We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our aniversary with an overnight stay at the Hallmark. He had stayed there before for a conference and came back saying we must go back together. When we walked in we were greeted immediately and they made us feel welcomed. Our room wasn't ready, but they put us in another so we could check in early. Also, the rate had gone down since we made the reservation and they happily gave us the lower rate. The hotel is getting a renovation and will be completed sometime this year, so we overlooked the things that needed to be redone. Saw a great sunset from our ocean-view room. We had lunch at their restaurant, which was very good, as was the service. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Paulette S,

Thank you for the fantastic review. I am glad to hear that everyone was accommodating and that you had a great anniversary celebration.

We hope to see you again the next time you visit Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,565 - 1,571 of 1,956 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

We brought our surgery-recovering dog and were given a room right off the parking lot on the second floor; no stairs to climb, although there is an elevator. It was an easy walk to the bluffs above the beach where our dog could exercise, and then stairway access to the beach was right there.

A small balcony off our room provided great views up and down the beach. The fireplace and in-room Jacuzzi gave us a great way to wind down at the end of the day.

There are many nice restaurants in Newport, but Georgie's Beachside Grill was right on the property and had wonderful food, a full service bar, and nice views.

The staff was most accommodating. This is by far the best pet-friendly resort on the central Oregon coast, and we'll be returning soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor and up will provide the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 98harleydood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

98harleydood,

Thank you for the great review. I am sure that the readers on Trip Advisor will appreciate the detail you have provided.

Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Living less than an hour from the Oregon coast, we enjoy making 2-3 getaway trips there. Until now, we had not stayed at the Hallmark Resort in Newport, so it was time to try it out. Throughout our two-day stay there, we found the staff friendly, informative, and very responsive. Every time we passed through the lobby, they checked to see if everything was fine or whether we were having any problems. Their attention was simply amazing.

Like many similar accommodations built in the 70s or early 80s, the Hallmark is showing signs of wear, but we quickly realized that the Resort is in the midst of a major renovation that looks impressive. It is challenging to keep the Resort running while closing a portion of it for remodeling. Already, a portion of the Resort has undergone renovation. The room we stayed in, which suited our needs, is next on the list.

The swimming pool area has already been redone, and was a wonderful facility to for us to relax and recreate. The showers and dressing rooms were very good. My only suggestion would be to have hooks to hang clothes on while changing from or into swim suits. The pool itself was airy and relaxing, and sitting in the hot tub was a treat. We didn't use the exercise room, but we noticed that it had a good selection of exercise machines. As one who does quite a lot of stretching and physioball work, I would have liked a somewhat larger room, but this one is bigger than many such rooms at other motels.

We thank the Resort staff for arranging very pleasant weather Wednesday afternoon and Friday morning, making ocean views and Wednesday's sunset spectacular. We will expect similar service the next time we stay there. : )

Room Tip: We always advise travelers to choose a top floor room to avoid hearing footsteps overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtFromPhilomath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

ArtFromPhilomath,

Thank you for the detailed review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the facility and service. I am also glad to hear that the weather cooperated and you were able to experience one of our spectacular sunsets.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Here’s a story. This past Christmas our son, his wife, and our 2 little grandchildren rented a small house in Newport .To avoid crowding, we grandparents stayed at the Hallmark Resort and planned to join the others at the rental cottage for Christmas dinner. Unbelievably, the landlord of the little rental cottage, a Grinch by any standard, contacted our son’s family at 10pm on Christmas Eve and told them they could have NO GUESTS in the cottage whatsoever, regardless of it being Christmas! This presented us with quite a dilemma. ('Twas the night before Christmas! Gifts & food were already in place, &.children were already snuggled in their beds!)

Luckily, we, the grandparents, were staying at the Hallmark. When the Hallmark staff heard of our dilemma, they leapt to our assistance & offered the whole family a large room for Christmas Day, one with a full kitchen, dinner tables, a few little toys for the children, a gas fireplace, and even a little Christmas tree. We had a great time preparing Christmas dinner at the hotel and a wonderful swim in the pool. Thank you, Hallmark staff , for saving our Christmas. We will not forget your thoughtfulness and caring service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Norma W,

I couldn’t be prouder of our staff then I am after reading your review. It is great to hear that they stepped up and un-Grinched your Christmas. Serving others should be a prominent part of Christmas and I am glad to hear that our crew demonstrated that in a substantial way. I will be sure that everyone involved is properly recognized for their exceptional service!

Thank you so much for sharing your story.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My sister had her wedding at this beautiful resort, and we had the pleasure of staying here for 4 nights. We have 2 small children and the staff was so sweet and friendly to them and helpful to us. The event coordinator for the wedding was just so amazing and all of the staff really helped to make the wedding special. The food was delicious and I can't say enough times how great and helpful all of the staff were. We would stay here again. I am looking forward to seeing how it will look once the remodel is done, hope we can still afford to stay there! The view from our admiral suite was so beautiful and the bed very comfortable and the room was spacious and clean. Thanks again for a wonderful family event. Your staff does an amazing job!

Room Tip: The suites are lovely and have a hot tub in the room as well as a gas fireplace. The view of the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Jamie B,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for your sister’s wedding. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our banquet department as I am sure they will be thrilled to hear them.

Don’t worry, even with the remodel will keep our rates very reasonable and there will always be great seasonal specials as well. If you haven’t already done so sign up for our email specials on our website to get the best possible rates and up to date remodel information.

Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We pulled in late-ish on a Saturday night to find that the Hallmark not only had a vacancy, but had a loft room with a queen size bed upstairs on the mezzanine and two queen beds downstairs (perfect for our 2 x 5yos and 1 x 7yo). We were on the fourth floor (436) so our views of the ocean - literally right in front of us - were unobstructed.

The room featured an open fireplace (gas?), and was very clean. Microwave and fridge included. Bath tub big enough to fit all 3 kids in at the same time.

If you want room service, you can get it from Georgie's Seafood Grill, which is the Resort's own in-house restaurant (see our separate review, very good).

A great, family-friendly place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for something up high for great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

McBrat,

Thank you for the great review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the loft rooms. They are definitely one of our most popular – along with our beach house – for families. I am sure others on Trip Advisor will find your review helpful, especially with the inclusion of the pictures.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had a lovely stay in a comfortable room, with fireplace. While the weather was beautiful, I imagine it would be just as nice to watch a storm roll in. You do have to plan your beach walk around outgoing/low tide.
Pool area nice. Mattress was starting to show age.
We did eat in the restaurant a few times. I found the breakfast add-on costs (per veggie) turned me off. Perhaps a few more variations in vegetarian scramble or wrap choices for breakfast and other dinner options than pasta. Service was excellent, very attentive staff.
We hope to return!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

betjam,

Thank you for the review of your stay. It is great to hear that you had some beautiful weather while you were here but your are correct in that watching the storms come in can be very entertaining as well.

I am sorry to hear that the Veggie Scramble wasn’t to your liking. It is one of our most popular dishes. You may have missed the Vegetarian section at dinner as there are several non-pasta options. We are also open to suggestions as well so if you have a favorite dish or suggestions for additions to the scramble we would love to hear them.

Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Oceanfront Suites
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
897 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
3 mi away
Agate Beach Motel
Agate Beach Motel
#1 of 24 in Newport
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $131 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing