We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief retreat”
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in the Deluxe 2 Queen Bedroom for 2 nights. Fabulous! Ocean view, sand toys for the kids, beach blankets, kids playground just steps away from the ocean.
The room was great, fireplace, comfy beds, in-and outside (balcony) sitting area with ocean view. No neighbor noise even though the hotel was completely booked.
The swimming pool is spacious, clean and has an attached hot-tub and sauna.
I only wish breakfast would be included, but I guess you can't have everything.
We would stay there again, 100% sure.
PS The hotel staff is great. After departure we got a call about glasses that we forgot and the hotel shipped them to us the next day. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia197860878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Claudia197860878,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and were able to take advantage of many of the amenities offered. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,426 - 1,432 of 1,940 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed at the hallmark resort numerous times & always loved how all the rooms overlook the ocean and have balconies. Now the rooms are as good as the view! From the flat screen TV to the luxurious linens, a comfortable place to stay. Another plus is the staff. Greg at the front desk was incredibly helpful when we called for reservations & the staff at check-in were fast & welcoming. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Top floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ldge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Ldge,

Thank you for your repeat visits to the Hallmark. It is great to hear that they have all been good ones. I am glad that you enjoyed the renovations, we were thrilled to finally get them done. Thank you again for the review and for pointing out the service you received from Greg, I will be sure to share your comments with him.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was the first time my husband & I stayed at the Hallmark. We were here celebrating our 17th wedding anniversary. We took our dog with us & I'm so glad we did. She really liked her basket of goodies (that was such a nice touch). The room was great. We were on the same level as the pet area, which worked out perfectly. The room was very neat & clean. The view was spectacular. The beach was only a few steps away. We walked to the Yaquina Bay Lighthouse and the shops along Bay Blvd. Georgie's Beachside Grill was fantastic as well. We will definitely be staying again. We had such as wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kporyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

kporyn,

“And the award for best title for a Trip Advisor review goes to kporyn”. Very nice! Thank you so much for the great review and for choosing us as the location to celebrate your anniversary. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A very nice place to stay with a great view. Service was great, very helpful staff. We had a king room with two chairs, fireplace, balcony with chairs. You enter each room from an outside door, so every room has a nice view. Didn't use the pool, but it is located straight across the drop off area outside of the lobby. It looked nice. Also didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant, but it's right next to the hotel and looked like a good place to eat. We attended a small wedding reception at the hotel and it was great. The buffet food was excellent, had a bar set up, nice view of ocean here as well. I liked how the hotel had several common areas to sit. Our last night, our group gathered in an area opposite the lobby and we had a lot of nice chairs to use and two tables with chairs also where we had pizza. We were surrounded by a view of the ocean. Would definitely recommend staying here while in Newport.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, I would recommend asking for a floor that is third floor or higher for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelfromDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

TravelfromDuluth,

Thank you for the great review. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to utilize some of our newly remodeled sitting areas. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the reception you attended here. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Hallmark for our 15th anniversary. When we went to check in there was a problem with the room they had for us,and they didn't hesitate to upgrade our room at no extra cost. When we got to our room it was very very nice and the view was beautiful! The hotel staff even had a bottle of champagne and a gift waiting for us in our room. The Hallmark made our special day a little more special. Can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stbernardgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

stbernardgal,

Happy 15th Anniversary and thank you for spending it with us! We are always honored to be a part of our guests special occasions. I am sorry to hear there was a mix-up with your reservation but am happy to hear that our staff recovered well. We will be looking forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Hallmark a few times, each visit has been comfortable and cozy. The fireplaces really add a romantic touch in addition to being a comfort measure when the Oregon coast is stormy - which is why we go! Based on all of our travels, the packages and specials seem like a good value, and the rooms are good sized and very clean. The suites with jacuzzi and kitchenettes make it a relaxing way to spend even a couple of nights with all the comforts of home but right at the ocean front. The views are simply wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michellee5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Michellee5000,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear you were able to get a room with a fireplace, those are definitely very popular. Thank you again for the review and your repeat stays with us.


Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I was very pleasantly surprised by every aspect of stay at the resort. The view was amazing, words cannot describe the sunset on the Pacific. The room was freshly renovated and perfect in every way. Two TVs, kitchenette with dishwasher, a fireplace!!! The sitting area and deck were added bonuses!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagieMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Magie K,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I am very glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with your room and the amenities. I also have to agree with your review of the sunsets – they are truly amazing! We hope to see you again the next time you visit the area.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,104 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
895 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
3.0 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $141 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing