We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy dogs and humans”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Happy dogs and humans”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love this place and have returned many times. The rooms are comfortable and set up with a nice mini kitchenette with utensils and a little table, fireplace and couch cordoned off with a semi petition from the beds. Pet rooms on the ground floor are a hoot as the pets observe one another walking by and visit each other. All the employees are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OOOOOOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
OOOOOOregon,

It is great to hear that you and your dogs enjoyed the location and amenities in your room. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    372
    74
    37
    11
See reviews for
486
814
44
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenacres, Washington
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I wish I knew how many years we have been coming to the Hallmark, just to point out the consistent quality of this resort. The rooms are fantastic...we had the king with the jacuzzi tub again this year. It was cold and wet for 4 of the 5 days we were there, but we kept warm by the fireplace and watched movies, when we were "stuck" in our room. We had one gorgeous day and walked on the beach in front of the resort which is very clean. Check in and check out are a breeze! And, because we were in the off season, the room rate was incredibly low! The only problem is....we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: The limited rooms are absolutely fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Christine B,

Thank you so much for the great review and for your years of loyalty to Hallmark. It is very rewarding to hear from our long time guests since they are truly the experts on our resort and level of service. It is great to hear that you have had many years of great memories at Hallmark.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Thought we would spend three days on the Oregon Coast while we were in the area and booked the Hallmark because of Tripadvisor reviews. I can now say, they are all true! Check in was fast, friendly and informative, all staff members greet you like you owned the place. We had a room on the third floor with breathtaking views of the waterfront. All rooms have oceanfront balconies, and we used ours a lot. Went to Georgie's Beachside grill our night there, wished we would have gone there the first night so we could go again, great sunset views and premium quality meals. Pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Upper levels have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitrousedEdB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
nitrousedEdB,

It is great to hear that you found us through Trip Advisor. We want to thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review about your stay and dinner in Georgie’s. We hope to see you the next time you visit the Oregon Coast.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
403 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have been staying at the Hallmark for well over a decade and consider it our coast home. We just experienced an upgraded/remodeled spa room and have nothing but compliments for the room. The king bed with six king pillows was heavenly-great night of sleep! Upgraded bedding also looks fresh and appealing to the eye.

Being on the 4th floor for the first time was also a fantastic experience. We have always stayed on the first floor in past years so our dog cold have quick access to the beach. The view of the ocean from on high is even more stunning! The beauty of the room with the upgraded furnishings paired with the view of the ocean made staying in our room a pleasure!

Fully stocked kitchenette....fridge and microwave....bottle of bubbly chilled and awaiting our arrival. The Hallmark really knows how to make Your stay special especially if You request a message in a bottle.

Great staff at the desk on check in. Fast check out as well. We always enjoy looking in on the large indoor pool to see families with younger children enjoying that opportunity. Also appreciate the windshield cleaning station just outside the check in area so the car windows are clean to enhance the view of the coast.

Georgie's, the on premisses restaurant, is always excellent. My wife had pan fried halibut and i tried their halibut fish and chips. Hers was perfectly moist, accompanied by wonderful garlic mashed potatoes. i was hard pressed to finish all 3 pieces of halibut as they were surprisingly large. The beer batter coating was perfectly crisp and very tasty-a nice compliment to the Deschutes Black Butte Porter i had ordered. Great server and gifted chefs.

Within easy walking distance to the Nye Beach area, there simply isn't a better place to stay anywhere on the Oregon coast for great shopping, great food and a great room. Off season prices make staying here a great deal.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view, but the higher up the better. Try to get the newer upgraded rooms if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuc7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
tuc7k,

Thank you for the extremely detailed and exceptional review. I am sure that readers on Trip Advisor will greatly appreciate all the detail you put in your review. We are honored to be your choice in Newport and I will be sure to share your compliments with our staff in the hotel and Georgie’s. Thank you again for the great review and we are anxiously awaiting your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in July and are planning on coming back this weekend! After reading through the reviews I have my fingers crossed that there will be a limited edition room available. Can't wait to call in the morning to book our room! Staff were very nice, rooms were clean with comfortable beds and we liked that you can actually walk out onto the balcony! Highly recommended! We give you guys an A+

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
azsurf,

Thank you for the great grade and review! We appreciate your repeat visits and thank you for sharing them on Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Have stayed at both Hallmark resort locations; Newport and Cannon Beach and have always reserved a spa room with fireplace, microwave, refrigerator, etc. Both locations are perfect for traveling up and down the coast without having to load/unload vehicle daily which is a real pain as I'm a photographer with tons of equipment plus this last visit was a b-day present for girl-friend..she was duly impressed...big points for me !! The value is extreme, especially with winter rates..CANNOT be beaten !! Extreme comfort and the best staff on the entire Oregon Coast. View from spa rooms in both both resorts is breathtaking to say the least. Gotta find a way to invest in this resort !!!! Will be back time and again...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fathersafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
fathersafety,

Thank you for writing such a detailed review of your awesome stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and scored some points with your girlfriend at the same time. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed one night in a jacuzzi room. It was a last minute change in plans. Well stocked kitchenette. Friendly staff. Beautiful view. We would come back and stay again. Good value for the money. Comfortable bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Beth W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I’m glad that your last minute plans worked out for the best. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
24.1 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Property: Hallmark Resort
Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing