We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast at the Chalet is always a treat”

Chalet Restaurant & Bakery
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast at the Chalet is always a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We vacation in this area regularly and we always make a point to have breakfast at the Chalet once or twice. The cinnamon rolls and bacon are fabulous. Their pick 3 menu is an excellent value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwnflfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    134
    42
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Average food, yummy pies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Food is very very similar to Denny's breakfast, lunch and dinner. However, we really like their pies and the good selection of them. Cute cottage decor. Plain food, which may be good for some diets.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MistyFog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Today as we left Newport after a wonderful week, we had breakfast at the Chalet Restaurant and Bakery. As usual, they outdid themselves. The food was out of this world, and we ate more bakery items than breakfast. What a great place for breakfast. I had an omelet that was cooked to perfection with a side of bacon. The service is second to none here. The wait staff really cares about every patron and spend quality time with each. An omelette isn't tough to make, but you can screw it up if you don't care, and they care. If you like great bakery items, wonderful pies and scones to fight over, the Chalet is your place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
2 reviews
“Great Place To Eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

While traveling, this is a great place to stop and eat, especially when you are hungry. Fancy place, great food, great service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynnette72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I had eaten at some of the other Chalet restaurants, and always enjoyed them, so we gave the one in Newport a try. I had a Ham and Cheese Omelet. The eggs in the omelet were very fluffy. I've never had eggs quite like that. The hash browns were very good, and the sourdough toast came with what appeared to be fresh Strawberry preserves (instead of the usual prepackaged jellies you usually get at such places). My wife had soup and salad. The soup was Clam Chowder, and was quite good. The salad was good, although the blue cheese dressing was a bit bland. The Chalet has been rated the best breakfast in Newport at some point (not sure how recent). I noticed they have biscuits and gravy on the menu, and I can't wait to try them! In my opinion, they are a notch above Pig n Pancake.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OregonCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 
Newport, Oregon Coast
Newport, Oregon Coast
 
Newport, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Chalet Restaurant & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing