We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We are finishing up our one-week vacation in this hotel. This place has been a pleasant surprise to us especially after reading so many negative reviews before coming here. Yes, the carpet is old, and the door does not shut properly but the room is adequate and the view to the bay is to die for. This hotel offers some tranquility for those who's seeking a nice, quiet break to do some crabbing and clamming or just swimming in the indoor swimming pool or dipping in the jacuzzi. The hotel also has a private crab dock for guest use. We caught many red rock and dungenese crabs from the dock and was able to clean and cook them in the hotel's crab cooker area. This hotel is certainly not a 5-star establishment but it is more than adequate if you are seeking to spend some quiet time in central Oregon.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpyvly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 531 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2009

Over the years I have stayed at the embarcedero many times our family has a time share with Vacation Internationale. In the past it was always a wonderful experience, the rooms have never been anything to write home about but always clean and welcoming. I must say that in the last two years this resort has taken a major turn towards an all out dump or at least the VI units have. The carpet and furniture was stained and the carpet on the deck was moldy - by the way who puts capet on a deck at the coast? After we checked-in we were ready to hit the beach and went to leave - the door would not lock no matter how we shut or slammed it - we called the front desk and they sent someone to fix it - the solution was to throw the full force of our body into the slam, classy and I am sure our neighbors loved us. Next time I go to the coast I will book my room somewhere else - which is a shame the embarcedero is in a great location and the VI staff was great but the room was not sutible for livestock let alone guests who pay extreamly high maintance fees and maid points for a 'vacation' time share.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank porter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

Each of the rooms are individualy owned(time share or vacation home, maybe) I can get over the terrible decor, but the smell is terrible, the neighboor is loud, the carpets are stained the chairs are stained. You would think they would try and keep this place cleaned with a little pine-sol or Mr clean but no. they scary thing is i feel like i am sleeping in someones house-someones gross house. These were obviously built in the seventys and the only thing that seems to be updated is the kitchen and maybe the carpet 5-8 years ago. even though it is a non smoking unit, I think it has been smoked it A LOT. The cleaning ladies have no idea how to clean these rooms-they are terrible. As you are walking up to the 2nd floor is smells like garbage and cigarets. We are here for a conferance and 3 people are unhappy too about there rooms, some even have mold in the showers. They really need management to review these rooms to see if they are worth renting out. it doesn't even deserve the one star I gave it.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pdiddy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

In Short, the place is decent. It is run down but has all the items you would need small kitchen, tv, deck, hair dryer etc... The carpets are old and dirty and the overall finishes need to be redone but it is nice for a mini crabbing trip. Very reasonable prices for rentals such as nets, boats, clam diggers and other vaious items. We would go back but if you are wanting new, updated and really clean I would not reccomend.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalea05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

This used to be my favorite place to stay in Newport. The service here used to be excellent but for a couple of years, it wasn't good anymore. omg, the balcony is dirty. We usually book the one bedroom suite or the townhouse. Their suite is just a typical suite which includes a kitchen, a queen bed, and a small livingroom with a small fireplace. Usually when we book the hotel in advance, our rooms are ready by check-in time. We had several occasionals where our room wasn't ready;when it was, whoever the housekeeper is didn't do a good job of cleaning. I don't like it, to wait after their check-in policy at 4pm for my room but then they expect us out of our room by their check-out time. I only recommend this resort because of the crabbing. You go crabbing off the private dock. This is not recommended for a romantic get-away and elders (most of the time, the floors are wet).
As for the townhouse, I like it because it's very private. You get a better service and the room is always clean. I guess you paid for what you get here.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuVdining2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

The Embarcadero is actually a condo property, which means that there is no consistency between units other than their design. The first room to which we were assigned could've been a Motel 6. It was not clean, there were crumbs on the diner and stains on the carpet, and a pair of underwear that were not ours had been left in the bedroom. In short, it was gross. (That was room 436 in case you are wondering.)

So we politely complained and were promptly moved to room 528, in an adjacent building, with a much better view, and it was spotless and recently remodeled. Of course, this probably explained the missing light fixture, but not the bare wires hanging down. We decided it wasn't worth our time to complain about that.

The Embarcadero's facilities are great, especially the pool and hot tub area. I just wish I had felt like it was worth the $100+ to stay there.

I love the location and the rooms are plenty big enough for 3 or 4 people, and being able to cook in the rooms is great. But I'm sure glad that I don't own one of these condos. Final verdict: definitely go check out the room you're assigned before you move all your stuff in.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank madriax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2008

We have stayed at the Embarcadero many times in the Sunterra/Interval Internationale units and loved it! The rooms are in great shape and often remodeled, although the removal of the jetted tubs was a sad loss. However, our timeshare rooms were not available during our June vacation so we checked on the regular room rates and were surprised at how inexpensive they were so booked without hesitation. Walking into the regular rental room was a real letdown after our many stays in the timeshare. Unlike the timeshare rooms, the regular hotel rooms are just as others here have described with worn out carpets and dated furnishings. My comment to my husband was that the room looked like it had been furnished from swap meet purchases, including the art on the walls. Still, the view was breathtaking, the crab dock and fun little town just as great as always. Dining at their restaurant is always hit or miss. The food is usually good but the service can be slow and sloppy. Their clam chowder is better than the local Mo's. If you ever have a chance to stay in the timeshare rooms, take it, but unless you really need a private crab dock, some other local hotel might be better.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chancedance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.3 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
1,104 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
895 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarcadero Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarcadero Resort Hotel

Address: 1000 SE Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365-4201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range: $120 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Embarcadero Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Yaquina Bay in Newport Oregon - every well appointed guestroom has a Million Dollar view of beautiful Yaquina Bay. Full Service Hotel - with Restaurant, Lounge, Indoor Salt Water Pool and Spa, Crab Boat Dock and Boat Rentals, 4000 Square Feet of flexible Meeting Space with Full Service Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embarcadero Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Resort Newport
Embarcadero Hotel Newport
Embarcadero Newport Oregon
Embarcadero Resort Hotel Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing