We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PRIVATE CRABBING AT ITS BEST...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embarcadero Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“PRIVATE CRABBING AT ITS BEST...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Its an ideal place for crabbing/fishing anytime of the day( just be aware with the high or low ocean tides in relation with this activity)...The resort has all you need in private crabbing or fishing --from permits, crab nets to cooking pot by the crabbing area...In almost every room is a beautiful view of the Newport Bridge and the Yaquina Bay...We've been in this place numerous times and still enjoy it as it is during our very first time...

Room Tip: If you are staying for crabbing then stay close to the dock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anaklakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
anaklakay,

Thank you so much for the kind review. I am happy to hear you were able to get some crabbing and fishing in during your stay. As you pointed out, our Front Desk staff will happily get you everything you need to get you crabbing on our private crab dock. We apprciate your business and eagerly await your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    155
    84
    59
    47
See reviews for
156
222
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brookings, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed at the Embaradero for one night. The accomodations were clean and just fine for the price. Excellent view of the bridge and glad we stayed in the bay instead of the foggy coast. Nice facility outside with BBQ to cook your own tasty meal. Staff accommodating, especially Lindsey at front desk. Just a short distance walk to bay front stores, restaurants, etc. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATMANDO_Bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
KATMANDO_Brookings,

Thank you for the review! I'm glad to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy one of our outdoor grills and picnic spaces. We try to keep our facility family friendly and inviting and this is just one of the many factors that make our resort unique. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We didn't stay here, but we toured the marina because we have a 40 ft. sailboat. They have excellent moorage, including a separate dock for crab and shrimp fishermen who unload their catch for the restaurants on Bay Ave. They also have hotel rooms and condos for sale. We had a wonderful dinner in their restaurant! We have to stay there next time!

Room Tip: The restaurant is great, the marina is right there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candace J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
cetj99708,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our marina is one of our favorite features and I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy it and our full service on-site restaurant. We look forward to your next visit and we appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport OR
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have been local customers of this restaurant for many years and last night we selected the Bridges for dinner. What a mistake.
We encountered a harried bartender and a restaurant and bar with numerous customers. Seems there was not enough help to handle the crowd but we attempted to have dinner anyway. Another mistake!
One of our group received their order, minus the salad and no silverware...the rest of us waited a considerable time and it finally arrived, with no silverware, napkins, etc. One of our party tried 4 times to get a glass of ice water! The folks next to us who were guests at the hotel had the same results. One gentleman finally gave up and left due to lack of attention. The food to their credit, when it did finally made it to our table was good. All in all, a very disappointing experience. Management needs to address this very sad customer service performance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldsaltqsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
oldsaltqsk,

Thank you for the review. I appreciate the feedback and I must inform you that we are now under new management and our waitstaff are almost all entirely new. There is no excuse for the lack of service you received, however, if you were to try our restaurant again I assure you the experience would be very different. I do apologize for the poor service you received. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newport hotels

Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
272 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

From looking at the photos online and reading the reviews, my expectation was an older unit. I was pleasantly surprised that our 2 bdrm unit in C building was pretty modern.

The master bedroom upstairs had a comfortable king bed, TV, small den area, and the 4 piece ensuite included 2 sinks, toilet,and tub with shower. A temperature control, ceiling fan, and balcony added to the ambiance.

The sofa bed mattress was on the thin side, so not very comfortable, but the sitting cushions were fine. The 2 side chairs were soft and you'd sink into them. The kitchen and dining room were well equipped, except for no flipper and non-stick frying pan. A second balcony allowed for fresh sea air.

The second bedroom mattress was comfortable. But all of the pillows were too soft for our liking.

The 2 hot tubs were small, but kept hot. The heated indoor pool was set to 81F but was probably in the 60s. An ice machine and crab cooking area were available for the crabbers on the pier.

Great location, about a mile east of the Historic Bayfront area, which is a nice walk. I would go back to the Embarcadero, but only if I need to unwind and de-stress. Easy access to Hwy 101 to Florence, Depoe Bay, and Lincoln City. Otherwise, 5 days is plenty for this area of Oregon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iceman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
iceman68,

We appreciate the review and are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned the Embarcadero is the perfect place for a relaxing weekend. With our step out balconies and panoramic bay view, the Embarcadero is the perfect get away. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We loved the view of the bay and listening to the sea lions barking in the distance.
For the price, the room was as expected. The room was clean and roomy, but the linens needed to be replaced....the towels were rough and the pillows small and lumpy. No blanket on the bed, just a sheet and bedspread. Room service knocked at our door, but by the time we answered it they were gone, so we got no fresh (rough) towels for the next day. We also had a problem w/our room key, which could have been a bigger deal that it was. If it weren't for the fablous view, we would not have enjoyed our stay here. If you want perfection, though, you have to pay for it.

Room Tip: this was one of the studio rooms for a weekend stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bludog3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
bludog3,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I apologize for the condition of the linens. Due to feedback, such as yours, we are replacing our entire linen inventory so our future guests don't experience the same problem. Please feel free to contact me directly at Jeffrey@embarcadero-resort.com or at 541-265-8138, I would love to correct this experience for you. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

This property is a combination of hotel rooms, rental apartments and timeshare units. We discovered it on a timeshare exchange. Waterfront view of Newport Harbor, a short walk away. Lots of restaurants and shops. Close to the Central Oregon Coast. Nice quiet place to vacation. No timeshare salespeople. One negative - timeshare office is a couple miles from the hotel. Check out the Bay Haven Inn on Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey V, General Manager at Embarcadero Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Conch,

Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
1.3 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
1.2 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#4 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarcadero Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarcadero Resort Hotel

Property: Embarcadero Resort Hotel
Address: 1000 SE Bay Blvd, Newport, OR 97365-4201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Embarcadero Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Yaquina Bay in Newport Oregon - every well appointed guestroom has a Million Dollar view of beautiful Yaquina Bay. Full Service Hotel - with Restaurant, Lounge, Indoor Salt Water Pool and Spa, Crab Boat Dock and Boat Rentals, 4000 Square Feet of flexible Meeting Space with Full Service Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Embarcadero Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embarcadero Resort Newport
Embarcadero Hotel Newport
Embarcadero Newport Oregon
Embarcadero Resort Hotel Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing