We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views, Bad Smells” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embarcadero Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Views, Bad Smells”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2006

Booked here for an overnight stay with my boyfriend in mid October.

VIEW:
The view way amazing. We had a deck view room and the hotel's position on Yaquina bay provides an amazing view of the water and bridge.

ROOMS:
The rooms are pretty dated looking but I don't stay in hotels for the decor. The accommodations were perfectly adequate for my needs.

FISH SMELL:
As I explored the amenities I made the mistake of opening up a draw that filled the room with an awful fish odor. I imagine someone must stuck some kind of sea creature in there and perhaps housekeeping didn't notice.

When I stopped by the front desk to describe my problem, the cheery front desk worker looked at my blankly. This annoyed me. I work the front desk at a hotel myself and a big part of the job is fixing problem or at least attempting. She explained she didn't know what to do and I suggested that maybe she let me have some air freshener. She agreed, but insisted that a maintenance man come and administer it.

Quite some time later, almost an hour a gentleman came and and sprayed a few spritzes and then one enormously long spritz (I assume it malfunctioned) and left a horrible heavy chemical smell in the room. It was better than the rotten sea food smell though.

PROXIMITY:
We also walked down to the historic bayfront. It was a pretty decent hike but the hotel never advertised that it was right in the middle of things. It's closer to the working port part of the bay.

NOISE:
An important thing to remember is that the embarcadero is right on the water of a working Port so at night their is constant noise, ship horns in the distance seagulls and the very constant bark of seal lions. It's definitely not the hotel's fault but is worth noting.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Smell, poor service
  • Tips/Secrets — Book on travelocity. We ended up getting out room for 79 bucks (in oct)
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Thylacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    154
    84
    59
    47
See reviews for
156
222
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2006

We enjoyed our 4 nights at the Embarcadero. We usually go to Seaside and Cannon Beach but found there was plenty to do and see in Newport! The Aquarium was great (we liked the crustacean exhibit Claws-the hotel had coupons for a free kids admission with the purchase of an adult admission), then the beaches (founds lots of agates just north of Seal Rock-10 miles south of Newport), and Marine Discovery Tours a 2 hour boat trip on the bay and ocean that was very informative and fun for the kids. Also the OSU Marine Science Center one of the desk clerks told us about was really great for the kids-interactive and educational, even an octopus you can pet. It was open 10am-4pm.

The Embarcadero is not a classy place, but very comfortable and rustic. The grounds are well cared for and the flowers colorful. It is an older resort that is weather, which adds to its charm. They are visibly working on the structures, which appears to be an on going task, especially on the coast. Our room was nice and comfortable. What you would expect on the coast. Some of the wood furniture needed to be refinished, though it appeared the owner was doing a piece at a time, since some pieces were already refinished and look nice. They had recently changed the carpet and had a new couch that provided a good night’s sleep when pulled out into a queen bed. The clerk said it was commercial grade and a thicker mattress, and it was. We liked the kitchen and the large private deck overlooking the bay. You can see everything, the bay and out the mouth of the river into the ocean if you are in what is called the bayview section. Bring your binoculars! We saw plenty of bird life, at least 20 different species including an Eagle, Brown Pelican, Osprey, Cormorants, several Turkey Vultures and of course several different species of Seagulls. We rented Kayaks from the Embarcadero and were able to see even more of nature up close. Sealions, fish, and birds! There is an estuary across the bay from the Embarcadero that is perfect to float in at high tide (you cannot go there at low tide).

The restaurant served breakfast, lunch, dinner. We ate there a couple of times! They were friendly and the food at dinner outstanding, though the omlets for breakfast were the best. The view over their marina and the bay was enjoyable. Maria at breakfast and Tara at dinner made our experience fun, even the chef visited with us at dinner and gave the kids a tour of the kitchen and chef hats.

The Embarcadero has a nice pool and 2 hot tubs, though one of them the jets did not work well. They also had a floating dock that we were able to go down on and watch others staying there crab and fish from. Maybe next time we will try that! They even had a place to cook the crab so that people would not cook the crab in the rooms because of the smell.

It was a fun relaxing get away from Portland at a reasonable price too! We will be back!

  • Liked — The View is outstanding and great place to see variuos species of birds
  • Disliked — nothing, very accomodating staff
  • Tips/Secrets — bring binoculars and books to read
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank motherha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2006

Had a great stay at the Embarcadero last weekend, July 15-17! This is not a five star resort. It is a comfortable three star resort. We have noticed this past year the owners are putting money back into their rooms and the resort. Each condo is privately owned and the hotel rents them out for the owners. They have lots to keep up on.

The weather was perfect, comfortable temperatures, minus low tides for clamming (now that it is open on the beaches), and crabbing was excellent on the Embarcadero’s private crab dock! We usually come over twice a year, staying in a one bedroom suite bayfront close to the crab dock and indoor pool. Even though every room has a view of the bay and all its activity, we like being close to where we spend most of our time. The one bedroom suite has a full kitchen which helps with the cost of meals for our family of five. Management and staff are friendly and accommodating. If something isn’t right we let them know and they always responded positively. Our room was very clean and well stocked. Some of the rooms have tired some, though still very comfortable.

When making your reservation always check their web site first for special deals, we found their Free Gas package that gave us a discounted rate plus a $25 free gas card when we checked out. If we could have stayed a third night it would have been $50. This past spring we used their buy one night get one night Free package. That is a fantastic deal! They said it will be offered again this fall and winter. If they do we will probably go again in October or November, especially if they have Free Gas cards too!

  • Liked — Had a full kitchen and fireplace
  • Disliked — no in room jacuzzi tub
  • Tips/Secrets — Great place to relax. You can go crabbing right off the docks.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank stookemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2006

We stayed 2 nights at this resort. The sofa, carpet, bed, small T.V set, bathroom are too old. The room is small and hot, we could not sleep well at night. I do not recommed this resort to anyone who is willing to pay $149 per night, you can find somewhere better deal than this!

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Enumclaw, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2006

Our family has been staying at the Embarcadero since the late 1980's, and we have always found it enjoyable. It's not a five-star resort, and you might be disappointed in the fact that it's been aging a bit, but we still love to stay here. You are right at the marina on Yaquina Bay, and I have many vivid memories of standing on the balcony early in the morning, watching people dropping their crab pots off the dock, and seeing all sizes of boats going by. In the evening, the lights along Newport's Old Bay Front and along the docks of the marina are the only entertainment necessary. The bridge spanning the bay makes a nice backdrop to all of this.

The restaurant has always been consistently good, with very nice atmosphere. There are also crab cookers available for those who do their own crabbing. About 1/4 mile away is the Historic Bay Front with all sorts of viewing, shopping and eating opportunities. Everything from wine to art glass can be found for sale in these shops. For those seeking more tourist-type attractions, there's a wax museum, undersea garden, bay tours by boat, and even a 'Ripley's Believe it or Not' located in this little world apart from the rest of Newport. Al Capone's yacht is another attraction located here.

Advantages: A lot of views, ambience, and ammenities without having to get in your car and drive around. The Oregon Coast Aquarium as well as other things mentioned are very close by.

Disadvantages: You don't have any beach or beach access from the Embarcadero. A short drive to 101 or to the other side of 101 can easily take care of that, however. There are no convenience or grocery stores close by.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank inflight22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

We had 2 free night at this hotel that were won. The hotel is a condo style construction. 2 stories but the bottom floor was just the stairs to get to the room. I think the hotel is about 20 years old and they maintain it, but not really for looks, just for functionality. I have to agree that the interior was showing age as others had mentioned including furniture, etc. However the great view and interesting design out weighed the wear and tear looks. Everything worked fine in the room; fridge, TV, Microwave, etc. We went to the brunch which was pricey for what they offered, but good. The view includes the main bridge, the bay, all of that. The small balconey was funtional and interesting. Seagulls are on the roof in the day and fun to check out. The hotel rents water sports equipment and boats. I think you could find an equal caliber hotel for cheaper in the area, but they are probably not listed on the web due to their small size. I would think about staying at this hotel again if they had 'deal' prices, but would check out other hotels in the area also.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SteveCouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2006

The only thing that made our trip worth to stay at Embarcadero was a great view and wonderful weather after days of rain. It is a place to spend a night, not a place to enjoy. The room was not perfectly clean and very poorly decorated. Spots and signs of heavy usage everywhere... One night to be there was more than enough. We left earlier, did not stay the time we paid for.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
1.3 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
1.2 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarcadero Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarcadero Resort Hotel

Property: Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Address: 1000 SE Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365-4201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Embarcadero Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Yaquina Bay in Newport Oregon - every well appointed guestroom has a Million Dollar view of beautiful Yaquina Bay. Full Service Hotel - with Restaurant, Lounge, Indoor Salt Water Pool and Spa, Crab Boat Dock and Boat Rentals, 4000 Square Feet of flexible Meeting Space with Full Service Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Embarcadero Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Resort Newport
Embarcadero Hotel Newport
Embarcadero Newport Oregon
Embarcadero Resort Hotel Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing