We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pet Friendly!”
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Idaho
1 review
“Very Pet Friendly!”
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Perfect beach front access for families traveling with dogs! Very reasonably priced and had excellent service! Highly recommend!!!

  • Liked — Pet Friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Heersink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    391
    79
    38
    12
See reviews for
525
871
49
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Whenever we go to Newport we always stay at the Hallmark. This time we just booked a regular room with a queen bed. We were on the 2nd floor with an AMAZING view of the ocean. We watched the sunset on our balcony and ordered room service. It came in 20 minutes. I love staying at this hotel because of the views. You can't beat it. And it has easy access to the beach. We have stayed in one of the suites with a hot tub and also another one with 2 stories. We have always had nice rooms with great service. We will stay here again when we come back to OR.

  • Liked — The views
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JCutie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2008

We always stay here when we want to go to the coast. We have a very old dog and there is a lovely patio room and we can sit outside watch the ocean and the dog can do her business and we also eat lunch outside . Easy to get down to beach. Georgie's is a wonderful restaurant and best of all the price is reasonable.

  • Liked — room clean and great view despite being a pet room
  • Disliked — stairs necessary
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank virgilmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, OR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Stayed in queen fireplace room. Very small (or should we say cozy?). Got a great AAA discount, the fireplace is wonderful to sit by, vaulted ceiling, free wi fi, and the view is great; it's just a tiny tiny room. There is a microwave, DVD player, fridge (under the bathroom sink which took us awhile to find), coffee maker and hair dryer. And your neighbors could potentially lean over the side of their balcony and look in your room if the curtains are open since the separator walls are low (which hopefully doesn't actually happen). If you don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room, it's cute and cozy to sip on a bottle of wine and watch the sun set from, or sit by the fireplace and type this review . . . .

  • Liked — view & fireplace
  • Disliked — small room
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaverFever79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2008

I had read some negative reviews and was mildly concerned, but I was very pleased with my 3 night stay at the Hallmark Resort. I stayed in a "balcony queen room" that was on the small side, but just fine for me. I suppose if I was expecting a huge room, I would be disappointed, but it had a comfortable bed, a nice table with chairs looking out over the ocean, and free internet service (though I didn't spend too much time on the internet). The room had a balcony which was great though it was a little too chilly to use it. The view of the ocean was amazing! There is a little window you can open so you get some breeze in the room and can hear the ocean as you fall asleep.

It is sort of steep getting down to the ocean, but it seems to be that way everywhere. Not a problem for me. Also, if you hate dogs you might not like the Hallmark--many people have dogs and walk them on the beach. I love dogs, so again, no problem!

The room was clean and it seemed safe enough.

The restaurant attached to the hotel, Georgie's, has great views and pretty good food. I ate there most of the time I was in Newport.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skyeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

There is no air conditioning in this hotel and every room has a fireplace. I stayed 2 nights for business and it happened to be 85 degrees during my stay. There's no AC and the pilot inside the electric fireplace made my room even hotter. At night I had to leave my sliding door open a little just to get air inside the room. It was scary and a horrible experience!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank BizTravelLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2008

although a little pricey for a winter weekday night it was worth it. Staff was great, room was very clean, bed was very comfortable, fireplace and room service completed the stay> views are incredible. was a great way to spend waking up on 50th birthday looking at pacific ocean view>

  • Liked — staff and views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldentrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,029 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
#13 of 24 in Newport
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Property: Hallmark Resort
Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing