We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and a little overpriced”
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dated and a little overpriced”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Hallmark Resort multiple times. It's a decent place to stay, and one of the few in the area that accepts pets. The rooms are nice enough, but kind of seem like they are stuck in the 90's decor and starting to show their wear and tear. I believe they are renovating the rooms in 2013, so maybe when they are complete, we will return for a visit.

The biggest deterrent is the price they charge to bring pets. It's $25.00 per pet, per night. That's $50 extra every night I stay, which adds up really fast. Other places on the coast charge $10 per pet, per night, which is way more reasonable. I know they have to do a through cleaning, but $150 for 3 nights? I can stay somewhere else for a 4th night for that price.

It is in a great location, with stairs for access to the beach. Ground floor rooms are nice when you have pets to be able to walk directly out for your pets needs, but balcony rooms are kind of nice because you can sit on the deck and people/dog/bird watch, too. They do have a section of the property that children are not allowed to stay in, which is nice for people that have issues listening to children running back and forth and creating a lot of noise.

Georgie's is probably the best part of the hotel. I love their clam chowder.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogLoving_TravelorOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
DogLoving_TravelorOR,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay in 2012. As you mentioned we are renovating – as we speak – which will address all of the décor issues that you mentioned in your review.

In researching pet fees our $20 per night per pet fee is competitive with other full service properties. We also provide a pet amenity basket that many of those competitors do not. Unfortunately providing pet friendly rooms is very expensive and the pet fees we charge do not even cover the additional cleaning costs, more frequent carpet and upholstery replacement, furniture replacement and other pet related expenses. We are very happy to offer a wide variety of pet friendly rooms but we do have to try and recoup some of the costs associated with that offering.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the location of your room. I did want to clarify for anyone reading your review that we do not provide any area of the hotel that is off limits to children.

Thank you again for the review and we hope you’ll enjoy the newly renovated rooms coming soon!

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    381
    76
    37
    12
See reviews for
505
849
45
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Really loved the top floor limited edition / renovated room we stayed in (double queen). They did a superb job of the ambient lighting. Loved the view. Very convenient to the aquarium. Kids loved the pool. Very helpful staff. Would definitely stay again if we ever came through Newport again.

You've got to eat at Fish Tails in the aquarium village. Best breakfast food ever, at least for me.

Needs a kettle for the wife who drinks tea.

Room Tip: Definitely choose one of the limited edition / renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Sam P,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your Limited Edition room. As you probably noticed we are currently working on renovations to nearly double our count of the Limited Edition rooms. We are looking forward to being able to offer a larger number of these rooms as they typically sell out quickly.

Thank you for your comments and we do hope that you and your family we come and see us again.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We live in Portland about 2 hours away and last year decided to try someplace new. I checked Trip Advisor and was impressed on how the general manager of Hallmark always replied to both pro/con reviews so we gave it a try and fell in love with Hallmark. This is a very clean and quiet resort. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable and cozy. Great views, very nice swimming pool and sauna, and their restaurant "Georgies" has excellent dining at a pretty decent prices. Hallmark is now our "go-to" place at the beach and we have recommended it to our local friends, as well as out of town visitors.

Room Tip: The upper floors king bed/with fireplace are exceptionally nice for view and spaciousness. Well wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Kris B,

Thank you for honoring us as your go-to place at the beach and for the referrals to your friends. We take that as the ultimate compliment and will do everything we can to make sure that their visit is as great as yours was.

Thank you again for the review and we hope you make another trip to the beach soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We visited this summer and were thrilled with this hotel. Upon arrival they had changed our room to a single king bed, but we had 4 people. As soon as they realized their mistake they immediately upgraded us to one of their suites and brought in 2 large comfortable roll-aways. Even with the extra beds we had plenty of room. It was very convenient to have the mini kitchenette and the in room Jacuzzi and ocean view decks were perfect.There was also a window issue which they sent an employee up to fix right away. He was the nicest man and was extremely helpful talking to us about the area attractions, restaurants, etc. It's a very short drive to the historic bayfront from here as well. If we return, we'd definitely stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
parkhiker,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hallmark. I appreciate you sharing the experience you had with your maintenance department. I will be sure to try and figure out who it was and recognize him personally.

We look forward to your next visit.


Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
troutdale
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have stayed at the Hallmark Resort in Cannon Beach several times, but had the opportunity to stay in Newport @ the Hallmark Resort, and had a wonderful time! We had our dog with us and lucky our room was on the ground floor and had a sliding door right onto the grass. We took many walks on the beach, which our dog LOVED. We ended up eating at the restraurant @ the hotel and had very good meals. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Sharon B,

Thank you for your loyalty to Hallmark and for giving us a try. I am thrilled to hear that you and your dog had a great stay with us. We hope to see you the next time you come to Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

had a work event with meetings that started at 11am. Was a bit worried since check in was not till 4pm so i called the resort a few days before and asked them if it would be possible to check in early since i was scheduled for meetings from 11am - 9pm. They did some checking and said that they should be able to have my room availabe when i arrived and if not they would work something out for me. I arrived around 10:30 and my room was ready for me. I was promptly checked in by a very nice man and went to my room to prepare for my meetings. My room was excellent. The staff at the Hallmark Resort are a pleasure to speak with. They took very good care of me over my 3 day stay.
Many thanks to them for a wonderful working weekend... with a view that was amazing and a room that was so relaxing - i really enjoyed the fireplace and balcony.

Room Tip: My room was over by the restaurant - i enjoyed it. It was a handcap room - with a HUGE bathroom due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justme97420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
justme97420,

It is great to hear that you had such a wonderful working weekend. I will be sure to share your comments with our front desk crew and the rest of our staff.

Hopefully the next time you come to visit it will be for more play and less work!

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

It's been 7 years since we first spent a night on a top floor of Hallmark and since that time we come back every fall...every winter...every spring. We take pictures of sunsets and sunrises, we sleep with our window open and listen to the ocean, we make friends. Our friends leave and come back, because I guess it is not just pleasant to stay at Hallmark , but it is a good place to work as well. We are loyal to this place and this place is loyal to us. This evening we got a phone call and we've been offered to book a room on a top floor (we wrote and asked about it, and there was nothing available, but we got lucky again- someone cancelled and Hallmark staff was so nice to give us a call and let us know about it. Thank you Amanda and Katie - you are the best).
So now we are looking forward to our weekend and making plans to sleep with our window open.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gala_0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Gala_0000,

Thank you for your 7 years of loyalty and the fantastic review. I will be sure to share it with all of our staff. I am sure that Amanda and Katie will be especially thrilled to see that they were recognized.

You will be quite surprised the next time you come as many of the pictures you took are now “classics” with some of the changes we have made with the renovations. Actually, many of the areas are just bare drywall right now but they will be spectacular when finished.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,017 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
3.0 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Property: Hallmark Resort
Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing