We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Great Location”
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Great Location”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

On our vacation my mom had decided we needed to stay at this hotel. I was amazed at the size of the rooms and the fact that the rooms had a gas fireplace and a table and couch. We were on the 4th floor and the view from the balcony was incredible. The staff was very helpful and friendly and they even provide a package containing coloring and other goodies for the kids, They have a great pool and a covered walkway so you can get to it without having to walk in the cold. If you are in Newport, this hotel is certainly one worth staying at. You can not beat the friendliness of the staff and the great accommodation. As a side note, the hotel is going through an extensive remodel and I think the next stay may be even better. They have one wing closed and being worked on. so you will not even notice there is work while at the hotel. they are not working near in guest rooms in the open wing.

Room Tip: One of the best things about this hotel is there is no bad room. All rooms have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montana_Vactioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Montana_Vacationer,

I am glad to hear that you and your Mom had a great stay with us. We greatly appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    381
    76
    37
    12
See reviews for
505
849
45
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here last June with co-workers in the wine industry and loved it so much I brought my wife and son back so they could experience this great property! The staff is always so kind and helpful. Only had 1 hiccup with staff when we were told at check in if we bought aquarium passes at the front desk my son would get in free. Went to purchase tickets the next day and was told the promotion expired some time ago, seems not everybody was on same page. We had a beautiful room on the 5th floor on the left side towards Georgie's Beachside Grill. Limited Edition room was perfect, fireplace, fridge, kitchenette and decorated beautifully. The view from the balcony is priceless!.. Short drive down to aquarium or Newport waterfront. We used the ppol and hot tub and they were fine. Great value for the view and quality of the "Limited Edition" room. Will definitely stay here again. Might even make a trip back to the Newport area JUST to stay here again!

Room Tip: All are on ocean..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Matt P,

Thank you for bringing your family to visit us at the Hallmark. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable visit. I am sorry for the confusion on the Aquarium ticket. Please let me know the next time you are coming to visit and I will be sure that we make that right for you.

Again, thank you for the repeat visits and the review.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
297 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Hallmark is undergoing a major rehab so things at check in were a bit hurly burly. But, the desk staff saved the day. They were pleasant, competent and quickly got us checked in. The rooms clean and a bit dated, but comfortable and quiet. The beds were nice. The view of the ocean and beach was wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for parking lot level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas29144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
thomas29144,

Thank you for your patience with our remodel and the make shift front desk we were operating from. You will be happy to know that we have finished that phase and are back to our normal front desk location.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to showing off our new front desk and lobby the next time you come to visit.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
498 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the Hallmark Inn in Newport for the recent Newport wine festival - what a delightful hotel. They are undergoing renovation, but the staff made a point of ensuring the construction was not obtrusive at all. The rooms were comfortable - nothing elegant, but very comfortable. definitely recommend getting one with a balcony, fireplace, and Jacuzzi tub in the room. The in-room bar and refrigerator made it easy to enjoy wine and champagne in the evenings. the on-site restaurant was very good indeed, but gets crowded quickly. They don't take reservations, but you can call down from your room and they will ring you back when your table is ready. Definitely recommend asking for a table with a window view of the coast - very lovely view!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a fireplace, balcony, and in-room Jacuzzi tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noworries2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
noworries2000,

Thank you for joining us during the Seafood and Wine Festival. I am glad to hear that the construction did not take away from your visit and that you had an enjoyable stay. We have worked very hard with our contractor to try and minimize the impact of the work.

We hope to see you on your next visit to Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Got a great deal on a room which was basically upgraded even better upon arrival. Unexpectedly. Beautiful rooms, facilities and surroundings. Gracious staff but with some hint of understaffing. Now that Newport has a new electric quick charge station I will be down more often and hopefully staying here with the gasoline money back into our budget. One thing that would help would be a few 120 V. 15 amp dedicated circuits so Hallmark EV customers could slow charge overnight freeing up the town's one quick charge station for even more folks arriving and departing the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat777campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Pat777campbell,

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am sorry that our staffing levels weren’t up to par while you were here. I have addressed those concerns with our management team.

I will definitely have our maintenance department look into the possibility of charging stations.

Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Although I only stayed for one night, it was a great experience. Stayed in the older section on the second floor but it was clean and comfortable. The gas fireplace and balcony overlooking the ocean add to the ambiance. The staff was very helpful. I look forward to staying when the renovation is complete!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGCEugeneOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
CGCEEugeneOregon,

Thank you for the review on Trip Advisor. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the room and the view. I am certainly you will love the renovated rooms on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I am sure I've reviewed the Hallmark before but just have to say a few more good words. The Hallmark is undergoing renovation and will be beautiful when done. We stayed in a fifth floor corner room that is remodeled and it was heaven. The deck goes around two sides and the view is fabulous. The bed is very comfortable. The rooms are large and clean. The room we stayed in has a two-person in room jacuzzi. The room is very large and comfortable. We were celebrating our 31st wedding anniversary and there was a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room (on ice with glasses). The staff is very friendly. We will be back!

Room Tip: If you want romance room 565 is perfect! The hotel is pet friendly so if you aren't a pet perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Paulas5458549,

Happy Anniversary and thank you for celebrating it with us! We greatly appreciate your return visit and review and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
3.0 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Property: Hallmark Resort
Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing