We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home and every staff appears to take pride in their job”
Review of Hallmark Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Resort
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Feels like home and every staff appears to take pride in their job”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This was a great find - we stayed in a 3 queen loft. The front desk staff was extremely friendly as soon as we arrived. All the rooms are right on the beach. Everything was clean. The restaurant was relatively small, so the wait for a table for 6 can get quite long (even up to 1 1/2 hours on a Tuesday night) - call ahead to put your name on the waiting list (no reservations), and they can call your room when the table is being prepared. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
PhotoMomma – Thank you for writing a review about your stay on Trip Advisor. Before I had even had the chance to read the review our staff was glowing and letting me know about your heading “Feels like home and every staff appears to take pride in their job.” I am thrilled to hear that and appreciate you taking the time to share.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    400
    80
    38
    12
See reviews for
538
883
51
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed in a queen/queen room which was just wonderful. Great view of the ocean, balcony with a couple of chairs, kitchenette, and just lots of room. The small details: I liked the extra little one foot by one foot window which you could open to hear the surf (without having an entire sliding door or window open). We slept with it open all night and really liked it. The gas fireplace was a nice cozy touch. The tvs suffered one of my pet peeves: the aspect ratio makes the people "squashed". Otherwise, really a perfect stay. (enjoyed the recognition of our anniversary, too!)

Room Tip: Pet rooms are on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weloveRtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
innotdown – Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that it was an enjoyable one. With regards to the television, we do have to preset the TV’s to a certain aspect ratio but we are happy to send our maintenance department up to quickly change it to your personal preference. Just let us know the next time you are coming to visit and we will have it set up the way that you like.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle,Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We have to pass on a lot of waterfront hotels because of our little dog. This place is very pet friendly so we did not hesitate to book a night here on our way down the Pacific Coast. We had a King Spa Corner Room right next to the restaraunt. The spa tub was big and worked very well. The King bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and clean and the fireplace was a big plus. Our dog loves to lay by the fire. The food at the restaraunt next door was excellent and so was the room service. That stormy night on the oceanfront was a night we will remember. We highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Book directly through the hotel website during the off season for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyorancher_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
wyorancher_9 – I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy one of the famous Pacific storms from the comfort of your room. Nothing like a front row seat for the best viewing! I noticed your tip about booking directly through our website for the best deals, that will get you the second best deals, for the best deals sign up on our website for our “mailing list”. This actually signs you up for our monthly email rate special, which is our best rate or package. No SPAM, and only 1-2 emails per month. Thank you for taking the time to comment and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Staff very helpful, found us a coupon for the Oregon Coast Aquarium and offered some restaurant recommendations. Awesome view from our 5th floor limited edition room. Room very spacious, and comfortable. Bathroom tiny with tiny tub, not a "resort" type tub, and no separate shower.
Overall this hotel just looks old, tired and dated.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YDWestcoast_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
YDWestcoast_fan – Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I am thrilled to hear that our staff helpful and provided you with the information you needed. I am also glad that you enjoyed your Limited Edition room. As far as the condition of the property, you will be pleased to know that we are planning some significant upgrades this coming winter. These updates should help to alleviate the “dated” look that you mentioned and make for an even better stay the next time.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I stopped in Newport for an evening as part of our 1st Anniversary coast trip. Since Hallmark was top rated on TA, we decided to book a night here. When my husband called, he mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary.

When we arrived, check-in went smoothly and we headed to our room. About 10 min later, there was a knock on the door. It was the hotel staff delivering a bottle of champagne to congratulate us on our anniversary!! We also noticed later there was a bottle with a note inside. It was another congratulatory note signed by the manager. What an amazing touch to make us feel special during our day!!

The room was very nice. The bed was really comfortable. I slept like a baby, and I don't typically sleep well away from home. The view of the ocean was SPECTACULAR!! There is beach access right from the hotel.

The only thing I wish the hotel had: screens on their doors. Other reviewers mentioned this as well. We were on the top floor, so weren't too worried about security, but I just feel better having some sort of screen.

This was our favorite hotel during our entire coast weekend. We will definitely be back and really want to check out their cannon beach location too! Highly recommend this. The amazing attention to detail to make us feel special on our anniversary really went above and beyond what we experienced at other hotels!

Room Tip: Go for the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
lposh – First of all Happy Anniversary. We are honored that we could be a part of it. I also want to thank you for the extensive review. I will be sure to pass all of your comments on to our staff as they will be thrilled to hear them. Thank you again for your review and stay with us.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We pulled into the Hallmark without a reservation, as we were driving down the coast on the way to a Ducks game. The staff was very welcoming, and the made sure we were taken care of. they took time to tell us about Newport, and where we might want to go that evening. The room itself was clean and well appointed, and the patio view of the pacific was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treyjewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
treyjewels – I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to pass your appreciation on to the front desk and housekeeping departments as well. They will be very happy to have been recognized for their efforts. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Overall we were pleased with our stay at the Hallmark Resort. We rented a room with a partial view and we were told at check-in that we would be able to see the lighthouse from our room. We arrived in the room and found that we could see the ocean, but the portion of the beach with the lighthouse was blocked by the neighboring building. That was a small disappointment in our stay that was quickly overshadowed by all that there is to do in Newport. We really enjoyed this coastal town.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TallTravelers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hallmarknewport, General Manager at Hallmark Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
TallTravellers_11 – Please accept my apology for the misinformation you were given at check-in. I have personally talked with our desk staff and reminded them that the partial view rooms do not have a view of the lighthouse. I am relieved to hear that you were still able to enjoy your visit with us and had a good experience overall. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Newport.

Sincerely,

Ric Rabourn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,043 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.8 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.3 mi away
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
#13 of 24 in Newport
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort

Property: Hallmark Resort
Address: 744 SW Elizabeth St, Newport, OR 97365-5109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Business Hotel in Newport
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hallmark Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the edge of the Pacific ocean, the Hallmark Resort, Newport, offers spectacular oceanfront views from every room. Watch the fishing fleet return to Yaquina Bay as the lighthouse keeps watch to the north. The sunsets are amazing. The Hallmark Resort is full-service, offering oceanfront dining at Georgie's Beachside Grill. After a day of exploring, relax in the indoor recreation center with heated pool, sauna, and swirl spa. We offer a variety of room styles including staterooms with king bed and in-room spa. Families choose an oceanfront stateroom with 2 queen beds complete with mini-galley, fireplace and living area. Free WI-FI in all guestrooms and all rooms have a spacious walk out balcony or patio. We are pet friendly. Flexible meeting spaces will accommodate up to 200. Our oceanfront beach party area comes complete with wedding walk and bonfire pit. Let the tradition begin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hallmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Newport
Hallmark Resort Newport Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing