georgie's Beachside Grill is your restaurant of choice when visiting Newport! We hope you will enjoy the new look of our banquet and meeting spaces and look forward to seeing you during your next conference or leisurely visit!

Amanda Maddox
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    391
    79
    38
    12
See reviews for
525
871
49
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Midweek in December is a fabulous time to escape to Newport for a romantic overnighter. We got the best room of all - 565. Top floor, south end of the building. Enclosed deck with south and west view to the ocean, king bed, Jacuzzi tub. The lighting and décor are soothing and tasteful. Very good value! There is absolutely nothing we would have changed to make our stay better.

Room Tip: Top floor; don't be afraid to ask if their limited edition rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reeltravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, Front Office Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
reeltravelers,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in room #565. The top floor corner Limited Edition King spa room is one of the most requested rooms at the Hallmark and I am so glad you were able to enjoy it on your romantic getaway! The corner rooms are very special and can only be reserved by making reservations through our friendly and helpful reservations staff! Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Amanda Maddox
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We spent three nights over a recent holiday weekend in a fourth floor king/spa room. What a view - watching our fireplace and the ocean beyond from our two-person spa! I really appreciated the well placed lighting sources all around the room. Rarely find this in any hotel. The staff was accommodating and very friendly. Our room was above the pet area. Apparently lots of pet owners smoke outside while their pets attend to duty and the smoke rises up into the room.Next time we will request a room away from that area.
The only negative for us was the spongy pillow top bed. We mentioned this to staff. They quickly sent maintenance up with a thick piece of plywood which helped a bit. The front desk staff told us new beds are the next project.
We totally enjoyed our stay in this clean nicely decorated property. Loved the quick room service from restaurant next door!! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 241Arctic-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, Front Office Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
241Arctic-gal,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us over the holiday. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the convenience of ordering room service from Georgie’s Beachside Grill! I do want to apologize for having to endure smokers on the west side of the property. We do have no smoking signs posted in that area, and inform all guests that we do not allow smoking on the ocean side of the resort. I am happy that we responded quickly to help ensure your restful night sleep and look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Amanda Maddox Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

the decks are not totally private. It is a two person jacuzzi suite with everything you could want but to our surprise, while thinking we had total privacy, we happened to see our neighboring hotel guests peeking over at our room. It was a family with a child or two - and the first we noticed was a child - then later the dad, While it would be difficult to climb over the small divider wall - we started feeling like this could also be a security issue. My husband called down to front desk to complain. To their credit, they did send up two maintenance men with a sheet of plywood that they quickly put in place to solve the problem. While this was the only negative about the place, it keeps us thinking twice about returning since we would always be "that couple who needs the sheet of plywood installed".

We travel frequently, love the coast, and always book 3 night stays wherever we go...but we are kind of picky about our privacy. We did find that the Elizabeth Street Inn does have totally private balconies - but no restaurant on site like the Hallmark Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeDee45210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
DeeDee45210 ,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our deck configuration. When the building was constructed the decision was made to allow for the panoramic view rather than creating full walls between the decks which would obstruct the view. Having said that, we are happy to set up a temporary wall as we did for you for anyone that has concerns. Please don’t worry about being “that couple” as it is our pleasure to make whatever accommodations we need to for all of our guests, that is why we are here. Thank you again for the review and we do hope to see you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

And affordable for a clean nicer property. They just did a huge remodel and things look good. Prices are reasonable for oceanfront properties. They are welcoming and the restaurant is a good breakfast option with loads of waterfront viewing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
OregonBliss,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the renovations and breakfast at Georgie’s. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I selected the Newport Hallmark Resort based on staying in their other hotel in Cannon Beach last summer.
The ocean front view is great: ocean straight out front and the Yacquina lighthouse to the north. The rotation of the light from the light house both day and night is fascinating... Very nice interior. Good beds. Very helpful and friendly staff who "went the extra mile" for us. Great swimming pool and jacuzzi just right. I was the only one using the pool and jacuzzi at 9:30 at night. (Nice!) Maybe deserves more stars-??- compared to the landscape/setting/gardens at Cannon Beach- the overall property is OK. (Much nicer landscape/gardens at Cannon Beach Hallmark Resort. I came to Newport with very high expectations.)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77Cather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
77Cather,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. It is great to hear you have had the opportunity to stay at both of our properties. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in Newport. I agree with you on the landscape issues. Unfortunately Newport has some unique environmental challenges to growing that don’t exist at our property in Cannon Beach. Having said that, we are constantly working to find new plants that will survive here and improve our overall look. I am sure your comments will inspire our landscaper to work even harder to make improvements. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Hallmark. This time with our dogs. Fabulously pet friendly. We had nice little pet 'bags' waiting for us in the room. Snacks and toys for the doggies plus a sheet to cover the bed and extra towels. They also remodeled the rooms. Super nice job!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Beth W,

Thank you for the review and your return trip to the Hallmark. It is great to hear that you liked the remodel and were able to have an even more enjoyable stay with us this time than last.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,029 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
#13 of 24 in Newport
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Property: Hallmark Resort
Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing